Windows 7 Build 7601 - going to expire in two days, what can I do?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by winterwine, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    I think I have a pre-release version of Windows 7 SP1 (7601), and I can't "upgrade" it with my Windows 7 DVD because "Your current version of Windows is more recent than the version you are trying to upgrade to. Windows cannot complete the upgrade." HELP!
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    I don't think it is pre-release you have never activated your version also you probably installed windows 7 rtm then updated with service pack 1 but are trying to use rtm dvd to update.
     
  3. hbhb

    hbhb MDL Expert

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,017
    263
    60
    #3 hbhb, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
    good eye URIE, he just needs to DAZ it up
     
  4. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    You're probablt right (well it says it's activated..) so what should I do now? Try to run setup.exe in Vista compability mode?
     
  5. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    now you are saying it is activated but you start thread saying
    o_O
     
  6. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    This: i.imgur.com/CoE3W.png (screenshot taken a few days ago)
    Yet it says "Windows is activated". (used OPAtool if I remember well)
     
  7. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    #7 winterwine, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
    (OP)
    New screenshot (the problem): i.imgur.com/kN4qx.png
    Activation: i.imgur.com/d7bLs.png
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    #8 urie, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Ok you do have pre-release version you can try changing version number run regedit and go to
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion.
    and change CurrentBuild and CurrentBuildNumber to 7600. Personally I would download windows sp1 refresh from here and do clean install.
     
  9. tcntad

    tcntad MDL Guru

    Oct 26, 2009
    4,074
    1,295
    150
    Make sure the ISO was 100% genuine, and like hbhb said, daz it up by using Windows Loader.
     
  10. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    #10 winterwine, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
    (OP)
    I really don't want to do a clean install, got tons of torrents seeding on private trackers, lots of softwares/configs...etc. Would take too much time to start over.
    Can I just upgrade with the SP1 refresh link you gave me or should I first do the regedit change? What / how do I "daz" it?

    Downloading " Windows 7 SP1 Media Refresh Digital River Direct Links (5/12/2011 new releases with SP1 included)" at the moment (x64).
     
  11. tcntad

    tcntad MDL Guru

    Oct 26, 2009
    4,074
    1,295
    150
    By running windows loader found in the application section.. thats all.
     
  12. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    Alright, so:
    1. Download W7SP1
    2. "Upgrade" install
    3. Use Windows Loader to activate it.

    That's it? No regedit before?
     
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
  14. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    #14 winterwine, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
    (OP)
    Well I'm not sure how exactly I ended up with SP1 - pretty sure it was an .iso file :p but that's about it. Right now I can either re-upgrade W7SP1 with the new .iso I downloaded, or try acrsn's link, or uninstall SP1. Is it risky to try to uninstall SP1 if I'm not sure how I got it installed in the first place?
    Detection -> I tried the re-arm, dunno if it'll work or not, but I'd rather not do thi every 30 days :p
     
  15. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    Ok, I uninstalled SP1, it should work fine now. Might sound stupid but: can I re-install it without fearing for the same problem to happen? If so, how?
     
  16. PlyrStar93

    PlyrStar93 MDL Novice

    Apr 13, 2011
    32
    1
    0
    You may reinstall a 7601.17514 SP1 RTM version. This is the final release of Service Pack 1 and there will be no expire problem.
     
  17. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    Excellent :) Is this version fine? " Windows 7 SP1 Media Refresh Digital River Direct Links (5/12/2011 new releases with SP1 included)"
     
  18. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    Does it still say pre-release version ?
     
  19. winterwine

    winterwine MDL Novice

    Aug 28, 2011
    13
    0
    0
    #19 winterwine, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
    (OP)
    Nope, no more watermark on the desktop!S
    Thanks everyone :) Last Q: I downloaded the lastest Windows 7 version (X17-59465.iso) - can I install it by extracting it to my C drive and running the setup.exe from there? (I have no blank DVDs / USB keys atm..)
     
  20. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    good in that case just use windows update to install service pack 1 :rolleyes: and you can do fresh install at your leisure.