Windows 7 can't turn off my pc

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by cst, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. cst

    cst MDL Junior Member

    Feb 17, 2008
    69
    0
    0
    #1 cst, Aug 15, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2009
    Windows 7 can't turn off my pc (shutdown problem)

    Windows 7 Cant Turn off The PC.
    Hi i have this problem before rtm edition too.

    My windows cant turn off my computer i need to push the button. (my monitor turn off but the fans keep running)

    My MOBO: ASUS P5K-SE
     
  2. roylion15

    roylion15 MDL Member

    May 1, 2009
    127
    10
    10
    Do you use the latest bios ?
    > if not update your bios

    may be some bios option wrong ?

    > restore default settings for the board

    may be also some old driver or material that causes problem with apm / acpi ...
     
  3. ReaL

    ReaL MDL Novice

    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    Turn on ACPI in BIOS!
     
  4. Michel

    Michel MDL Expert

    Jul 29, 2009
    1,710
    124
    60
    There is always a power off button ;)
     
  5. Myrrh

    Myrrh MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2008
    1,394
    497
    60
    Specific to ASUS boards

    I had the same problem, found the answer in the ASUS forums.

    Check the properties of your 1394 adapter, under Power Management make sure the checkbox to "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" is enabled.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cst

    cst MDL Junior Member

    Feb 17, 2008
    69
    0
    0
    I have this adapter but i dont have this option "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" in properties tab.

    any solution?
     
  7. twiz

    twiz MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    401
    1
    10
    Did you:
    ?
     
  8. zzdiesel

    zzdiesel MDL Member

    May 20, 2007
    209
    2
    10
    I had this problem in XP when it first came out. It was a bad video driver.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. roylion15

    roylion15 MDL Member

    May 1, 2009
    127
    10
    10
    #9 roylion15, Aug 16, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2009
    Sometimes if wrong settings are placed in bios , like ACPI disabled while installing windows, it may not install some ACPI functions correctly and in some cases you need to reinstall the system with ACPI enabled in bios...

    Make a fresh install with bios defaults settings ...thus with ACPI enabled
    install a working graphic driver if windows have not installed this already.

    Connect a min of internal / external devices , just a basic mouse and keyboard , graphic card and verify if computer will shut down , sleep and wake up correctly ...

    then try to connect more devices, install their drivers and test on each new install ...

    I have a computer here with a P5K-WS , there is none problem with this type of card and win 7 ...
    All onboard hardware is detected and working fine with basic windows drivers ...

    Finally you can also have hardware problems with your power supply if it's old of too bad quality or simply it's a defective motherboard...

    good luck for testing ...
     
  10. cst

    cst MDL Junior Member

    Feb 17, 2008
    69
    0
    0
    Yes.

    I thinks this is a problem with x64 windows 7 and ASUS mb with firewire, but my motherboard dont have firewire port, by the way i have a pci card with firewire.

    i cant hold power button forever!!!
     
  11. silvergate

    silvergate MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    108
    1
    10
    try using different hard disk for your os.:) and post the results after.:)
     
  12. cheenu

    cheenu MDL Novice

    Jul 10, 2007
    27
    2
    0
    Hi,
    I had similar problem with gigabyte motherboard. Turned out to be the m-audio sound card. Do you use on board sound or add in card?

    thanks
     
  13. cst

    cst MDL Junior Member

    Feb 17, 2008
    69
    0
    0
    I use a onboard sound.
     
  14. izh34

    izh34 MDL Member

    Mar 12, 2009
    119
    0
    10
    #14 izh34, Aug 19, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2009
    I have the same problem with my Acer Aspire 4736.
    It took me more than 2 minutes just to shutdown and sometimes it reach 10minutes!
    Could this be a bug in windows 7? Any suggestion guys for me and cst and others with similiar problems.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. HSChronic

    HSChronic MDL Expert

    Aug 25, 2007
    1,213
    55
    60
    its a driver issue or a BIOS issue. It is a problem with the OEMs hardware, try installing the intel chipset drivers (if Intel chipset) with the -overall switch.
     
  16. Nomad025

    Nomad025 MDL Novice

    Mar 31, 2012
    3
    0
    0
    Hi all, i have same issue, but with Gigabyte MB. I turn off W7, but the fans and supply keeps running. CST, have you solved your problem?

    Thanks
     
  17. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    I don't think you will get a reply to a thread over two years old.
     
  18. Nomad025

    Nomad025 MDL Novice

    Mar 31, 2012
    3
    0
    0
    Hi, i figured....but anyway it could be nice, if someone could post a helping reply :biggrin: I`ll pay:rolleyes:
     
  19. Nomad025

    Nomad025 MDL Novice

    Mar 31, 2012
    3
    0
    0
    Hello all,

    problem solved, update of BIOS.

    See you;)