Windows 7 hibernation problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by gabiz_ro, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. gabiz_ro

    gabiz_ro MDL Member

    Feb 2, 2010
    170
    12
    10
    #1 gabiz_ro, Apr 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I'm having problems with hibernating on my laptop.
    Clean install,all updated,all ok.
    But my integrated webcam and one usb pen drive prevent hibernate event.

    Here are related part from powercfg -energy command
    Code:
    USB Suspend:USB Device not Entering Suspend
    The USB device did not enter the Suspend state. Processor power management may be prevented if a USB device does not enter the Suspend state when not in use.
    Device Name USB Mass Storage Device
    Host Controller ID PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27CC
    Host Controller Location PCI bus 0, device 29, function 7
    Device ID USB\VID_058F&PID_6387
    Port Path 3
    USB Suspend:USB Device not Entering Suspend
    The USB device did not enter the Suspend state. Processor power management may be prevented if a USB device does not enter the Suspend state when not in use.
    Device Name USB Root Hub
    Host Controller ID PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27CC
    Host Controller Location PCI bus 0, device 29, function 7
    Device ID USB\VID_8086&PID_27CC
    Port Path 
    USB Suspend:USB Device not Entering Suspend
    The USB device did not enter the Suspend state. Processor power management may be prevented if a USB device does not enter the Suspend state when not in use.
    Device Name USB Composite Device
    Host Controller ID PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27CC
    Host Controller Location PCI bus 0, device 29, function 7
    Device ID USB\VID_05A9&PID_2640
    Port Path 8
    USB pen drive is vital for boot stage,I've tryied to disable it from device manager but even disabled still appear on powercfg -energy log

    Same hardware configuration under XP was working fine with hibernation.

    Some help or ideas are welcome.

    P.S.
    In device manager is marked allow to turn off for USB devices
    In BIOS tryied both variants allow-disable USB to wake.
    In power management is disabled hybrid sleep.
    USB selective suspend is enabled.
    Multimedia sharing settings is to allow sleep.
     
  2. zahnoo

    zahnoo MDL Senior Member

    Feb 2, 2011
    387
    35
    10
    #2 zahnoo, Apr 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. venu

    venu MDL Addicted

    Oct 16, 2009
    894
    99
    30
    Just out of curiousity why is that usb drive vital for boot?
     
  4. zahnoo

    zahnoo MDL Senior Member

    Feb 2, 2011
    387
    35
    10
    I wondered about that too. ReadyBoost maybe, but that's optional.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. gabiz_ro

    gabiz_ro MDL Member

    Feb 2, 2010
    170
    12
    10
    Laptop is Dell Inspiron 9400 (E1705)
    I do a hardware mod,internal SATA port is switched to AHCI and used as ESATA and for OS and storage I have SATA express card with two WD Scorpio black in RAID 0.
    BIOS is unable to boot from express card,even more,if there are no device connected then no INT13 provided by BIOS,that was solved by that pen drive where is grub4dos just used to remap hd0 (USB pen drive) with hd1 (RAID 0 express card) and then boot from RAID.

    As for others who may ask how to switch to AHCI on 9400.That is possible but impossible to boot from attached disk.

    That model doesn't have stock webcam,but there was one free USB port of ICH7-M (used in M1710,M90,same board like 9400, for dock slot) webcam is 2MP one from Dell M1530 or M1330 I think. Right now I'm thinking with webcam could be an issue from BIOS side,since that port is unused in that model could be that is not properly configured in DSDT or BIOS doesn't setup right chipset registers. Need to check again datasheet and take a look on M1710 DSDT.

    But for pen drive I don't know,I just have -1 USB port,still remain 5 free.
    Strange is that on XP is working fine.
     
  6. ft@t@lk

    ft@t@lk MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2011
    58
    9
    0
    I find Sleep Mode works better

    try this: turn off hibernation completely

    go to command prompt (run as admin) and type in powercfg -h off and hit enter

    if you haven't touched Sleep Mode settings then it should still be on
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. gabiz_ro

    gabiz_ro MDL Member

    Feb 2, 2010
    170
    12
    10
    Here is a big problem.
    Sleep was not working since expresscard mod.
    Laptop enter sleep state but on resuming it does in fact a cold boot.

    That's why I need hibernation.
     
  8. zahnoo

    zahnoo MDL Senior Member

    Feb 2, 2011
    387
    35
    10
    Jeez ... Simplify your life and just go with what ft@t@lk said and turn hibernation off.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. zahnoo

    zahnoo MDL Senior Member

    Feb 2, 2011
    387
    35
    10
    Lordy, I think I'd just start over.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. gabiz_ro

    gabiz_ro MDL Member

    Feb 2, 2010
    170
    12
    10
    #10 gabiz_ro, Apr 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Then why was working with XP ? (hibernation)

    Now looking at schematic I see laptop can put express card into standby.
    Express card have this power capabilities
    Code:
    Current power state:
    D0
    
    Power capabilities:
    0000000F
    PDCAP_D0_SUPPORTED
    PDCAP_D1_SUPPORTED
    PDCAP_D2_SUPPORTED
    PDCAP_D3_SUPPORTED
    
    Power state mappings:
    S0 -> D0
    S1 -> Unspecified
    S2 -> Unspecified
    S3 -> D3
    S4 -> D3
    S5 -> D3
    
    PCI Express port where is connected have this
    Code:
    Current power state:
    D0
    
    Power capabilities:
    00000089
    PDCAP_D0_SUPPORTED
    PDCAP_D3_SUPPORTED
    PDCAP_WAKE_FROM_D3_SUPPORTED
    
    Power state mappings:
    S0 -> D0
    S1 -> Unspecified
    S2 -> Unspecified
    S3 -> D3
    S4 -> D3
    S5 -> D3
    
    But I think card is powered only from RUN voltage and doesn't use auxiliar power from SUSPEND power source.
    Need to chect that and go this way,maybe I can switch card to required power state and keep it powered from auxiliar power.

    Anyway thanks for help and advices.