Windows 7 Key on the bottom of my laptop to reinstall?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by donalgodon, Jul 27, 2010.

1. donalgodon

donalgodon MDL Member

Jul 21, 2010
    Sorry to ask such a basic and dumb question, but I've never actually tried this, so I need to know before I do it.

I just got a new laptop which came with Windows 7 Home Premium pre-installed. No CD/DVD media, just a partition.

If I replace the HD, can I use the Key on the bottom of the computer to re-install Windows 7 Home Premium from the ISO I downloaded?

Sorry, I know it's dumb, and I'm sure all of you know this, but I don't know if that's the install key that will activate my Windows 7 Home Premium or not, so before I get stuck, I had to risk the embarassment of the question. :eek:

I'm a newb to Windows 7 this year.

Mostly been using Ubuntu, BSD, or MacOS X variants, so please... don't laugh too hard!

2. timesurfer

timesurfer MDL Developer

Nov 22, 2009
    #2 timesurfer, Jul 27, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
  3. jrizal

jrizal MDL Novice

May 18, 2010
    Why not create a restore disc to make things easier? Most if not all laptops including netbooks nowadays have an option to create a restore disc just in case you want to restore your laptop to factory default. The main advantage here is that the restore disc uses the OEM BIOS info when you do a restore therefore eliminating the need to go through the activation process. In other words, by using the restore disc, it is "pre-activated" already. No keys, no phone calls anymore. Using the key may or may not work.

4. donalgodon

donalgodon MDL Member

Jul 21, 2010
    Thanks for the suggestions so far. I guess I was trying to avoid the bloatware that comes pre-installed. Does using a loader like Daz's have a negative impact on any performance related features over just the key itself? I'd like to be "legal" in my use of Windows 7, but MS has to make doing it legally so damn complicated.

Next question would be....