Windows 7 SP1 Refresh links?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by riahc3, Feb 11, 2016.

  1. riahc3

    riahc3 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    497
    24
    10
    Ive seen the sticky and some links are dead or languages are missing.

    Any updated list?
     
  2. oldsh_t

    oldsh_t MDL Expert

    Dec 23, 2009
    1,012
    479
    60
  3. riahc3

    riahc3 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    497
    24
    10
  4. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,578
    15,396
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cdavisdeco

    cdavisdeco MDL Senior Member

    Jul 8, 2015
    267
    51
    10
  6. riahc3

    riahc3 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    497
    24
    10
  7. rjk123

    rjk123 MDL Member

    Apr 29, 2011
    101
    42
    10
  8. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,465
    66,508
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cdavisdeco

    cdavisdeco MDL Senior Member

    Jul 8, 2015
    267
    51
    10
    So these ISO's actually contains Home, Professional, Ultimate. But we need to use The ei.cfg removal utility to gain access to them. Am I right?
     
  10. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,667
    270
    yes,or manually remove the ei.cfg using ultraiso (or similar program), or if you make a usb bootable installation media.Then you can simply delete the ei.cfg from the usb drive.
     
  11. cdavisdeco

    cdavisdeco MDL Senior Member

    Jul 8, 2015
    267
    51
    10
    One last thing I want to clarify for now. Is it legal to download a copy of Windows 7 from a Digital River / TechNet / TechBench to use personally and for my friends and maybe in a PC/Laptop repair center?
    * I don't have a account in any of it.
     
  12. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,667
    270
    of course it is legal to download them. You don't pay for the software, you pay for the key. So if your key is legal, the file is free.
     
  13. lele_87

    lele_87 MDL Novice

    Dec 4, 2013
    22
    1
    0
    What is the difference between "Windows 7 SP1" and "Windows 7 SP1 COEM"? Does the first stand for RTM and the second for VL?
     
  14. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,554
    18,708
    340
    #15 Enthousiast, Feb 16, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2016
    I've read somewhere else on the board they are the same. The characters OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) don't point to me at VL (Volume License).

    EDIT:
    Some googling explained this to me: COEM = Commercial Original Equipment Manufacturer
     
  15. CaptainKirk1966

    CaptainKirk1966 Former MDL Guru

    Oct 31, 2009
    1,927
    917
    60
    #16 CaptainKirk1966, Feb 19, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
    VL iso's have burned in gvlk ready for kms activation, and some missing features compared to retail/oem iso's. There is no "Add Features" wizard ... no media center, no anytime upgrade option, ...

    I really don't know why people download vl iso's, since Professional can easily be switched among retail, oem, and volume licensing just by changing the key.
     
  16. LostED

    LostED SVF Patch Lover

    Jul 30, 2009
    4,435
    10,430
    150
    :g: because ppl are lazy & not reading
     
  17. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,554
    18,708
    340
    #18 Enthousiast, Feb 19, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
    I was explaining the COEM suffix to lele_87 and that there is no difference in build between rtm and coem.
     
  18. CaptainKirk1966

    CaptainKirk1966 Former MDL Guru

    Oct 31, 2009
    1,927
    917
    60
    #19 CaptainKirk1966, Feb 19, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
    Indeed, but you did not mention how vl iso's differ from the others.

    I realize that the vl iso's may not show up on TechBench or Digital River, but I have read posts from some people who seem to think that they need to download a special Pro-VL iso if they want to use mtk or kmspico, which they do not. The rtm or coem will work just as well.
     
  19. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,554
    18,708
    340
    That's true but please qoute the original question ;)

    I also see many people who think they need the VL iso's to use with kmspico and mtk (for kmspico i know for sure it works with all 7 pro/ent iso's, for mtk never tested, only on 10 home retail and that worked).