Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit - Reconizes Max of 3 Gigs Ram

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by DigitalJammer, Nov 30, 2010.

1. DigitalJammer

DigitalJammer MDL Member

Oct 5, 2010
    I asked about this on the Daz loader thread and next realized that was not the best thread to ask this question. I figured a new thread in this forum might be best.

I repair computers, however I am no programer nor engineer. The average member on this site seems more educated than myself. So I was hoping somebody here could help me understand why the sticks of ram that tested good on another computer and is the same type needed for this HP laptop is recognizing only 3 gigs out of 4 on this machine only. OS= Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit.

Like many others the first thing many think is I have Win 7 32bit, but that is not what is says when I right click on "my computer"- it says 64bit. Also I made sure the ram was seated correctly and the memory tested good for all 4 gigs in another system afterwards. It's got me baffled.

Thanks.

2. jabberwocky

jabberwocky MDL Member

Aug 28, 2009
    I have heard of similar problems on several laptops and if you google the problem ,quite a lot of hp laptops are affected .from what I have read ,its to do with memory channel addressing and is a motherboard specific/bios problem .check out your bios and see if there is an option to turn off automatic memory settings in favour of manual , or look up your model with HP to see if there is a specific fix ,or bios update . its almost certainly not faulty memory , I would be looking into memory speed settings in bios ....FSB Ratios etc.

3. Calistoga

Calistoga MDL Senior Member

Jul 25, 2009
    Maybe the laptop reserves 1 GB to the graphics card/chip? In that case it makes sense to make 3 GB directly available to the OS.

In any case, you do not need to apply any patch to the OS. Those patches are for x86-32 and not x86-64.

4. DigitalJammer

DigitalJammer MDL Member

Oct 5, 2010