Windows 8.1: CPU always runs 100%

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by yulawboy, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. yulawboy

    yulawboy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 6, 2009
    53
    3
    0
  2. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,143
    240
    check event manager to see error messages
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,847
    3,944
    180
    From the screen, SnagIt is causing the most CPU use, try uninstalling it ?
     
  4. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,406
    60
    I think Snagit is cause of high usage.... stop that & then see...
     
  5. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,936
    1,223
    120
    SnagIt indeed uses up the most maybe search for an update for that program
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. WinDev

    WinDev MDL Expert

    Jul 6, 2013
    1,170
    1,009
    60
    Explain which CPU use and how strong is CPU. Also SnagIt is an issue.
     
  7. yulawboy

    yulawboy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 6, 2009
    53
    3
    0
    Hi all,

    Snagit is not the cause, i just open it to take that task manager image, i quit it right after that but cpu still is at 100%

    please help.
     
  8. yulawboy

    yulawboy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 6, 2009
    53
    3
    0
    Hi all,

    This is new image from task manager, please take a look and help me.

    Thanks a lot.

    2.png
     
  9. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,143
    240
    you have no original Start button on 8.1. Perhaps system runs wild because it is missing
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,847
    3,944
    180
    What is the problem? You can see clearly which processes are using the CPU
     
  11. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,345
    1,198
    90
    try in safe mode and see what's happening.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. yulawboy

    yulawboy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 6, 2009
    53
    3
    0
    Problem is cpu does not run at 100% in win 8 enterprise, any idea? please
     
  13. panchop

    panchop MDL Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    130
    71
    10
    could be drivers?
     
  14. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,143
    240
    do you run any AV progs?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. yulawboy

    yulawboy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 6, 2009
    53
    3
    0
    Hi,
    How to check if problem is driver?which driver do you think? Vga driver?
     
  16. yulawboy

    yulawboy MDL Junior Member

    Sep 6, 2009
    53
    3
    0
    HI,

    Not at all, as i said that everything goes down since i upgraded to 8.1 enterprise?

    Anyway to downgrade to 8.0 enterprise?
     
  17. Windows user

    Windows user MDL Senior Member

    Sep 11, 2012
    445
    101
    10
    Your system might have got a virus...it happened on my PC once & the CPU was always getting 100% used...try scanning your PC using Hitman Pro....BTW:-From the last task manager pic it seems that the system processes is keeping the CPU busy
     
  18. phillthedrill

    phillthedrill MDL Novice

    Aug 24, 2013
    6
    1
    0
    What I would try to do is do an upgrade process again. Put the dvd in there, and try to upgrade your 8.1 to 8.1 again. Something didn't get put in there. Perhaps something was corrupted when it was upgrading from 8.0 to 8.1. I went to 8.1 upgraded from 8.0 and all of the metro apps weren't working right. A lot of errors, so I upgraded my 8.1 again, and all is working.
     
  19. MrAnalysis

    MrAnalysis MDL Senior Member

    Aug 4, 2012
    395
    354
    10
    It's not showing all processes? I'm no mathematician but adding up all the activity shown there in CPU section does not equal 99%? Someone else is running and not showing.

    Find out what it is (most likely virus scanner / defender or something). The best thing to do is just Copy C:\Users to another HDD (remove the unwanted crap) And Check see hidden files in C:/ and then backup C:/ProgramData also (file is hidden).

    Then reinstall Windows (clean install) and activate.
    Then copy the Users back (make sure you use same username) Remember to remove any unwanted crap.
    Reinstall software, drivers, applications.
    Then copy the ProgramData file back (Make sure to remove any crap)

    This should leave your program data intact like to make it so path settings and stuff or the view of what tabs are disabled in some apps are saved. It should also restore all saved game data and stuff.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...