Windows 8 Apps Offline

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by david_xross_2, Nov 10, 2012.

  1. david_xross_2

    david_xross_2 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 31, 2012
    272
    299
    10
    Hi!

    My Metro Apps were working fine till yesterday, When suddenly some apps today showed to be "Offline", I Checked Firewall and Antivirus and nothing was blocking them, those apps still showed to be offline, My internet connection is working fine as I can browse the web through IE/Chrome..But Apps are resolutely showing "Offline" in the app and not working :confused:..Please can someone help? :(
     
  2. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,857
    2,029
    210
    Have you chacked that your Windows 8 is still activated? Just curious!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. david_xross_2

    david_xross_2 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 31, 2012
    272
    299
    10
    #3 david_xross_2, Nov 10, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
    (OP)
    Yes, I checked the activation and it's activated, and out of curiosity also tried System Restore, but apps are still offline :( :weep:
     
  4. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,143
    240
    did you do some "sideloading" out of the other thread?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. david_xross_2

    david_xross_2 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 31, 2012
    272
    299
    10

    No Sideloading, I only install apps from Windows Store..
     
  6. david_xross_2

    david_xross_2 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 31, 2012
    272
    299
    10
    I tried logging in, but it gives an error on not being able to connect..
     
  7. david_xross_2

    david_xross_2 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 31, 2012
    272
    299
    10
    I'm now restoring a system image that i made earlier..It's the only way :smokecowboy:
     
  8. Glavin

    Glavin MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2012
    36
    61
    0
    Did you disable any services? Particularly DNS Client ?
     
  9. bootstap

    bootstap MDL Member

    Mar 25, 2012
    122
    40
    10
    hi
    take a look on event log and tell us what it reports.
     
  10. david_xross_2

    david_xross_2 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 31, 2012
    272
    299
    10
    #10 david_xross_2, Nov 10, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
    (OP)
    No I didn't disable any service intentionally, Anyway I restored a prior system image and now it's working fine..Thanks :D

    EDIT: As I remember, it might be a conflict with the skype and messaging app, as I once closed the skype app... and started using Messaging app... Bing, Mail, Calendar, Messaging included...all went offline