Windows 8 CP: Normal Install or Virtual Machine?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Mazrim Taim, Feb 26, 2012.

?

W8 CP: Normal Install or Virtual Machine?

  1. Normal Install (for instance Old PC or Dual Boot)

    158 vote(s)
    74.5%
  2. Virtual Machine

    41 vote(s)
    19.3%
  3. Other (Please specify in reply)

    13 vote(s)
    6.1%
  1. Mazrim Taim

    Mazrim Taim MDL Member

    Feb 23, 2012
    126
    73
    10
    According to the Sinofsky blog there was a lot of interest in running the Windows 8 Developer Preview in a virtual environment.






    So now I'd very much like to know how people are going to be using the Windows 8 Consumer Preview.

    Do you have an old PC lying around that you're going to use?

    Or are you going to dual-boot, triple-boot, etc. on a PC that has your main OS.

    Maybe run from USB? Or not at all?

    Or are you going to use Virtual Machine? And if so, which one? VMWare, VirtualBox or something else?








    Just like with the WDP I'm going to use VMWare Workstation 8. Assuming of course the CP will run on it. ;)

    It is after all still only a beta, and will eventually have to be removed. So I'm not going to risk having to reinstall my main OS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. PGHammer

    PGHammer MDL Senior Member

    Oct 14, 2011
    361
    73
    10
    Both (as I did with the WDP). I'll be doing the same with the WCP as well. Reasons are rather simple - I never run x32 bare-metal anymore (which means that if x32 gets tested it has to be in a VM). ASlso, I have been using the WDP as a test case to compare various free VM solutions - this will continue with the WCP. However, there is a strong likelihood that the WCP could replace my Windows 7 install - not the WDP install. That is pretty much due to *lack* of compatibility issues between my normal applications and the WDP. The sixty-four-cent question is can I install the WCP the same way I installed the WDP, but from the WDP partition (and replacing Windows 7 instead)?
     
  3. Nawzil

    Nawzil MDL Guru

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,206
    787
    90
    I am going to install it on my i3.
     
  4. matej

    matej MDL Member

    Jun 26, 2011
    236
    51
    10
    I won't use VMs since I got my old Paq to work again :spoton:. It's ideal: I run the x86 on the Paq and the x64 on my main PC. I'm planning on running it as primary OS again on my Core i7
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. steven4554

    steven4554 MDL Addicted

    Jul 12, 2009
    890
    1,224
    60
    I'll be dual-booting with Windows 7 x64 on my laptop, as i'd like to see what changes MS has made to WCP build since WDP (which i hated.)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Shirozawa

    Shirozawa MDL Junior Member

    Feb 18, 2012
    53
    6
    0
    We can install WCP in dual boot ? Because we can't with WDP
     
  7. jygoro

    jygoro MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2011
    225
    112
    10
    Other: I will create a VHD with WIM2VHD and boot it natively. Everything done in 10 minutes at most. :)
     
  8. asfaltas

    asfaltas MDL Senior Member

    Aug 23, 2009
    445
    83
    10
    on virtual first some test and after real pc :cool:
     
  9. Mazrim Taim

    Mazrim Taim MDL Member

    Feb 23, 2012
    126
    73
    10


    If I had an old PC somewhere I'd go for a normal install too. I do have an old computer though (still working), but its a Commodore 128D. I don't think it can handle Windows at all. :biggrin:


    So on my laptop it's going to be VM. But if I really like the CP, than I'll probably do a normal install on my 6 year old desktop PC, making that a triple-boot machine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. matej

    matej MDL Member

    Jun 26, 2011
    236
    51
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. MrG

    MrG MDL Addicted

    May 31, 2010
    793
    176
    30
    I using both of my test rigs for the CP install.
    Dual booting w/ Windows 7 (actually 1 has 6 OSs & the other has 4 OSs, incl 1 w/ XP even).
     
  12. goritsaman

    goritsaman MDL Novice

    Apr 20, 2011
    49
    3
    0
    Gonna dual boot with w7 ultimate on my i7, and use it on my laptops also, all going to plan:biggrin:
     
  13. exo-dan

    exo-dan MDL Senior Member

    Aug 22, 2009
    258
    297
    10
    I'll be doing multi-boot as usual...replacing WDP with WCP, after saving my files of course:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. timster

    timster MDL Senior Member

    Aug 23, 2009
    465
    344
    10
    i'll be testing both. first i'll run it in vmware and then if all that goes well, i'll setup a partition for it.

    maybe i'll look into setting in up as a .vhd. i've never done that before
     
  15. Shirozawa

    Shirozawa MDL Junior Member

    Feb 18, 2012
    53
    6
    0
    Because when I installed WDP I could not use W7
     
  16. DaNiEx

    DaNiEx MDL Novice

    Feb 8, 2012
    37
    1
    0
    Inmediately after to had downloaded, I install it as main os, in my laptop, obviously saving before some files, like when i did with leaks and DP.:rofl6:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Misaki2010

    Misaki2010 MDL Addicted

    Jul 14, 2009
    666
    381
    30
    I did a normal install using Developer Preview and I've been using it since September 2011 :) I'll definitely switch it with Beta the same way, Virtual Machine is pretty much useless, I would use VHD rather than a VMachine.
     
  18. naseap

    naseap MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    485
    123
    10
    When I dual boot I always use a 2nd hard drive and disconnect all other drives before I install the other OS. This prevents problems. Works for me.
     
  19. FormatC

    FormatC MDL Novice

    Feb 4, 2012
    8
    4
    0
    Same here!
     
  20. WIKIMACK

    WIKIMACK MDL Expert

    Nov 10, 2011
    1,535
    982
    60
    I would install in dual boot with Win 7 x64.

    My PC is tactille with screen and TV card.
    It is unclear what will Media Center on WCP.

    If Media Center is also interresting that in Win 7, I would not hesitate to install single boot.
    :Flush:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...