Windows 8 in netbook

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by izh34, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. izh34

    izh34 MDL Member

    Mar 12, 2009
    119
    0
    10
    I'm using a netbook with 1G RAM and using Intel Atom inside it. Is it suitable to use Windows 8 in it? Right now it is using Windows 7 starter.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. johnnygt

    johnnygt MDL Senior Member

    Jun 18, 2011
    286
    64
    10
    will work but you might have some resolution issues with apps and "snap" feature as i run 2 x Lenovo S10e with "downScaling" mod to get apps to work but not "snap"
     
  3. neoox

    neoox MDL Novice

    Aug 8, 2012
    47
    41
    0
    Windows 8 is incompatible with Intel Atom Cedar Trail.
     
  4. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,146
    240
    What is your graphic adapter? Intel 3150? If so, you will have problems with resolution and you must do the downscaling procedure in the registry because metro apps will not open
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Akko

    Akko MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2009
    79
    12
    0
    I tried to work with downscaling .... but with watering eyes .... I happily returned to Win 7
     
  6. whoareyouxda

    whoareyouxda MDL Member

    May 4, 2011
    102
    9
    10
    It runs rather well, but you will have to downscale the res to 1024x768 and it will be a little smooshed if you want Modern UI apps to work.
     
  7. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60
    It's very smooth on my old Samsung NC-10, dare to say but it runs 8 more responsive than 7 before.
    (If you don't really care about Metro applications running you don't have to downscale)
    The Startscreen, settings etc are far faster and easier to hit with a tiny touchpad.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. todo

    todo MDL Junior Member

    Oct 16, 2010
    86
    3
    0
  9. Arachnoid

    Arachnoid MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2010
    30
    7
    0
    Now thats interesting I might try that with mine and a pro version
     
  10. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,146
    240
    the version itself will not make any difference when you load all appropriate drivers for you machine
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. aarongreater

    aarongreater MDL Novice

    Oct 17, 2009
    19
    3
    0
    I don't advise you to deploy Windows 8 on your netbook computer, but if you insist, the very proper Windows 8 for you is 32bit Windows 8 Core version. Even though Windows 8 has refine its NT core for multi-tasking and performance, but it does really requirement a bit higher for hardware configuration since Windows Vista. Older computer are not suggested to upgrade this version of Windows. Incapable GPGPU would drove your performance even worse, so take care before you upgrade...
     
  12. Romar31

    Romar31 MDL Novice

    Oct 30, 2012
    18
    6
    0
    if you have cedar trail chipset, then step back.
     
  13. MrChris

    MrChris MDL Senior Member

    Jun 23, 2007
    472
    104
    10
    I have Windows 8 Pro (x86) installed on my Dell Mini 1012 (Atom with 2GB RAM) and it works pretty well. I had to tweak my display adapter to enable a higher res to support the metro ui but other than that it runs and looks great.

    ~MC
     
  14. Akko

    Akko MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2009
    79
    12
    0
    Well, it "works" on my AOD-255 but w/o Metro. With downscaled display resolution Metro works, but then the classic desktop looks fuzzy and distorted, plain ugly.

    I wonder whether there is a hack that makes Metro apps run in 1024x600 displays ???
     
  15. todo

    todo MDL Junior Member

    Oct 16, 2010
    86
    3
    0
    #16 todo, Nov 30, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
    I have 1,5GB de Ram in my AOA-150 (maximal)
    I configure downscaled display and Size of Windows Elements 125%
     
  16. anarchist9027

    anarchist9027 MDL Expert

    Oct 30, 2010
    1,320
    667
    60
    Windows 8 requires atleast 2 GB of ram, No matter 32 bit or 64 bit.
     
  17. Atari800XL

    Atari800XL MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    666
    1,090
    30
    I use W8-32bit on a 512mb notebook. Just for very basic stuff, but it runs well.
    Also did some testing with 64-bit on a 1gb system. Also works.
    Windows 8 even uses a bit less RAM than W7.
     
  18. Akko

    Akko MDL Junior Member

    Aug 21, 2009
    79
    12
    0
    And do you get circles for circles ... or flat-pressed ellipsoids?
     
  19. todo

    todo MDL Junior Member

    Oct 16, 2010
    86
    3
    0
    My resolution it's 1024x768 (Downscale minimal).

    I have a external monitor in house 1280x1024 :rolleyes:

    Excuse me my bad english