Windows 8 language showing all weird ?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by soamz, May 4, 2015.

  1. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    Hi, I dont know, what has happened, but the whole language is showing weird.

    See attached.
    How to fix ?
     

    Attached Files:

    • dad.jpg
      dad.jpg
      File size:
      159.4 KB
      Views:
      81
  2. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,348
    1,202
    90
    Did you add it or is it the default one used for installation ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    This system is used for our major movie editing PC and its a heavy configuration PC too.
    Its running fine since 2012.

    Since yesterday, the whole thing shows this way.

    I dont know, what has happened.
     
  4. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,348
    1,202
    90
    #4 coleoptere2007, May 4, 2015
    Last edited: May 4, 2015
    If no modifications has been done since the problem appeared, try running sfc /scannow in command prompt as Admin. Perhaps datas on the HDD are corrupted also due to a bad one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,869
    2,032
    210
    Although check for any kind infection!

    Changing of System Font's could lead for an system alteration!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    No infection. I have miceosoft security essentials protecting the system all the time.
    If its a system font issue, how to fix it ?
     
  7. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,869
    2,032
    210
    No any AV etc. apps is 100%!!

    If the system Fonts are changed by any 3.party apps unintentionally that could result in huge problems. Try to do an System Repair!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    System repair, do you mean restore to an older date ?

    But that will take my premiere pro work to an older date too .
     
  9. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    Did src /scannow , nothing happens.
     
  10. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,675
    270
    definitely a font issue somewhere, and an ugly one at that. Try changing fonts in display settings.
     
  11. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    You mean language ?

    Can I simply replace windows fonts folder with a fresh windows 8 font folder and restart to fix it ?
     
  12. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    How to contact Microsoft ?

    Will they fix it, as I have bought the windows 8 from them ?
     
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,752
    3,113
    300
  14. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    went to fonts folder and I see all the fonts are missing.

    Only 3 fonts are there. I copy pasted all fonts from another computer and restarted.
    But the font folder is again showing blank and only that 3 fonts show up.

    What could be the issue now ?
     
  15. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,752
    3,113
    300
  16. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,348
    1,202
    90
    Use Eset or Kaspersky Antivirus, both are free for 30 days and check for malwares ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,752
    3,113
    300
  18. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    I placed few fonts to the windows system fonts folder and the desktop is back, but as soon as I restart, its again gone.
    Have to always upload fonts to the same location to get the desktop.
     
  19. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,752
    3,113
    300
    Do not copy fonts from one of your own machines they could also be infected Have you tried windows repair install. Personally after a few days if I had such a problem and could not fix it I would have formatted partition and reinstalled windows. Or recovered it from a backup image.