Windows 8 Pro/Ent x64 not recognize notebook battery

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by PepeCZ86, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    hi all, i try installed on my notebook two version Windows 8:
    first Windows 8 Enterprise N x64, second Windows 8 Professional x64
    but both not recognize my battery in my notebook
    (my nb is Acer Aspire 3830TG with i5-2410m,geforce gt 540m, 8gb...battery is 6cell panasonic 6480mwh)

    ANY SOLUTION FOR THIS?

    in original Windows 7 Ultimate x64 battery works on 100%. but in Windows 8 not:,(
    i try installed any applications from acer download page but nothing helped on fix this problem.
    (my friend has same notebook but 15' -> acer aspire 5830tg with sanyo battery but he has same problem:/)

    came across another user with any notebook on the same problem as i?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    #3 PepeCZ86, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    (OP)
    Okay, I will try this solution and I write how I ended up. Hopefully this will help solve my problem.

    EDIT: 1) now I test solution with battc.sys
    I had in folder "../System32/Drivers" file "battc.sys" so I test copy your newer version battc.sys into this folder but without any changes:/
    2) so I test second solution with devcon and .bat file and Startup folder but without any changes too:/
    Why :,( :D Why Windows 8 in Windows installation procedure not detect my battery. It's strange.

    But in Device Manager I see battery without any yellow notice/flag. Device Manager shows my battery.
    win8 battery bug.JPG
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    So I'll try it again. But on the first attempt, nothing has changed.
    Maybe I have a magic notebook :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    #5 PepeCZ86, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    (OP)
    to vymrdal: hi, ok I tested devmgmt.msc and rescan. After rescan in Device manager I show battery but in superbar not show battery options. I look into Notification area but the battery icon is gray.

    But Acer on her oficial website (windows upgrade offer) wrote "Aspire 3830TG" as option go from W7 into W8:
    us(dot)acer(dot)com/ac/en/US/content/windows-upgrade-offer
    It's strange:/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. andrew-s

    andrew-s MDL Novice

    Sep 18, 2009
    31
    14
    0
    Tried installing the Acer Updater utility? It should presumably offer some power management software.
    The updater is here.
    ht tp://global-download.acer.com/GDFiles/Application/Application/Application_Acer_1.02.3502_W7x86W7x64_A.zip?acerid=634698959199582896&Step1=NOTEBOOK&Step2=ASPIRE&Step3=ASPIRE
     
  7. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    Yes, I used last version bios for this notebook(1.10)

    I tried install and wait for new downloads/updates but without any changes or new items for download :/
    ...I wrote a message into Acer but still not answer on my question.
    I think they gotta be somewhere hidden part of the website where you will find updated drivers and so on for Windows 8. Otherwise I can not imagine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    #8 PepeCZ86, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    (OP)
    Okay, Now I'm going to try one more time to reinstall Windows 8 (probably re-Pro) and I see, behind exam not give anything.
    And if it doesnt work I'll have to install back W7 than Acer will release new application for managing internal battery or newer bios or wait until someone find new option on fix this bug.

    notebook which must be connected to the electrical mains make it work but yet it has a battery that lasts eight hours, it's joke :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    I've an Aspire 4752G and didn't have any problem with that indicator. I run Windows 8 Pro on that Laptop without any Acer driver installed and all just works fine.

    One thing I do every time I install Windows (any version since Vista) is, that I use to set all Icons I like to see all times in systemtray (lower right) to Show icon and notification so those will all times be on display. If that is set to Only show notifications or Hide icon and notifications, you may see nothing!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    #10 PepeCZ86, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    (OP)
    I tested everything on 3830TG but without fix this problem :/
    This TimelineX has internal battery without possibility change but with very great capacity plus with special on/off button under the back cover. Maybe this laptop need some special app / drivers from creators.

    /In notification center is battery icon blocked gray, and when I unplug dc cabel from notebook, notebook shutdown, but when I run W7 battery works normaly/

    I have a second laptop (old) MSI GX600 with C2D-T7500,4GB,GeForce8600MGT and there Windows 8 works normally. But my GX600 has dead battery after +- 5minutes and it's not very good for traveling:D, I using GX600 as htpc with my tv and now is my main computer 3830TG. It's bad :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. lalavava

    lalavava MDL Novice

    Oct 20, 2009
    2
    0
    0
    Hi,

    I have an Acer 7750g and I had the same problem since Release Preview. I fix it back then by updating the bios .... (info for bios changes: Fixes 'Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery' was disappeared in device management at B710 CPU.)

    Good luck
     
  12. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    My Acer Aspire 3830TG has hw i5-2410m, 8gb, geforce gt 540m, wdblack 750gb, wifi abgn, bt3, usb3, bat up to 8+... in Windows 7 Ultimate everything works on 100% but in Windows 8 battery not works. It is something between heaven and earth :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    Just curious: Had you installed Launch Manager from Acer CD? If not, just try that. Some of the Acer Apps need Launch Manager for to work correctly!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    Sorry, that confirmation were for an different Laptop and even not one from the Timeline Series!

    And by the way, I wrote: just curious ....., because I don't know the Timeline Laptops, neither you as it seems to be!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,634
    2,143
    90
    #15 moderate, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    you have not battery there, only AC adapter...

    ...it should look like this:

    bat.jpg

    Do you want to use my driver (?), I can extract it for you...
     
  16. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    #16 PepeCZ86, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    (OP)
    to moderate: hi, yes i has in device manager only one (ac adapter -> in czech "adaptér střídavého proudu":). if you would be so kind I would definitely try it.

    to pisthai: but the interesting thing is that the Acer website says that this laptop supports windows 8. so either acer not know what says :D or do have to wait before seriously acer launching an updated apps/drivers.

    to vymrdal: yes i know, windows isn't one os in world. now i use in virtual (vm workstation) ubuntu,os x 10.8.2 and cento but i love windows:) and in 8 is great many things (better support usb3 in win7 sometimes my usb3 hdd not functioning properly, faster, better task manager, better support multi monitors, and many more) I will play with them some time I not give up! :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    NO there isn't any Battery in Device Manager! But it has Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery!

    The two drivers related to that are:
    1. battc.sys
    2. CmBatt.sys
    both to fing in [drive]:\windows\system32\DRIVERS\

    That two drivers are part of the standard Windows installation and should be there already.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    Acer in Thailand still shows the Laptop in shops with Consumer Preview installed!! I asked them about and they told that they didn't have the any final yet, they'll get it earliest a week before public launch on October 26.! And I do believe that the same will applies for the Drivers and Factory Updates!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. PepeCZ86

    PepeCZ86 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 9, 2009
    62
    2
    0
    #19 PepeCZ86, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    (OP)
    This isn't screenshot from my notebook. This is screen from "moderate"nb, my screenshot is on first page (i reupload here for you)
    and about battc.sys and CmBatt.sys my answer is Yes, this two files I has.
    win8 battery bug.jpg

    Maybe this is true, I don't know.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    This is from my Acer 4752G Laptop"
    devManager.jpg
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...