Windows 8 Pro WMC activation restore

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Memnon, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. Memnon

    Memnon MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2010
    69
    13
    0
    Due to Hard Disk crash I have to reinstall windows 8.
    My Windows 8 pro was upgraded to WMC by the rewarded key from MS.
    It show itself as a retail version of Windows 8 Pro with WMC.
    I have got activation backup of that Windows 8 Pro WMC.
    Is there any way to restore that activation Windows 8 in my new Hard Disk?
     
  2. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,405
    60
    How you activated your pro before free wmc upgrade?
    If you used genuine pro key to install pro then go ahead & activate PRO & then use Free WMC key. Now if you got massage that WMC key is already in use you can opt for phone activation.

    Second if Pro was KMS activated & then upgraded to WMC then do the same. Disconnect internet Activate pro with KMS & then use your WMC key. Once upgraded restore your activation. It should work but if not then try phone activation.

    if above failed stay with pro KMS activated.....
     
  3. Memnon

    Memnon MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2010
    69
    13
    0
    My pro was VMware kms activation.
    then online WMC activation -> windows 8 retail.
     
  4. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,354
    632
    60
  5. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,405
    60
    Then there should be no problem with activation restore.... disconnect internet,Activate pro with KMS & then use key to upgrade & restore activation.
     
  6. Memnon

    Memnon MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2010
    69
    13
    0
    @NICK@NUMBER11
    if I use this method, do I need to activate the pro version first?
    or it will activated to wmc directly?
     
  7. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,354
    632
    60
    as long as you use your backed up tokens and data file, then it will be activated as soon as you complete installing windows

     
  8. BTOR

    BTOR MDL Addicted

    Nov 18, 2009
    575
    584
    30
    it will activated to wmc directly
     
  9. Memnon

    Memnon MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2010
    69
    13
    0
    @NICK@NUMBER11

    **enter YOUR WMC Key here**
    in between those stars or without stars?
     
  10. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,373
    15,025
    340
    Without stars :kicking:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Memnon

    Memnon MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2010
    69
    13
    0
    NICK@NUMBER11

    wmc_maker.cmd did not work for me.
     
  12. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,354
    632
    60
    did you get any errors... ???

     
  13. Memnon

    Memnon MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2010
    69
    13
    0
    did you get any errors... ???

    I am not sure, but in my case I start from the second line of this code.
    then it worked perfectly.
     
  14. seanyowl

    seanyowl MDL Novice

    Apr 17, 2011
    4
    0
    0
    #14 seanyowl, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
    ei.cfg question?

    Just a quick question... i successfully applied your instructions to modify the install.wim file, should the install disk/iso image have an ei.cfg and if so what should be in it?

    My win8 install was Professional... kms activated followed by WMC key activating to full via MS :)
     
  15. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,678
    18,890
    340
    #15 s1ave77, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Not shure if this trick will still work, but anyways, ei.cfg:
    Code:
    [Channel]
    Retail
    
    [VL]
    0
    
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Memnon

    Memnon MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2010
    69
    13
    0
    #16 Memnon, Apr 1, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2013
    (OP)
    I have put, ei.cfg in iso file which contains:

    [EditionID]
    ProfessionalWMC

    [Channel]
    Retail

    [VL]
    0

    During installation it show:
    1. Win8ProWMC
    1. Win8core
     
  17. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,354
    632
    60
    #17 NICK@NUMBER11, Apr 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    did you complete the last bit....

    Code:
    Then from an elevated command promt enter this...
    
    imagex.exe /flags "ProfessionalWMC" /info C:\WMC\install.wim 1 "Windows 8 Pro with Media Center" "Windows 8 Pro with Media Center"
    
     
  18. seanyowl

    seanyowl MDL Novice

    Apr 17, 2011
    4
    0
    0
    #18 seanyowl, Apr 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I completed the script including the above, I was just curious as to whether the disk/iso image requires a ei.cfg file and if it actually matters whats in it if it does, as obviously the point is trying to restore win8 Pro with WMC in a licensed condition.

    At the moment since the iso image is a copy of the original i used to install windows the ei.cfg contains...

    [Channel]
    Retail

    [VL]
    0
     
  19. Memnon

    Memnon MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2010
    69
    13
    0
    #20 Memnon, Apr 2, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I use imagex.exe and finally made the win8ProWMC.iso