Windows 8 Pro WMC (windows to go), permanent activation on multiple PC's solution.

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by PrincessLuna, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. PrincessLuna

    PrincessLuna MDL Junior Member

    Oct 5, 2012
    68
    12
    0
    #1 PrincessLuna, Dec 16, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  2. PrincessLuna

    PrincessLuna MDL Junior Member

    Oct 5, 2012
    68
    12
    0
    #2 PrincessLuna, Dec 16, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
    (OP)
    Do not activate online after this procedure, so no slmgr.vbs /ato else the status will change to not genuine. As long as you don't activate online seems like updates etc will be fine unless MS changes something. So better know exactly what is in the updates you install.

    So I recommend setting Windows update to check for updates but install manually.
     
  3. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,814
    1,997
    210
    If using Windows 2 Go from Enterprise, which will not work with WMC(!), you just need to activate the "new" installation once. After don that, you could use hat HDD on any other computer which could run Windows 8 Enterprise. It will automatically add new required drivers, which means, while starting the first time on an new computer, it will need a bit of time because Drivers need to be downloaded and installed. That also means that you'll need on that first start on any new computer a working Internet connection.

    I use W2G already more than 2 month now and never had an problem which couldn't be easy resolved. And all of that minor problems were just coming from needed drivers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. PrincessLuna

    PrincessLuna MDL Junior Member

    Oct 5, 2012
    68
    12
    0
    I did not use Enterprise due to the 180 days KMS activation issue. Windows 8 Pro also changes drivers just like Enterprise fortunately. Windows 8 Pro with KMS activation also allows you to swap computers. The only thing is I wanted permanent activation and Win Pro + WMC. Which is why you need to swap the license files. I prefer this method to the KMS one.
     
  5. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,814
    1,997
    210
    I do understand the problem with KMS! That isn't any problem for me because I've acces to an legal KMS Server at all time I need them, it's just a part of my work. And I also didn't need the WMC on Work Computers and that's what I use the W2G for, for my work! W2G isn't run on an computer I use all times for all work, it's just for temporary work, to do some job in my customers offices etc. And that's for what that solution were build for!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. PrincessLuna

    PrincessLuna MDL Junior Member

    Oct 5, 2012
    68
    12
    0
    Well obviously since you have access to a legal KMS server, there is no problem for you!
     
  7. ratnayesu

    ratnayesu MDL Novice

    Apr 7, 2012
    10
    3
    0
    This is not a Permanent Solution,This goes non-genuine after running the following command in cmd(Admin)
    slmgr -ato
    Most experts says that M$ will include this in the future updates.
    We are all doomed
     
  8. robalm

    robalm MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    330
    47
    10
    #8 robalm, Jan 3, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. curiousboy

    curiousboy MDL Junior Member

    Nov 21, 2012
    58
    4
    0
    @ robalm Just back up your activation by using ATM , then restore it if some thing like that happens, sounds like a fake rumor o_O
     
  10. robalm

    robalm MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    330
    47
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...