Windows 8 random freezes ( Solved )

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by CMD, Aug 27, 2012.

1. CMD

CMD MDL Novice

Aug 12, 2012
    #1 CMD, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
    I have win8 Pro x86 installed on my Lenovo lappy.

it randomly freezes ,

when i use chrome , it hangs while showing Waiting for cache .

and even logs show :

Reset to device, \Device\RaidPort0, was issued. Source : Storahci

and another warning in event manager is :
    The IO operation at logical block address 16abb2 for Disk 0 was retried. source : disk .

please help me with this , i already tried disabling AHCI in BIOS but didnt helped and system didnt booted at all .

drivers also updated ,

anyone having new drivers can also help me with the link

System specs :

Lenovo G570 .
    3 Gigs ram
    3 partitioned HDD 650 GB
    i3 2.1 GHZ intel processor .

1.JPG

2. racky29

racky29 MDL Senior Member

Aug 2, 2007
    im no expert on this so dont take this advice as golden
    but you may have to re-install windows 8 with AHCI turned off

im sure someone else may have a better solution
    but it might be worth a try if you dont mind doing that

3. Boyfriend

Boyfriend MDL Senior Member

Feb 10, 2010
    Hi,

My solution is that case will be:
    Enable AHCI in BIOS
    Reinstall Windows 8 (reliable and confirmed from MSDN site)
    Install drivers in following sequence:
    -Intel Chipset Driver
    -Reboot
    -DirectX
    -Intel HD Graphic Driver
    -Reboot
    -Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver
    -Reboot
    -Intel Management Engine Interface
    -Other drivers

Use Intel site/Softpedia for above drivers. Try to avoid Windows 7 drivers for Windows 8 as architecture is compatible but still a lot of code changes here and there. Moreover, in each drive/partition properties --> tools --> error checking and see what Windows 8 discover. Sometimes, there is dirty bit on one of the partitions, scan that partition for errors in such case.

Go ahead and enjoy :plane: