Windows 8 RP Visual Style for 8 RTM and Server 2012 RTM

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by dummekuehe, Aug 5, 2012.

  1. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    #1 dummekuehe, Aug 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    releasepreviewvs.jpg

    netload.in/dateiHHxteQ9cIE/ThemesWin8RP.zip.htm

    I prefer this Visual Style from Release Preview.
    It works just like the RTM, you can change color, the taskbar is slightly tranparent, the automatic color adaption also works

    Just copy the ThemesRP folder to c:\windows\resources
    rename Themes to ThemesORG
    rename ThemesRP to Theme
    reboot

    Themes also works on Server 2012 after you install Desktop Experience
    if you have problems to find it in Server Manager just install it via PowerShell
    enter the following two lines followed by ENTER:

    Code:
    Import-Module ServerManager
    Install-WindowsFeature Desktop-Experience
     
  2. Belarathon

    Belarathon MDL Senior Member

    Nov 21, 2007
    316
    37
    10
    Nice find. Much better! Thank you.
     
  3. Sheza

    Sheza MDL Novice

    Aug 5, 2012
    45
    8
    0
    Is there a way to make the title bars transparent?
     
  4. plnet

    plnet MDL Novice

    Jul 26, 2012
    19
    1
    0
    just to correct you there -
    this is the theme from Win 8 DP and CP. RP theme is different, looking almost like RTM except RTM isn't transparent :)
     
  5. rafaelfborges

    rafaelfborges MDL Novice

    Jan 20, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    Me too!! Give more urls plz!
     
  6. Sheza

    Sheza MDL Novice

    Aug 5, 2012
    45
    8
    0
    Are you sure? All the screenshots I've seen of RP have that theme (+ transparency). The RTM theme has super ugly close buttons etc, I haven't seen that in any RP screenshots.
     
  7. dareckibmw

    dareckibmw MDL Expert

    Jun 16, 2009
    1,184
    1,243
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. alien2xx

    alien2xx MDL Senior Member

    Aug 5, 2009
    384
    189
    10
    If transparecy can be achieved I'd defenetly switch from win 7 to win 8 in my main machine... this is problably the only thing is preventing me from doing the full jump (testing/running in on a 2nd machine.. trying to convince myself).. aaggh!! why MS why??? why you took this nice feature away???? why????:mad:
     
  9. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    jesus
    if that's your only problem with windows 8 you must be a happy guy
     
  10. fardeen

    fardeen MDL Member

    May 11, 2010
    182
    10
    10
    installed windows 8 RTM and my first impression was.... is it that ugly without aero glass?? and idea was yes. its so so so ugly without aero. even changing all the themes. well it still sucks. ironic part is that there is still a trace of transparency on the actual taskbar. we all know real reason they removed aero glass is because of these underpowered tablets and pretext that aero uses so much system /video ram or resources when all modern pc can so much run it perfectly. very disappointed.
     
  11. fires

    fires MDL Junior Member

    Aug 20, 2009
    75
    15
    0
    if you want to make the taskbar more transparent ironically transbar 1.4.2 actually works and looks good.
     
  12. plnet

    plnet MDL Novice

    Jul 26, 2012
    19
    1
    0
    Who cares about taskbar? :) Window borders is what we need! Never thought I'll need to use WindowBlinds and the likes again
     
  13. fires

    fires MDL Junior Member

    Aug 20, 2009
    75
    15
    0
    Well I did say ironically. ;)

    But I think thats why ms went the way they did not only to save battery life and speed things up but also alot of people hack there OS's anyway to suit thier style.
     
  14. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    by the way this works without patched dlls
     
  15. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    does this require uxtheme patch?
     
  16. luke7

    luke7 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    49
    8
    0
    #18 luke7, Aug 8, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012
    Hi dummekuehe

    No, just take owership of the areo.msstyle file in C:\Windows\Resources\Themes\Aero + permission for areo.msstyle
    Remember to backup the default file.
     
  17. plnet

    plnet MDL Novice

    Jul 26, 2012
    19
    1
    0
    #19 plnet, Aug 8, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012
    I've used a file called Build 7850 Activator & Timebomb.exe, it appears to have a timebomb remover, not sure what it does though :) I've "untimebobmed" the DP install I also have, and it looks like it's not restarting itself after 2 hours of work, but you still need to because explorer becomes unusable after those 2 hrs: you can continue using the apps you've already got open but you can't open new ones, as well as folder windows and the start menu.
    But that's SO off-topic, so sticking to this topic, I'd rather have the option to return transparency to RTM. All the animations and transitions appear to be still there, Aero Peek is there as well, so the only thing that's missing is the transparent window borders. That shouldn't be hard to get restored, eh?
     
  18. aaron7pm

    aaron7pm MDL Novice

    Dec 25, 2010
    1
    0
    0
    Thanks, I really like the bigger forward and back nav buttons better than the new small ones. The new small ones don't look good IMO.