Windows 8 System Restore Madness :-(

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by EC51, Dec 10, 2012.

1. EC51

EC51 MDL Novice

Nov 4, 2012
    Hi folks.

I've been using Windows 8 for a couple of months now. And overall, I like it. However, this one thing constantly gets on my nerves. It's system restore. (System Protection -> System Restore).

I always disable system restore. (since Windows XP days). I just don't like it. And Windows XP, Vista and 7 always *stayed* disabled once I well.. disabled it. However, in Windows 8, this sucker won't stay disabled. So, I now have a new daily habit of checking if system restore is disabled (or not).

It's disabled now but tomorrow or the next day, it will turn itself on again. :-(

I've done several format and clean install, no dice.

Is there a way to permanently disable system restore for good ? (registry?)

2. abbodi1406

abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

Feb 19, 2011
    #2 abbodi1406, Dec 11, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    try:
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\SystemRestore\Setup_Last]
    "Unattend_DisableSR"=dword:00000001

or start group policy editor (Run: gpedit.msc)
    goto:
    Computer Configuration> Administrative Templates > System > System Restore
    At right pane, double-click "Turn off Configuration".
    Select "Enabled".
    Click "OK".
    Double-click "Turn off System Restore".
    Select "Enabled"
    Click "OK".

3. EC51

EC51 MDL Novice

Nov 4, 2012
    Thank you! I try that tonight and report back!

4. roirraW "edor" ehT

roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

Sep 1, 2007
    @EC51, +1 I'm with you, I've found that System Restore is only occasionally useful (meaning working to resolve a problem, or even working at all) so I've disabled it since XP on my own systems and on other's systems I've worked on too, when I implement some third-party backup program; otherwise I leave it on.