Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant ISO 32bit or 64bit

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by dranzer006, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. dranzer006

    dranzer006 MDL Novice

    Sep 9, 2008
    33
    0
    0
    Hey

    I'm Going to Upgrade from windows 7 32bit using Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant, will the iso downloaded be 64bit or 32bit and can i use that same iso for clean installation later on or do in need to install win7 and upgrade through the downloaded iso ?



    Thanks

    PS i don't have msdn subscription or legal copy of win7 but my friend did it with his cracked win7 so i will give a try
    BTW i also read an article that said microsoft is legally allowing pirated users to upgrade to win8 pro for discount through upgrade assistant is this true ?
     
  2. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    Actually MS is not allowing it... But its methodology has loopholes in it allowing non windows users get this upgrade to... and about ur upgrade assistant it will allow u to create an iso and also allow u to do afresh install...It should allow u to upgrade to 64bit... as on one of MS site I read that u can upgrade from 32 to 64bit but the upgrade is just as if u are installing windows freshly... as it does not preserve win settings and programs
     
  3. steven4554

    steven4554 MDL Addicted

    Jul 12, 2009
    897
    1,245
    60
    The upgrade assistant will download the 32-bit win8 iso, as you are running a 32-bit OS. Just the same for 64-bit users, this is because MS doesn't support upgrading from 32-bit OS to a 64-bit OS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. amolji

    amolji MDL Novice

    Oct 28, 2012
    12
    0
    0
    you can grab meta deta for utorrent or google converting magnet to torrent
     
  6. Emy12

    Emy12 MDL Novice

    Feb 16, 2012
    18
    2
    0
    #7 Emy12, Nov 3, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012
    It is working fine here.....62 GB what's this?
     
  7. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    It contains all isos... choose only those u require... skip others
     
  8. rnaodm

    rnaodm MDL Novice

    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    0
    0

    Im not sure which is which, personally im looking for win 8 pro 64 bit as for some reason the win 8 updater downloaded the 32bit version, Is this the one I want:en_windows_8_pro_n_vl_x64_dvd_918677

    Thanks
     
  9. rnaodm

    rnaodm MDL Novice

    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    0
    0
    I upgrated from a bootleg win 7 64bit, But for some reason the upgrade assistant downloaded a 32bit, which I unwittingly uised for a week...

    Currently downloading the right(hopefully) one from the torrent linked below

     
  10. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    328
    23
    10
    Yes it is what you want.
     
  11. kelorgo

    kelorgo MDL Addicted

    Oct 29, 2012
    838
    1,499
    30
    No, you want en_windows_8_x64_dvd_915440.iso, which is the one that contains the standard Retail version of Pro (and Core too). You will have trouble with any iso that has vl in its name (which indicates Volume Licence), as those are missing some feature, for example you can't upgrade to WMC.
     
  12. rnaodm

    rnaodm MDL Novice

    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    0
    0
    #13 rnaodm, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
    So I downloaded the torrent, I used Windows 8 Pro N because there doesn't seem to just be a common win 8 pro iso, it accepted my product key but after install was completed it will not let my activate, It just says Windows can not activate right now try again later. Should I have installed Windows 8 pro VL? I just don't see anywhere in that list of iso's which one would be the obvious choice for a common install.
     
  13. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    I don't want to know ur key... but can u tell me where did u get it from
     
  14. rnaodm

    rnaodm MDL Novice

    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    0
    0
    Ahh ok tyvm, I saw that but noticed it didn't say pro, I guess my serial will activate the pro version, thank you for your help.
     
  15. rnaodm

    rnaodm MDL Novice

    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    0
    0
    From a thread titled: Bought and ran windows 8 upgrade assistant It installed 32bit instead of 64bit, a user posts a magnet link, must have a torrent client installed, you either click the link or copy the magnets address and enter it manually into the client
     
  16. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    328
    23
    10
    I have very fast connection but it says days to download it on that torrent.
     
  17. rnaodm

    rnaodm MDL Novice

    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    0
    0
    yea unfortunately the iso I want is stuck at 89% even at high priority
     
  18. adit123tya

    adit123tya MDL Senior Member

    Oct 25, 2012
    397
    197
    10
    that means seeders are less... it has nothing to do with speed of ur internet connection
    which iso ur downloading... standerd isos do have seeders