Windows Editions Reconstruction Project

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by whatever127, Jan 10, 2020.

  1. TheCollDude489

    TheCollDude489 MDL Member

    Apr 16, 2018
    111
    16
    10
  2. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    27,397
    40,442
    390
    Yes, i see the entry in 1-2-3.xml.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Aty

    Aty MDL Junior Member

    Oct 18, 2013
    82
    206
    0
    @whatever127
    I get a recovery image of Windows 8.1 China with Bing x86.
    As far as I know, only a few models of the tablet in China have the system.
    Code:
    WIM Information:
    ----------------
    Path:           K:\install_8468f44fed0aec80c629e23770b14b8b1c457dfe.wim
    GUID:           0x9251759d5e287742b1b52d5ba70c41d3
    Version:        68864
    Image Count:    1
    Compression:    XPRESS
    Chunk Size:     4096 bytes
    Part Number:    1/1
    Boot Index:     0
    Size:           4575705288 bytes
    Attributes:     Relative path junction
    
    Available Images:
    -----------------
    Index:                  1
    Name:                   Drive-C
    Description:
    Directory Count:        14831
    File Count:             71686
    Total Bytes:            11054805588
    Hard Link Bytes:        3507281358
    Creation Time:          Wed Jun 04 02:04:19 2014 UTC
    Last Modification Time: Wed Jun 04 02:04:23 2014 UTC
    Architecture:           x86
    Product Name:           Microsoft« Windows« Operating System
    Edition ID:             CoreConnectedCountrySpecific
    Installation Type:      Client
    HAL:                    ACPI\INTL9C60
    Product Type:           WinNT
    Product Suite:          Terminal Server
    Languages:              zh-CN
    Default Language:       zh-CN
    System Root:            WINDOWS
    Major Version:          6
    Minor Version:          3
    Build:                  9600
    Service Pack Build:     17031
    Service Pack Level:     0
    WIMBoot compatible:     yes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. whatever127

    whatever127 MDL PHP Wizard

    Nov 9, 2012
    1,050
    7,092
    60
    I'm not sure if it is feasible to recreate it. If you want, PM me with link to it and I'll take a look into it when I'll have some free time.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. BetADNA

    BetADNA MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2015
    74
    47
    0
    quick Question...

    i made an Enterprise "G" ISO..
    Can i integrate an language Pack or does it have to be EN?

    THX

    ps. its probaly a stupid question, i think you can, but ill better ask beforehand :p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Aty

    Aty MDL Junior Member

    Oct 18, 2013
    82
    206
    0
    EnterpriseG can only use en-US and zh-CN. Unless you plan to use Chinese?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. BetADNA

    BetADNA MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2015
    74
    47
    0
    Oki doki..
    Thanks for teh clarification...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. whatever127

    whatever127 MDL PHP Wizard

    Nov 9, 2012
    1,050
    7,092
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. d5aqoëp

    d5aqoëp MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2017
    260
    146
    10
    1) Is the telemetry really off in this?
    2) What antivirus everyone suggests for this EnterpriseG build?
    3) Can Windows Defender be installed on this?

    I converted 19041 build and so far so good. I would be grateful for answers.
     
  10. whatever127

    whatever127 MDL PHP Wizard

    Nov 9, 2012
    1,050
    7,092
    60
    1. No. EnterpriseG by itself does not disable the telemetry, you need to disable it yourself.
    2. Check some and use the one which you think is the lightest
    3. Defender is installed, but permanently disabled by Product Policy.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Disk2019

    Disk2019 MDL Member

    May 15, 2018
    287
    71
    10
    has anybody tested it on win7 Pro SP1 iso . please let me know what it does to the iso.
     
  12. d5aqoëp

    d5aqoëp MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2017
    260
    146
    10
    Is there a way to enable it somehow?
     
  13. whatever127

    whatever127 MDL PHP Wizard

    Nov 9, 2012
    1,050
    7,092
    60
    No.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. hebba

    hebba MDL Novice

    Feb 16, 2020
    3
    0
    0
    Noob here, I have some questions if you don't mind:

    3. Extract edition files to sxs directory found in the extracted archive (use Extract Here option in your archiver)
    5. Extract language pack to lp directory
    6. Extract install.wim from your ISO to the main directory of the extracted archive
    7. Rename extracted install.wim to something other and export a prerequisite index from it to new install.wim
    8. Run the Command Prompt as an administrator and cd to the folder you have extracted the archive to
    9. Run full_build.cmd and let it do its magic

    a) In steps 3 and 5, can I use 7zip to extract those files? What is the preferred method? I tried using 7zip, it was successful but there was a "payload data" error. Idk if that is okay.

    b) What is the preferred method for extracting ISOs?

    c) Step 7 was extra confusing. Here is how I understood it: I rename install.wim to something else like abc.wim. Then a prerequisite index has to be exported to the new install.wim. First of all I do not know what a prerequisite index is and I don't know how to export it either. Then what confuses me is that in order to get a new wim I would have to run the script full_build.cmd, that happens in step 9 right? So how would I export a prerequisite index to the new wim when its not there yet?

    d) And finally how do I repackage the iso?
     
  15. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    27,397
    40,442
    390
    Yes, open the esd file in 7zip and select all files inside and drag/drop them in the sxs folder.

    ISOs can be opened/extracted by 7zip too.

    That's a rebuild option, rename original install.wim to old.wim (example) and export the index to a new install.wim using imagex or dism.

    repacking can be done by oscdimg commandline or a ISO mastering tool like UltraISO.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. hebba

    hebba MDL Novice

    Feb 16, 2020
    3
    0
    0
    Wait so I have to build the new wim then export the index from the old wim to the new wim right?
     
  17. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    27,397
    40,442
    390
    No, rename the resulting wim to old.wim and run this dism command:

    Code:
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:"x:\old.wim" /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:"x:\install.wim" /Compress:max /checkintegrity
    ps:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    3,488
    3,141
    120
    My guess: The step is for getting a clean WIM with only one index inside.

    What should be mentioned at the extraction steps is, that there will be Overwrite? prompts from 7-Zip. Some files exist in more than one ESD (they are identical).