Windows Media Center - why blocked for Enterprise version?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by CuteBirdy, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. CuteBirdy

    CuteBirdy MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2012
    85
    4
    0
    I got Windows 8 Enterprise instead of Professional, thinking the Enterprise version will have everything the Professional has plus more. But I just realise now that the Enterprise version has a weakness, it is not possible to install Windows Media Center on it. Why does Microsoft do this? How important is Windows Media Center, and are there other software out there that does the same thing (including integration with other Windows functions) as well as WMC? Should I be regretting getting the Enterprise version instead of the Professional one?
     
  2. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,977
    10,551
    340
    They have their idea of different versions and potential customers. Enterprise customers don't need WMC. It's plausible, enterprise editions are not made for home users.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. CuteBirdy

    CuteBirdy MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2012
    85
    4
    0
    So if I already got Windows Enterprise up and running properly, should I be getting Windows Professional instead and start over, since I am a home user? Does WMC matter that much to warrant a reinstall and reactivation?
     
  4. amno1970

    amno1970 MDL Novice

    Aug 7, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    Probably we will see a workaround to integrate WMC in Enterprise Edition. As an alternative, I recommend MediaPortal.
     
  5. CuteBirdy

    CuteBirdy MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2012
    85
    4
    0
    So there's nothing really special about WMC then, there are and will be other programs that can do the same thing later?

    I hope there will be a way to integrate WMC into Enterprise Edition, and hope Microsoft won't block it if WMC requires a constant internet connection to Microsoft servers to function...
     
  6. Sparky51

    Sparky51 MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2012
    5
    0
    0
    well, i guess enterprise is for me then... because i haven't use media player for many, many years (a decade or more), i have other software that does a much better job than WMC unless microsoft gave it a BIG face lift in Win8... but i'm still not really interested in it, due to their, it's past history...
     
  7. Norfolk

    Norfolk MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2009
    27
    3
    0
    Windows media player aka WMP is still present in Entreprise Edition, but Windows Media Center aka WMC is'nt
     
  8. mywindows8

    mywindows8 MDL Novice

    Aug 8, 2012
    11
    0
    0
    I have an activated Windows 8 Pro installed on my PC and wonder why no WMC show on Start Menu? Thanks!!
     
  9. 100

    100 MDL Expert

    May 17, 2011
    1,346
    1,540
    60
    Yes, the reason is probably that Enterprise just isn't intended for home use. As a home user you can't buy it anyway, even you wanted to.

    Seconded.
     
  10. EricMarsi

    EricMarsi MDL Novice

    Jun 22, 2012
    37
    19
    0
    #11 EricMarsi, Aug 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2015
    ...........
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    213
    30
    Just install Win8Codecs, or instead VLC/VideoLAN, then you can play DVDs.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Enigma256

    Enigma256 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2011
    354
    300
    10
    If you have a TV tuner (to watch over-the-air TV picked up by an antenna or even cable TV, if you have something like the HDHomeRun Prime), you really really, really, really want WMC. The feature set, interface, reliability and polish of WMC is simply unrivaled (and believe me, I've tried a lot of different media center programs, Media Portal included).

    ...but that's about the only thing that WMC is really good for. If you don't plan on watching or recording TV, then you don't need WMC (but really, you should consider it; a USB TV tuner is pretty cheap; I picked up a few for around $20 each, and being able to watch and record HDTV is sooooooooo much better in terms of quality and convenience than the crap you get from streaming or even scene-release torrents), but if you do, then you'll find that the lack of WMC is a deal-breaker. I plan to wait until October when I can buy a proper WMC license before I dabble in W8. It's that important to me.
     
  13. Shaom

    Shaom MDL Novice

    Jul 24, 2011
    32
    6
    0
    Can someone tell me why PowerDVD is playing avi files in enterprise version (without any codecs) and on professional cannot? I installed Win8Codecs, K-lite pack and ffdshow o_O
     
  14. Enigma256

    Enigma256 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2011
    354
    300
    10
  15. Nil Einne

    Nil Einne MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2007
    26
    1
    0
  16. Enigma256

    Enigma256 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2011
    354
    300
    10
    I'll concede that if you're outside of the US, WMC is probably a dud. But here in the States, it's a very different story...
     
  17. hoodlikegaza

    hoodlikegaza MDL Junior Member

    Oct 10, 2007
    54
    1
    0
    From what I've seen media portal does not support livetv with cable card tuners, = useless for premium cable.