Windows Sidebar/Gadgets for Windows 8 RTM ADDED 32bit Version

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by dummekuehe, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    #1 dummekuehe, Aug 4, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  2. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    Just the firewall. Deactivated it an everything worked perfectly fine.
    9200gadgets2.jpg
    I'm thinking about uploading the updated version of win2008r2workstation's sidebar installer.
    But I guess first I should ask for their permission.
     
  3. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    uploaded to
    netload.in/dateizNjPicgBsw/win8RPsidebar4win8RTM.7z.htm
    since the developer of this installer did not ask ms for permission i guess he'll be ok with me putting this link here

    thanks to win2008r2workstation

    tried to attach the file
    wont work
    neither in normal nor in basic uploader mode
     
  4. bb12489

    bb12489 MDL Novice

    Feb 20, 2011
    41
    4
    0
    #4 bb12489, Aug 4, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
    Thanks a bunch for this! I was working on getting the side bar going on the RTM with the RP files, but failed :/ I'm glad you found a way to get it working though! I know there is going to be quite a few people who still want gadgets. I'll post a mediafire link to this same file for faster download.

    EDIT: I guess I can't post my mf link till I have 20 posts :/
     
  5. LEXX911

    LEXX911 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    284
    31
    10
    Ewww, don't know why people would want these ugly sidebar gadgets. You're better off getting rainmeter.
     
  6. jayblok

    jayblok MDL Guru

    Dec 26, 2010
    3,142
    2,460
    120
    That funny,rainmeter is better. BTW,I have tried every version of mediamonkey and every song is greyed out,I've installed every audio codec possible... Foobar2000 is king,plays all audio files,sorry for offtopic. :)
     
  7. bb12489

    bb12489 MDL Novice

    Feb 20, 2011
    41
    4
    0
    Just about the only gadgets I use is the calendar, clock, and the All Cpu Meter. sometimes i'll also use drive meter and All network meter
     
  8. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    some people might be better off using rainmeter but I dont need fancy rainmeter. there are quite a few nice gadgets that i want to be able to run if i want to.
    i usually don't leave it running all the time. I'm pretty sure there are people out there that have old gadgets that have no rainmeter replacements.
    and yes rainmeter might use less ram but i don't like the fiddeling with all the options anyways. just want my old little gadget every once in a while.
     
  9. luke7

    luke7 MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    49
    8
    0
    Thanks. I want to use my gadgets on windows 8 too.
     
  10. UndiluteD

    UndiluteD MDL Novice

    Mar 12, 2009
    17
    35
    0
    You might want to shut them off, it was found that the desktop widgets' web-based code have flaws that would allow malicious Gadgets, or even hijacked legitimate Gadgets, to compromise a PC without having to go through the usual avenues of attack. Microsoft's short-term answer to the vulnerability is a drastic one, though: a stopgap patch disables Gadgets entirely, leaving just a barren desktop in its wake. There's no word on a Gadget-friendly solution arriving before Kohlenberg and Shkatov present at the Black Hat Conference on July 26th, but Microsoft's ultimate answer is to move everyone to Windows 8, where Gadgets aren't even an option. We understand the importance of preventing breaches, of course.
     
  11. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    #11 dummekuehe, Aug 4, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
    (OP)
    don't believe everything they tell you
    go deactivate internet explorer
    and uninstall all other browsers
    they are just as vulnerable
     
  12. gingjok

    gingjok MDL Novice

    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    windows 8 in wiki say

    "The Microsoft Gadgets which has been featured in Windows Vista and Windows 7 has been removed from Windows 8.[4]"
     
  13. Espionage724

    Espionage724 MDL Addicted

    Nov 7, 2009
    903
    256
    30
    Idk... Chrome is pretty hardcore with it's Sandbox ;)
     
  14. plnet

    plnet MDL Novice

    Jul 26, 2012
    19
    1
    0
    could someone please repost the file from the first post? Netload is awfully slow for me, I didn't manage to dl there 3 MB yet and it's been 3 hours
     
  15. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    Try this
    depositfiles.com/files/j33ex68n9
     
  16. phailyoor

    phailyoor MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    65
    11
    0
    I went through all the trouble of rolling my own gadgets for windows 8. Now I find out that there is already a solution that works better than mine...
     
  17. szabojani

    szabojani MDL Novice

    Jun 21, 2011
    5
    0
    0
    Hi! Can anybody help me?
    sidebar.jpg
     
  18. phailyoor

    phailyoor MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    65
    11
    0
    It won't work in the 32 bit version. You need to install the 64 bit version of windows.
     
  19. szabojani

    szabojani MDL Novice

    Jun 21, 2011
    5
    0
    0
    Thank you very much. I'll try.:eek:
     
  20. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    I'm sorry the patch only exists for 64bit because it was originally made for Server 2008 R2 which also only exists in 64bit.
    I should have added that in the first post.