Windows x86 and x64 AIO, full instructions

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by DKane, Nov 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DKane

    DKane MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2009
    63
    63
    0
    #1 DKane, Nov 4, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. genuine555

    genuine555 MDL Expert

    Oct 3, 2009
    1,639
    56
    60
    Dear admins, could this maybe be Sticky-fied ?
     
  3. btf-tribal

    btf-tribal MDL Junior Member

    Jul 9, 2009
    70
    12
    0
    don`t understand why i should export the x86 again into the x86 install wim.
    this step must be a mistake
     
  4. DAz999

    DAz999 MDL Member

    May 19, 2007
    132
    35
    10
    #4 DAz999, Nov 4, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Message for DKane

    DKane,

    May I refer you to this post, maybe you could help out there or may they could help you, it doesn t matter, it just seems to me that you are working in the same direction.

    Creating auto-activating DVD's-With or Without Loader

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/9989

    Regards
    DAz999
     
  5. DKane

    DKane MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2009
    63
    63
    0
    #5 DKane, Nov 4, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    At the start it tells you to *move* the x86 install.wim, not copy. You are making an install.wim from scratch, so the entries will be in the right order.

    Well, they might be, it's hard to tell. The key point of my DVD is the ability to upgrade and repair both architectures. I don't know if such an auto-activating mechanism could be added to it, but anyone is welcome to try.
     
  6. luke

    luke MDL Senior Member

    Jun 22, 2007
    461
    35
    10
    #6 luke, Nov 4, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
    LOL i got all the way up to

    open an administative command prompt.

    Navigate to D:\AIO\DVD

    Now make a copy of the default loader by executing:

    Code:

    bcdedit /store boot\bcd /copy {default} /d "x64 Recovery Mode"


    and then got lost from there were is there administative command prompt and how do i navigate PS i did mine C:\AIO\DVD
     
  7. DKane

    DKane MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2009
    63
    63
    0
    Ok, commandline basics:

    click the windows button, and type cmd. Right click on cmd.exe when it appears, and click "run as administrator". The window that opens is an administrative prompt.

    Navigation: Switch to D drive by entering D:, then hitting enter, can switch to other drives in same way.

    use CD to change directory on a drive.

    eg, to get to D:\AIO\DVD, one would do:

    D:
    cd AIO\DVD
     
  8. HOGCALLER

    HOGCALLER MDL Novice

    May 5, 2009
    7
    2
    0
    Not sure what/where went wrong but only Ultimate x86 and x64 show up.
     
  9. HOGCALLER

    HOGCALLER MDL Novice

    May 5, 2009
    7
    2
    0
    This time all works as advertised!!

    This time I cut and pasted all code and command line instructions/info both to and from all command windows rather than doing any typing (not one of my better skills).

    This time I deleted all ei.cfg and all *.clg files from both "sources" and "sourc64" folders.

    This time I downloaded and installed MS free utility, XML Notepad 2007, to make the needed "unattend.xml" file.

    I have not actually installed any version as of yet but repair promt shows and starts to work and all choices/versions show up. Will let you know if any problems arise.

    One official "ATTABOY" for DKane!!
     
  10. DKane

    DKane MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2009
    63
    63
    0
    BALLS! Forgot a step, I knew it! Delete ei.cfg from D:\AIO\DVD\sources, and D:\AIO\DVD\sourc64

    Instructions amended. Also, thankkyou hogcaller ^^ always nice to know one is appreciated.
     
  11. Revna

    Revna MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2009
    12
    0
    0
    I find that the double-tap of an arrow key when the "press any key to boot from CD/DVD" message appear doesn't work when the the boot timeout is set to 1 sec on the notebook I tested it on.

    I burned it to a DVD+RW (I use a USB DVD drive). It automatically proceeds with the Windows Setup and not the x64 Recovery Mode. I tried to double-tab as quick as I could.

    So I set the boot timeout to 15 sec so I have plenty of time to choose - works for me. This is also better when using my USB stick as an install media.

    Thank you for these great instructions DKane :D
     
  12. joshwachubby

    joshwachubby MDL Novice

    Oct 31, 2009
    2
    0
    0
    dkane,
    What is the purpose of deleting the CLG files? Kindly Enlighten me, Im kinda confused. . . tnk you very much. . Help wud really be apprctd.
     
  13. PDS

    PDS MDL Novice

    Oct 22, 2009
    24
    0
    0
    Dual partition?

    What about making 2 partitions on your usb drive, one for x86 and one for x64, then fixing BCD to choose between the two?

    Is this lunacy or a helluvalot easier than all this?

    Anyone tried the 2 partition approach?

    PDS
     
  14. janandababu

    janandababu MDL Novice

    Jun 27, 2008
    7
    0
    0
    #14 janandababu, Nov 6, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
    x86 and x64 setup.exe's are merged in one setup.exe

    In windows 7 x86 setup.exe, can we add x64 install option? Means x64 button
     
  15. nam265

    nam265 MDL Novice

    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    i tried, didn't work.

    I tried that approach... you can't make 2 partitions with usb drive (unless you talking about USB hard drive).

    I tried both disk management and diskpart (in cmd) to delete the current partition upon creating the second partition, you'll get an error and it can't be done. So i end up erase the 1st partition go back to a square one.

    If you have a spare usb laying around, you can test it.

    as for USB HDD. although you can make multiple partitions... I was only able to boot from whichever one is set as active. the rest aren't recognized at boot.

    I say DKane's guide is pretty awesome... AIO with repair for both architecture. I'll try your guide when i have time... I already build an AIO... so i just need to do the 2nd part to make 64bit repair to work.
     
  16. Sabresite

    Sabresite MDL Member

    Nov 7, 2007
    210
    47
    10
    There must be a better way... what about doing setup.exe /m: - can that be used to specify an alternate sources folder?
     
  17. DKane

    DKane MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2009
    63
    63
    0
    That's one of the things I did when it worked. It might not be completely neccesary, but I laid out all the steps exactly as I took them, so it would work.

    If the x86 installer is running, it refuses to install x64, as it thinks you're running an x86 OS.
     
  18. Raoul

    Raoul MDL Junior Member

    Aug 8, 2009
    61
    10
    0
    #18 Raoul, Nov 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
  19. DKane

    DKane MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2009
    63
    63
    0
    #19 DKane, Nov 6, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
    (OP)
    Well, if you're not using the update facility, you can use whatever unattend.xml you normally use. The one I included is only to get a setup.exe that's not in sources to work.

    EDIT: Just name it "unattend.xml" and put it in the root directory of the DVD.
     
  20. Raoul

    Raoul MDL Junior Member

    Aug 8, 2009
    61
    10
    0
    Yes I know, I will test, since I have 2 answerfiles, one for X86 and one for X64.