Windows XP VLK or Retail?

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by endlesslyonline, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. endlesslyonline

    endlesslyonline MDL Junior Member

    Jul 20, 2011
    63
    5
    0
    Hey guys, long time lurker, first time poster.

    First of all, props on a great site and forums, you guys have helped me out of a lot of problems in the past, now i come to you with a question that i cant seem to find the answer for.

    If i have a untouched windows xp sp3.iso, it was a sdc that i downloaded and converted it to iso, the iso boots fine and installs, so everything seems fine over there, anyways getting of topic, question is, how do i know if the iso i have is a OEM/Retail/VLK ?

    I have VLK's for the company i work for, and i tried that key, but it does not work, so i was wondering now, does specific ISO's have to be VLK enabled? or does some VLK's not work on all CD"s?

    Thanks for your time

    Regards,
     
  2. x86

    x86 MDL Addicted

    Jul 8, 2011
    898
    206
    30
    #2 x86, Jul 22, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  3. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    #3 urie, Jul 22, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  4. endlesslyonline

    endlesslyonline MDL Junior Member

    Jul 20, 2011
    63
    5
    0
    thanks you guys, i got the md5 hashes, and googled it, found out the disc i have is en_windows_xp_professional_with_service_pack_3_x86_cd_x14-80428.iso,

    so, is there any way i can convert that to a VLK?

    And if i do, will all vlk keys work on all VLK cd's? or is there a chance i am doing all this trouble and my valid VLK keys wont be compatible with the CD?
     
  5. x86

    x86 MDL Addicted

    Jul 8, 2011
    898
    206
    30
    I think the easiest way to do so is to get the XP Corp files and extract/replace all in your \I386 folder of your XP Pro image. Then burn the image (also ensure its marked as bootable) and you should have a working XP VLK copy ;)
     
  6. endlesslyonline

    endlesslyonline MDL Junior Member

    Jul 20, 2011
    63
    5
    0
    OK, what files will need to be added/replaced?

    And secondly, does all VLK work on all VLK media?

    Thanks for the quick replies,
     
  7. x86

    x86 MDL Addicted

    Jul 8, 2011
    898
    206
    30
    #7 x86, Jul 22, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
    You need to get hold of the Corp files (don't have these anymore). There is an ZIP/RAR archive somewhere out there. It has step-by-step instructions in it and all the files you need to do it.

    I am not 100% sure on that I am afraid. I once had an XP PRO untouched image on which I applied the Corp files. Then slipstreamed SP3. It worked. But someone in here would have to confirm on your case - I am just not quite certain about this o_O
     
  8. stream

    stream MDL Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    167
    72
    10
    #8 stream, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    If you know how to edit a batch file, then Oz's post can do it for you.

    Or you can download untouched VLK ISOs with verified checksums from the links mentioned by me here.