WindSLIC UEFI SLIC injector

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by nononsence, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    #1 nononsence, Oct 16, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. Alphawaves

    Alphawaves Super Moderator/Developer
    Staff Member

    Aug 11, 2008
    5,872
    20,128
    180
    :eek::eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    I hope I'm wrong and made stupid mistake, so check my work and give feed back if at all possible.
     
  4. Josh Cell

    Josh Cell MDL Developer

    Jan 8, 2011
    3,519
    7,100
    120
    Yes, we can wait :)

    Good work ...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. crappy44

    crappy44 MDL Novice

    Apr 22, 2011
    37
    10
    0
    What's wrong with the intel o2a tool to add marker and keys?
     
  6. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,369
    15,014
    340
    Well, he is working on SLIC integration on UEFI, to add future support for Windows 8 ;)

    Intel tool add SLIC 2.1 that works for Windows 7 & Vista :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    #7 nononsence, Oct 21, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Ok I broke down and ran MGADiag to see what the problem was and found inconsistent table's
    before I stay up late tonight and write the code to fix this can anyone tell me if inconsistent
    tables has ever been the sole reason for activation failure.

    Code:
    OEM Activation 2.0 Data-->
    BIOS valid for OA 2.0: no, inconsistent OEMID or OEMTableID
    Windows marker version: N/A
    OEMID and OEMTableID Consistent: no
    BIOS Information: 
      ACPI Table NameOEMID ValueOEMTableID Value
      APICALASKAA M I
      FACPALASKAA M I
      HPETALASKAA M I
      MCFGA M I GMCH945.
      SSDTAMD   POWERNOW
      SSDTAMD   POWERNOW
      BGRTALASKAA M I
      SLICACRSYSACRPRDCT
    
     
  8. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    YES!!!!! activated!!!!!!!

    I forgot to update the OEMId and OEMTableID
    I knew it was a stupid mistake.
     
  9. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,668
    4,251
    150
    :cheers:Good let the piracy resume :eek: if that's real then I won't have to dread getting an UEFI board
     
  10. crappy44

    crappy44 MDL Novice

    Apr 22, 2011
    37
    10
    0
    I still don't get the use for this. On uefi mobos u just need to add the key and marker to the nvram. No need to fiddle with acpitables.
     
  11. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    can you elaborate or post instruction's? I was unaware of your method and wrote this as a result.

    EDIT:

    I did find the phoenix tool it looks like a bios mod tool, I bricked a $300 motherboard once and am a little
    hesitant about flashing a modded bios unless it has been tested and known to work.

    I am, however interested in the details of this method because it may be possible to write these
    changes to nvram using the efi shell or I could write a tool to add the key and marker without
    flashing the bios.
     
  12. crappy44

    crappy44 MDL Novice

    Apr 22, 2011
    37
    10
    0
    Hi there,

    here is a thread about this tool hXXp://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/8249-Intel-EFI-%28Bios%29-Mod-for-Slic-2.1

    the tool is called oa2.exe and it can update the nvram from within windows or dos. But since almost every uefi mobo is able to run the EFI Shell you can add the marker and key via the shell nvram command.

    So imo there is no need to modify the acpitables on every boot. But that are just my 2 cents. :rolleyes:
     
  13. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    the link in that thread is dead, but I was able to find it with a Google search and when I run it it says only for Intel motherboards
    what exactly do I need to enter into the nvram to activate Windows 7, my efi shell does not have a nvram command but I could
    write one if you gave me enough info to get started.
     
  14. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,369
    15,014
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. crappy44

    crappy44 MDL Novice

    Apr 22, 2011
    37
    10
    0
    #16 crappy44, Oct 22, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Hey,
    it's the dmpstore command not nvram, sorry.

    Here is how it looks like. I dumped it also with dmpstore

    Code:
    Variable NV+RT+BS 'EC2A6C28-2286-44ED-916B-243AB5253546:SLP20Marker' DataSize = B6
      00000000: 01 00 00 00 B6 00 00 00-00 00 02 00 41 4C 57 41  *............ALWA*
      00000010: 52 45 41 4C 49 45 4E 57-52 45 57 49 4E 44 4F 57  *REALIENWREWINDOW*
      00000020: 53 20 01 00 02 00 00 00-00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  *S ..............*
      00000030: 00 00 00 00 00 00 55 35-96 8D 4E 4F C5 41 74 AA  *......U5..NO.At.*
      00000040: D0 FD 8E AD 49 73 1E F9-DE 26 A3 29 1E 7E 47 39  *....Is...&.)..G9*
      00000050: 70 E4 A2 16 B2 05 8D 4F-89 0C 59 52 5D DD C2 68  *p......O..YR]..h*
      00000060: E9 F3 E8 1A B5 3A 9D 42-59 C3 81 91 76 60 A8 D2  *.....:.BY...v`..*
      00000070: 2B 34 FA 6C 32 75 BC 09-D0 F2 21 B4 C4 62 BD 70  *+4.l2u....!..b.p*
      00000080: 8D F7 DF 7B D1 C9 77 BA-31 69 92 BB 87 8C 95 82  *......w.1i......*
      00000090: B0 78 5B E7 B7 1B FF C3-D5 63 B1 59 97 8B A9 5A  *.x[......c.Y...Z*
      000000A0: EF 13 CE 90 A5 70 36 AF-10 6E ED C4 34 C8 7E DB  *.....p6..n..4...*
      000000B0: 87 0E 7A D5 7F 62                                *..z..b*
    Variable NV+RT+BS '0A4D622D-01F4-4974-B3F5-2BFE9888EF92:SLP20OEMPublicKey' DataSize = 9C
      00000000: 00 00 00 00 9C 00 00 00-06 02 00 00 00 24 00 00  *.............$..*
      00000010: 52 53 41 31 00 04 00 00-01 00 01 00 1B 24 73 DF  *RSA1.........$s.*
      00000020: 1D 89 5B DE 2F C3 93 90-98 45 7E 58 CB A0 0B 43  *..[./....E.X...C*
      00000030: FA F4 A2 9A 38 D9 27 6C-22 9A 77 7B 01 6C 84 32  *....8.'l".w..l.2*
      00000040: 40 1D F0 34 B3 F9 B6 83-BB BB 91 06 11 FE BA 69  *@..4...........i*
      00000050: B2 4F E5 57 BB F8 D6 89-94 08 63 67 4E 34 D0 26  *.O.W......cgN4.&*
      00000060: EF C2 D2 A8 D4 E4 C5 6F-7B 26 14 D6 90 8D C4 A5  *.......o.&......*
      00000070: 51 72 69 11 47 05 94 BB-58 43 E7 F2 18 9A E7 84  *Qri.G...XC......*
      00000080: 0E 99 14 A4 96 1C 3A 8A-73 6A 03 14 39 C4 28 D5  *......:.sj..9.(.*
      00000090: FC B9 DD 86 A1 96 67 AB-BC DA 7D E1              *......g.....*
    Variable NV+RT+BS '6D9BF711-A90D-42F9-A3FB-DD08B6E89037:SLP20EncryptedOEMPublicKey' DataSize = 4
      00000000: 64 73 82 91                                      *ds..*
    
     
  16. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    #17 nononsence, Oct 23, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Thank You, That is enough to start writing code.
     
  17. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    Sorry, just installing this data in the NVRAM does not activate any (U)EFI motherboard, my best guess is that the BIOS scrapes the
    data from the NVRAM and constructs a SLIC and then inserts it into the ACPI tables only if the BIOS has the code to do it.
     
  18. crappy44

    crappy44 MDL Novice

    Apr 22, 2011
    37
    10
    0
    #19 crappy44, Oct 23, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    You need to install the right product key and cert in windows. Then it activates :biggrin:

    hmm, found another entry
    Code:
    Variable NV+RT+BS '41282EF2-9B5A-4EB7-95D8-D9CD7BDCE367:SLP20Magic' DataSize = 4
      00000000: 01 00 00 00                                      *....*
    
    Maybe we should remove the Intel mobo check from o2a and see if it works better that way. PM me if you wanna try.
     
  19. nononsence

    nononsence MDL Addicted

    Aug 18, 2009
    809
    802
    30
    #20 nononsence, Oct 23, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I inserted the data you supplied then did a clean install of windows the installed the key for the edition of Windows I installed
    and an Alienware certificate, it did not activate.
    I verified that the data was indeed in the NVRAM so there is more to it.