WinToGo - Misc issues

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by thals1992, Jul 16, 2013.

1. thals1992

thals1992 MDL Novice

May 28, 2011
    I haven't been able to find answers for these anywhere, so I'd thought I could ask here anyways.

My portable hard drive used to never have this issue, but when I had used the WindowsToGo standard deploy tool, none of my partitions are given drive letters automatically. This even happens on computers I've never used before. Its become a pain as not all of the machines I use it on have administrator access to add them back.

Also, I'm not sure if its a general Win8 issue, but I have a folder on the root of the usb and the permissions are reset on the folder every time I reboot WinToGo. I have the owner set to the generic users group (it still stays the same), but in the rights the users group are removed.

Anyone have experience with these issues as well?

2. pisthai

pisthai Imperfect Human

Jul 29, 2009
    That's normal behaviour of Win2Go.

As you setup the Win2Go drive and install the OS, the bootable OS will create that as Drive "C" and if you try to access that drive from within an running Windows 8, you could not see the Drive because it's "C" Drive come in conflict with your normal Windows which also uses Drive "C"! You need to use the Disk Management Tool for to give that Win2Go drive a different and free drive letter. Nothing wrong with it an understandable.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. NiFu

NiFu MDL Member

Jun 29, 2013
    I think this may not be the real reason. I have a PC with 4 partitions and DVD. All partitions have drive letters (C:, D:, E:, F: and G: = DVD). But not only drive letter C: is invisible in Windows 8 To Go - also D:, E: and F:.

So I think it's more a group policy that's refuses the assignment of drive letters to all local dives.

4. pisthai

pisthai Imperfect Human

Jul 29, 2009
    That's also normal!