x86 laptop w/sata hard disk for ssd upgrading - advice

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by frac82, Oct 18, 2016.

  1. frac82

    frac82 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2012
    59
    0
    0
    good morning, as in object: some laptop/notebook with x86 (32 bit architecture) and sata hdd for ssd upgrading (brand & model)?
    better if intel cpu (celerno m, core solo or duo), 15" or higher display size.
    thanx
     
  2. frac82

    frac82 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2012
    59
    0
    0
    #3 frac82, Oct 18, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2016
    (OP)
    thanx but I didn't mean cpu/hdd brand/model; I meant the laptop.
    i.e.: can somebody tell me which is a laptop that has both x86 (32 bit) cpu and sata hard drive?
    it's because I own several music plugins that work fine only under Windows XP at 32 bit...
     
  3. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,447
    18,516
    340
    One basic answer, x86 windows can be installed on both, x64 and x86 systems (But x64 windows can't be installed on x86 systems).
     
  4. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    get a Lenovo T520 cheap and put a 500gb ssd for under 280$ total
     
  5. frac82

    frac82 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2012
    59
    0
    0
    it seems to be 64 bit, am I wrong?
     
  6. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    What's the problem in a 64 bit cpu?

    Just use a 32bit os if you need it.

    Anyway the suggested T520 is good but I would suggest a T500, cheap nowadays and it still comes with a 16/10 display.

    For an even cheaper choice you can a Dell 6500 (more or less the same as the T500), or the newer T6510, which comes with newer CPUs but still retains a good 16/10 display.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. frac82

    frac82 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2012
    59
    0
    0
    the problem's in the hardware configuration... I'm not so sure that they're really the same thing...
    my question is simpler: does anybody know a 32 bit laptop with sata hard drive?
     
  8. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120
    The question is simple are you facing a real problem or not?

    I own 64bit machines since the day the first Athlon 64 was released no matter the OS or the program installed (and there wasn't any available 64bit OS at the time except some experimental Linux).

    Anyway likely you will find just some cheap netbooks with SATA on 32bit CPU, given SATA became mainstream years after the 64Bit CPUs
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. frac82

    frac82 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2012
    59
    0
    0
    so you're telling that if I install 32 OS on a 64 bit machine my old apps will always "see" a x86 architecture?
    anyway I was able to find out something more: laptops that have "latest" x86 cpus are Dell XPS M1710, HP 530, HP Compaq nw8440, HP Compaq nw9440 and Toshiba Satellite P100-232.
    now all that's left is to understand if one of these or more have also a SATA interface for the hard drive.
     
  10. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    Obviously. Don't you think that amd in the late 90s asked itself the same question?

    The only limitation of x64 CPUs is that, if running a 64 bit OS, they can't switch to the 16 bit mode.

    So on x64 CPUs you can run at the same time 16 and 32 bit programs, if the OS is 32 bit

    or


    64 and 32 bit programs if the OS is a 64 bit version (anyway you can workaround this limit via a virtual machine or an emulator like DosBOX)


    In short you are forced to use a 32 bit Operating System, only if some of your peripherals lacks a 64bit driver.


    You're forced to use a 32bit CPU, never (AFAIK)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    i just installed 32 bit win 7 on T520 last week for some old program.

    forget old s**t core duo junk.
     
  12. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    Latest coreduos are globally surely better than first generations of I something
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,447
    18,516
    340
    Problem with current x86 only laptops is they are probably clamshell, not easy to replace anything without breaking the warranty.
     
  14. frac82

    frac82 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2012
    59
    0
    0
    as I'm installing an x86 OS I won't be able to exploit more than 4GB of ram memory, right?
     
  15. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120
    Practically you will see around 3.1/3.4 of free memory, (not counting the one taken by an integrated VGA).

    Anyway many ramdisks allows to use the memory above 4GB even using x32 OSes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. frac82

    frac82 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2012
    59
    0
    0
    thanks a lot everybody! advice: in my area I found these second-hand laptops


    • HP DV6 3107SL
    • Acer Aspire 5920g
    • Acer TravelMate 2420
    • Toshiba Satellite A100-130
    • Acer Travel Mate 6292
    • Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Pi1505
    which one, in your opinion, would be better for my purposes?