xp mode on windows 7 home pre

Discussion in 'Virtualization' started by dsbig, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. dsbig

    dsbig MDL Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    245
    16
    10
    has anybody gotten xp mode to work on home premium?
     
  2. gunny2k9

    gunny2k9 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    51
    0
    0
    yes its called vmware workstation 7 ;)
     
  3. dsbig

    dsbig MDL Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    245
    16
    10
    Im trying to use the xp image from microsoft. I cant get vmware to install it with the key they provide
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,046
    300
    That is because it is OEM slp version of windows xp pro it uses MS virtual machine oembios files you would need Windows_Virtual_XP_F9161D8E7FCC11DDBFAA369856D89593 slp 1.0 string added to vmware bios. you would be easier downloading MS virtual PC 2007 sp1 or windows 7 Virtual PC from MS.
     
  5. dsbig

    dsbig MDL Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    245
    16
    10
    I can not get it to work though, because I have windows 7 home premium and the setup for the xp mode wont run, gives error saying I need professional and up for it.
     
  6. gunny2k9

    gunny2k9 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    51
    0
    0
    why dont u make ur own install as nothing special in the MS image just plain XP SP3
     
  7. mickyjim

    mickyjim MDL Novice

    Aug 18, 2009
    33
    4
    0
    xp mode

    as the wise old owl said RTFM
     
  8. dsbig

    dsbig MDL Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    245
    16
    10
    because the key I have for my xp is almost 7 years old and doesn't work anymore and I was looking for a somewhat legal way.stupid Microsoft.The key was use on and old Compaq computer that got thrown away last year.but wont work on anything else

    but it looks like Im going to have to use the antiwpa thing i found, seem to work. but I want your guys thoughts about it.

    the program hooks a file called antiwpa.dll and causing the system to bypass activation. it seems to work but I didn't test it out for a long time, is there any other program or should I use this one?
     
  9. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,833
    1,748
    180
    #10 sebus, Nov 3, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
  10. cantthinkof1

    cantthinkof1 MDL Novice

    Nov 16, 2009
    5
    0
    0
    #11 cantthinkof1, Nov 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    Microsofts Virtual PC will only run on PC's that have a BIOS that supports Virtualisation at the BIOS level and also the processors have to support it as well. I thought I was onto a great thing and downloaded VPC to discover that mt brand new laptop with a dual core centrino processor doesnt support virtualisation? In the words of Ebeneezer Scrooge: Bahhh Humbug:mad:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,833
    1,748
    180
    Not true, Virtual PC 2007 will run on anything
    This is what I run on my dual Atom

    sebus
     
  12. Deichvirus

    Deichvirus MDL Novice

    Sep 26, 2009
    6
    0
    0
    Just use VMLite XP Mode for everyone just go to vmlite.com download the Program and have fun :)
     
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,046
    300
    Microsofts Windows Virtual PC , different baby from MS virtual PC2007. Windows Virtual PC won't run on on PC's that don't have a BIOS that supports Virtualisation.
     
  14. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,833
    1,748
    180
    Yes, you are right, I never ever said otherwise (Use VPC 2007 RTM)

    sebus