XP OEMBIOS Mod Question

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by Chainsore, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. Chainsore

    Chainsore MDL Novice

    May 19, 2007
    25
    0
    0
    #1 Chainsore, Jul 23, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    If I have a BIOS modded for XP activation (ASUS) as it says here http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/107

    Do I need an XP OEM install CD from ASUS or can I use any XP CD and just use the OEM keys?
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,046
    300
    #2 urie, Aug 16, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  3. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,969
    10,542
    340
    #3 Yen, Aug 22, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2007
    What about XP prof. VLK (corp edition 32 bit)?

    Do you have to replace PIDGEN.DLL, Setupreg.hiv and SETUPP.INI as well?

    Can somebody upload those three files from a xp professional (ASUS) OEM, please?


    Together with the four oem.bin /.dat /.cat/.sig this are seven corp-files!!

    Edit: If you want to cange VLK to OEM you have to edit / replace SETUPP.INI. VLK ends with PID 270, OEM with OEM and retail with 335!!
    I don't know if you have to replace PIDGEN.DLL and setupreg.hiv

    Yen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Chainsore

    Chainsore MDL Novice

    May 19, 2007
    25
    0
    0
  5. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,046
    300
    #6 urie, Aug 29, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Code:
    [Pid]
    ExtraData=786F687170637175716954806365EF
    Pid=76487OEM
    Is for XP Home OEM

    Code:
    [Pid]
    ExtraData=786F687170637175716954806365EF
    Pid=55274OEM
    Is for XP Pro OEM
     
  6. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,969
    10,542
    340
    Hi,
    thanks a lot for reply. It has to be possible to use VLK since you can make a VLK using a retail version. Therefore you have to copy the "corp.-files" into a retail version.

    Conclusion: You need the original retail files again to redo, which are:

    DPCDLL.DL_
    OEMBIOS.BI_
    OEMBIOS.CA_
    OEMBIOS.DA_
    OEMBIOS.SI_
    PIDGEN.DLL
    SETUPP.INI
    SETUPREG.HIV

    Please can someone upload them from a xp-SP2 pro retail or even a Asus oem. (Except the oembios files, which you may replace by yourself.)

    So you need additionally
    DPCDLL.DL_
    PIDGEN.DLL
    SETUPREG.HIV


    Thanks

    Yen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Chainsore

    Chainsore MDL Novice

    May 19, 2007
    25
    0
    0
    #8 Chainsore, Aug 30, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Code:
    [Pid]
    ExtraData=786F687170637175716954806365EF
    Pid=55274OEM
    Is for XP Pro OEM[/QUOTE]

    Fixed :)

    Yen. I'll upload the files you want and post a link later. However I think your better off finding and retail XP Pro disk on the internet so you don't have to mess around with replacing files.
     
  8. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,969
    10,542
    340
    Yes, you are right. Using a retail version is the better way. But it's just to figure it out if it will work using a VLK or not....

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,046
    300
    #10 urie, Aug 30, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2007
    Yen , believe it or not you can actually make vlk version of XP home by just replaysing the OEM files will get back to you once i check out if PID number had to be chanded if SETUPP.INI, edit

    PID number from xp home vlk

     
  10. crpngdth2001

    crpngdth2001 MDL Novice

    Sep 12, 2007
    23
    0
    0
    #12 crpngdth2001, Oct 6, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Is it different for XP Pro x64 OEM? If so, could you post that info?

    Thanks.
     
  11. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,046
    300
    #13 urie, Oct 7, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  12. crpngdth2001

    crpngdth2001 MDL Novice

    Sep 12, 2007
    23
    0
    0
  13. Vercetti

    Vercetti MDL Junior Member

    Mar 21, 2008
    67
    1
    0
    I was makin an OEM CD for ACER

    supposed i have AcerSystem, but this procedure is for all brands or just HP?

    beacause i can't continue if extradata and pid must be from ACER oem cd?

    so what can I do to continue installation?
     
  14. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,046
    300
    #16 urie, Mar 23, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    no it will work for other brands link for OEM bios files allready posted on this thread
    Code:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/8094
     
  15. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,969
    10,542
    340
    #17 Yen, Apr 23, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2008
    The final steps to make a clean OEM_SLP1.0 installation (without any OEM spam **** or trial licenses junk) from a VOLUME LICENSE!


    There are a lot of rumors and false instructions.

    Create the SETUPP.INI as described.
    Create the WINNT.SIF for a unattended install as described. (If you want to use it)
    NO NEED OF OOBEINFO.INI leave it untouched.

    Get the
    OEMBIOS.BIN
    OEMBIOS.DAT
    OEMBIOS.SIG

    from your OEM installation and compress them as described, or use them right from your OEM_CD!

    LEAVE THE OEMBIOS.CA_ UNTOUCHED!! I have to thank xfilz for that info. :)

    Get the:
    DPCDLL.DL_
    PIDGEN.DLL

    from your OEM installation and replace all 5 of them.
    Replace the SETUPP.INI as well , add the WINNT.SIF if needed.

    Done!

    All other instructions are useless or too much!

    Use only valid licenses.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. genetix

    genetix MDL Novice

    Sep 21, 2007
    27
    0
    0
    #18 genetix, Apr 25, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2008
    Are the following two files available in SP2, or do I have to source a download link? If so, does anyone have these files available?

    DPCDLL.DL_
    PIDGEN.DLL

    ------------------------------

    Kind of answered my own question. You can find these files in SP2

    Rename IPSELPID.DLL to PIDGEN.DLL and IPSELDPC.DL_ to DPCDLL.DL_
     
  17. cigolo_

    cigolo_ MDL Novice

    Sep 26, 2007
    29
    1
    0
    And if somebody lost his oem cd or oem installation? Where could find this files for asus oem?

    Thanks
     
  18. genetix

    genetix MDL Novice

    Sep 21, 2007
    27
    0
    0
    If you use MAKECAB in Vista, is it the same as using the command in XP?