Activate Server 2008 R2 using Modded BIOS

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by MrChris, Mar 27, 2009.

  1. MrChris

    MrChris MDL Senior Member

    Jun 23, 2007
    455
    92
    10
    I have a Gigabyte Mobo with a modded bios and currently have Server 2008 Standard Edition installed and working fine using BIOS MOD SLIC Activation.

    My Question is can I use the same key and cert from my standard edition install to install a fresh server 2008 r2?

    Will it still be bound to a time bomb since 2008 R2 is still bound?

    MrChris
     
  2. XcopyBR

    XcopyBR MDL Member

    Apr 25, 2008
    176
    2
    10
    I guess it will probably work just fine but we will have to wait and see
     
  3. MrChris

    MrChris MDL Senior Member

    Jun 23, 2007
    455
    92
    10
    Well I just downloeded it a few mins ago from ms.

    Il post back and let you all know what I come up with.....For those who care.

    MrChris
     
  4. MrChris

    MrChris MDL Senior Member

    Jun 23, 2007
    455
    92
    10
    Well I did an "upgrade" from 2008 Standard Edition to 2008 R2 Standard Edition and now I have 3 days left for activation. DOH.

    I tried to install the same key as used in 2008 standard edition but didnt work. Key wouldnt install.

    I even tried the keys from the microsoft 2008 r2 download site and they wouldnt activat either.

    Can anyone else confirm my results?

    Thanks,

    MrChris
     
  5. offon7544

    offon7544 MDL Expert

    Sep 27, 2007
    1,018
    8
    60
    Did you try Dell & HP keys ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. MrChris

    MrChris MDL Senior Member

    Jun 23, 2007
    455
    92
    10
  7. troels

    troels MDL Member

    May 20, 2007
    169
    30
    10
    Someone wrote that he could activate with a key from the Microsoft site only after joining a domain. I haven't tried that.

    So you will have to use rearm - good enough to take you to the timebomb date, as you can rearm at least three times.
     
  8. offon7544

    offon7544 MDL Expert

    Sep 27, 2007
    1,018
    8
    60
    #8 offon7544, Mar 27, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. HSChronic

    HSChronic MDL Expert

    Aug 25, 2007
    1,213
    57
    60
    Server 2008 R2 takes different keys than Server 2008. None of the Server 2008 keys will work. Right now you can't even activate the beta using the keys MS put on their site. What you will have to do is use the slmgr.vbs -rearm command to reset your grace period once it gets low. Once the RC builds come out hopefully the beta keys MS provided will activate it.
     
  10. colinzim

    colinzim MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2007
    438
    90
    10
    #10 colinzim, Mar 27, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2009
    Server 2008 R2 Activation : Call MS

    Re Server 2008 R2 Activation

    - Disable internet connection.
    - Use the Server 2008 R2 Public Beta Key and select activate by telephone
    - Call Microsoft for your activation and save your confirmation id numbers for later use.

    They will ask 3 questions.

    1. Did this software come bundled with your computer ? No
    2. Is this software installed on any other computer ? No
    3. Is this the first time activating this software ? Yes

    They might ask first what OS you want to activate.
    I've done this MANY times with success.
     
  11. HSChronic

    HSChronic MDL Expert

    Aug 25, 2007
    1,213
    57
    60
    calling MS Doesn't work. There is something wrong with the Server 2008 R2 Activation scheme right now. NOBODY can activate it. That is why I am looking for a new build, because the newer builds are able to be activated using the beta keys posted on Microsoft's site.
     
  12. colinzim

    colinzim MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2007
    438
    90
    10
    I stand corrected.
    This must be new !
    Thanks for the info