Adding Compaq SLP 1.0 to 2.1 Modded Bios

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by don240, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. don240

    don240 MDL Novice

    Jul 19, 2009
    45
    7
    0
    I have a Compaq PC with an Award bios, I have modified the bios to SLIC 2.1 to install W7 (Dell SLIC + Dell Cert + MDL Award bios tool) & on boot the bios no longer shows Compaq, it now shows HP, with a totally diffrent bios screen.
    W7 only works in basic colour scheme due to the low spec of the machine so I may re-install Windows XP.
    I am not able to flash the old bios as it no longer accepts that it is an Award bios when I try to flash.
    Ny question is will it still accept an SLP key as it is now SLIC 2.1? if not which key would I have to use? as I no longer have the COA sticker since I stupidly took it off after installing W7.
     
  2. Suicide Solution

    Suicide Solution MDL Addicted

    Apr 29, 2008
    534
    1,910
    30
    #2 Suicide Solution, Oct 7, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Depending on who modded the bios, XP SLP 1.0 string may have been added.

    I feel a matching SLP 1.0 should always be added to a modded bios no matter if the user requests them or not, if anything to save time of having to re-mod an already modded bios, and for others who may use it and need 1.0 support, but that is my opinion.

    Should be able to add the string using a dos boot tattoo disk, check out the sticky thread for details.

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/6351
     
  3. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    492
    180
    #3 911medic, Oct 7, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    agreed..MSI can be a hassle, the rest should be automatic..The newer modders just use the tools and really have no idea what they are changing..:cool::eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. colinzim

    colinzim MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2007
    439
    90
    10
    It's time for a CONFIRMED bios mod section. Anyone can run a tool and hit "post". It's the poor newbie that dl's and gets a bricked board.
     
  5. don240

    don240 MDL Novice

    Jul 19, 2009
    45
    7
    0
    #5 don240, Oct 7, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    That will be me then.
    I forgot to mention that I self modded the bios using the latest Award bios tool in automatic mode.(v1.24 from this thread)

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/5385

    Where do i find the OEMBIOS files please?
     
  6. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    492
    180
    #6 911medic, Oct 7, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stickies..oembios files are there..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...