Advice on choice of career needed

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by pirategeek, May 25, 2013.

1. pirategeek

pirategeek MDL Novice

Apr 14, 2013
    Hello everyone. I am a 17 year old kid from Tamilnadu,India. I dunno whether I am going to get any answers at all, but I believe that I have a slim chance that someone will take me seriously and give me some good advice.

In our country, we have a 10+2 education system for schooling and there are different boards of educations. I studied under my state board , somewhat inferior to the central government's board. I have successfully completed +2 with a score of 1163/1200. In my state there are lots of engineering colleges, both private and government run. Fees-wise, government colleges are the best but few of them have exceptional facility and faculty like the ones you can expect in top-notch private colleges. Here the no. of students aspiring for engineering is insanely high. So the government has devised a system based on cut=off marks.
    Based on whteher you choose engineering or medicine, the cut off is calculated as follows:
    Engineering:
    Step 1: The marks scored in Mathematics (the subject for which maximum mark is 200) should be divided by 2. For example if a candidate scores 195 marks in Maths then his / her cut-off mark of this subject will be 97.5 (ie. 195/2)Step 2: The marks scored in Chemistry and Physics are to be divided by 4. For example if a candidate scores 190 and 195 marks in Physics and Chemistry respectively then his / her cut-off marks in these subjects will be 47.5 and 48.75 respectively (ie. 190/4 and 195/4)Step 3: Now add the above calculated cut-off marks in Mathematics, Physics and chemistry. This would give a final cut-off mark for a student which is also called as Marks scored in prescribed subjects reduced to 200. For example the final cut-off mark from subject wise cut-off marks calculated in step 1 and 2 will be 193.75 (97.5+47.5+48.75)
    In case of medicine: