AMD Drivers. 7 or 10?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Katsuo65, Jan 22, 2019.

  1. Intmd

    Intmd MDL Novice

    Nov 18, 2016
    46
    41
    0
    Yeah, what you did should be correct
    Surprised that it didn't work for you, so there's nothing essential that i could think of. Just to make sure, you have run the setup with the Windows 7 compatibility mode?
     
  2. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 13, 2015
    340
    59
    10
    No, never used 7 compatibility mode because the installation never produced any errors. But worth a try...thanks for the help :)
     
  3. Intmd

    Intmd MDL Novice

    Nov 18, 2016
    46
    41
    0
    Good luck for you. Make sure you uninstall the driver normally and then clean the leftovers in Safe Mode by DDU first. Would be nice if you have tested the lastest drivers (19.4.3; unless you have a valid reason to test older drivers than that).
     
  4. blah09

    blah09 MDL Novice

    May 14, 2017
    1
    0
    0
    The latest Windows 7 driver can't be installed with the setup.exe anymore, I tried upgrading the display adapter via Device Manager and it says I'm still on the 19.12.1 driver but in AMD Control Panel it has the old UI and it says I'm on 19.12.2. Tried Dead or Alive 6 which is the most graphically intensive game I have in my Steam library and it won't boot but other old DX9 games work fine. No idea what to look for when hex editing the .exe if that can bypass the OS restriction.
     
  5. jogamer01

    jogamer01 MDL Novice

    Jun 2, 2018
    3
    0
    0
    Doing that worked as well, thanks! The Dead or Alive 6 issue is apparently a problem with the new drivers in general so I guess I didn't mess up. The new UI is terrible IMO, so I guess I'll DDU, install 19.12.1 and update the display driver to 19.12.2 via device manager so I have the better UI.
     
  6. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 13, 2015
    340
    59
    10
    Can you please guide me on how can I do this, if possible ?. Which folder do I need to select from Device manager to install the driver ? and I don't want to do the other step, will it still work ? Thank you for the report and the help.
     
  7. the_soft45

    the_soft45 MDL Member

    Mar 28, 2016
    194
    109
    10
    The Vulkan Runtime Libraries I linked come from the source, that is LunarG, one of the members of the Khronos Group responsible for Vulkan development, so there's no need to worry on that.
    These instructions apply to the latest versions of the driver, 19.12.2, but they technically work with all versions. The difference being you could install earlier versions through the setup without resorting to Device Manager.
    BTW, the AMD HDMI drivers are a separate inf file and they don't normally install on 8.1. You can either mod the inf or just get the older version compatible with 8.1 (17.7.1, I think).
    The HDMI inf is located at: <extracted drivers folder>\Packages\Drivers\Audio\HDMI\W76A
     
  8. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 13, 2015
    340
    59
    10
    Yes, I'm on 17.7.1 and it's working the way it's intended to. I have a discreet AMD GPU with 1080p display so I don't think I need HDMI driver. For the rest all credit goes to you. I'll get the latest version on the next fresh install of Windows.

    Thanks for the support. Highly appreciated.
     
  9. vidkid

    vidkid MDL Novice

    Jun 4, 2016
    1
    0
    0
    Running Win 8.1 WMC, installing Oculus Desktop it checked my system and said the last win 8.1 driver released by AMD, version 17.7.1, was out of date and could be updated for 17.11.2. Sure enough, installing the Win7 x64 version of 17.11.2 went without issue and LOWERED the temps of a R9 Nano and RX480 by > 15 degrees Celsius when using WMC to watch a cable card stream.

    High GPU temps were also present in 15.11.1, the last version of AMD Catalyst that offered a better level of adjustments to video stream processing / enhancements.
     
  10. erpsterm35

    erpsterm35 MDL Addicted

    May 27, 2013
    868
    424
    30
    seems like AMD added the Win7 only restriction to their display drivers starting with v19.12.2 WHQL. I did not have this problem with v19.10.1 WHQL where I can install that one using setup.exe on a Win8.1 laptop that uses AMD A6-5200 APU / Radeon HD 8400 hardware
     
  11. the_soft45

    the_soft45 MDL Member

    Mar 28, 2016
    194
    109
    10
    Don't use setup. Install the drivers through Device Manager then install the Radeon Software manually (by going into the driver file directory - Packages\Drivers\Display\W76A_INF\B353014 and running ccc2_install.exe)
     
  12. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 13, 2015
    340
    59
    10
    Didn't work for me. Tried with version 18.12.3. The situation after updating from device manager is exactly how it was when installing the entire package from setup.exe Device manager reports the device is working fine. No errors anywhere but still no GPU dependent application would use it. Usage sits at 0%
     
  13. the_soft45

    the_soft45 MDL Member

    Mar 28, 2016
    194
    109
    10
    Did you run ccc2_install.exe after installing the drivers through Device Manager? That executable is the Radeon Relive (and Vulkan) setup. Last time I tried it (last December) it worked great.
     
  14. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 13, 2015
    340
    59
    10
    Yes I did. ccc2_install.exe installed AMD settings but I couldn't find any Vulcan runtime libraries in the list of installed programs so I grabbed the runtime from the site you linked. Installed it, still nothing under the list of installed programs and GPU stays dormant.

    Apparently I have to stick to 17.7.1 the last version for 8.1

    Thank you for the reaction though.
     
  15. the_soft45

    the_soft45 MDL Member

    Mar 28, 2016
    194
    109
    10
    The Vulkan Runtime doesn't appear in the list because AMD uses a custom release that they just bundle with AMD Adrenaline. As for the GPU staying dormant, are you using a laptop hybrid solution? I remember every game I tried working just fine when I used 19.12.3.
     
  16. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 13, 2015
    340
    59
    10
    What's laptop Hybrid solution ? Don't know nothing about it. I didn't change anything in the Windows configuration or the 3rd party apps that use the GPU. The older version for 8.1 worked under these same settings.

    Vulkan runtime libraries did appear in my list of installed programs. Not sure if installed by Intel graphic driver but they did. I used DDU to uninstall the AMD driver maybe it removed them too.
     
  17. Brainsuck

    Brainsuck MDL Addicted

    Oct 9, 2009
    668
    156
    30
    Radeon™ Pro Software for Enterprise for win 7 install for my RX 580 on 8.1 download install

    Revision Number
    20.Q1.1
    File Size
    624 MB
    Release Date
    2/21/2020
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...