AMI bios option ROM modding [old title: Intel ICH9R 7.6.0.1011 rom]

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Maf, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. gpvecchi

    gpvecchi MDL Junior Member

    Apr 21, 2008
    63
    0
    0
  2. EthosX

    EthosX MDL Junior Member

    Aug 15, 2012
    79
    2
    0
    There is already released 11.xxxx version..for windows..
    You do not need to change ROM at the begining of post..
    Thing is you can have even old version of ROM, that os only apliccapable when u want create RAID.
    It has nothing to do with TRIM.. When u boot into windows all I/O devices is under windows ..BIOS passes all work to OS, so when u install matrix storage manager 11.x it will manage trim in raid .. the rom at begining is completely inactive while u in windows .. that is why intel made that matrix storage manager soft for win.
     
  3. gpvecchi

    gpvecchi MDL Junior Member

    Apr 21, 2008
    63
    0
    0
    Nope. Intel drivers make call to OROM... Otherwise this thread would be useless...
     
  4. EthosX

    EthosX MDL Junior Member

    Aug 15, 2012
    79
    2
    0
    You cannot put this thread with your laptop together all this here is just theory and some experiments which shouldnt be.. If intel releasing new software which will support trim in RAID they would release Option ROM update utility.. But instead of that they did make but windows soft ..
    What I think option rom is just for creating RAID and setting strip but if u update it it will be still same..
    Yeah people likw higher numbers and think that is the best but there are moments when older driver is better than newer ..
     
  5. draken

    draken MDL Junior Member

    Nov 21, 2008
    85
    27
    0
    This is a complete lie and the OROM doesn't affect the way the driver works.

    I've proved my theory.

    - Change Intel SATA mode to AHCI.

    - Install Windows on a standalone drive (HDD or SSD).

    - Install the latest IRST driver, reboot.

    - Change Intel SATA mode to RAID.

    - Build a RAID array and format it.

    - Reinstall IRST to make sure that Windows will use the latest version for the RAID controller, reboot.

    - Change Intel SATA mode to AHCI, reboot and re-enter BIOS to change first boot device to the standalone HDD/SSD where you've installed Windows.

    Now the IRST driver will detect the RAID array parameters and make the RAID available within Windows.

    Obviously to boot from the RAID array, the RAID OROM must be loaded to properly initialize the INT13 extensions.
     
  6. Fernando 1

    Fernando 1 MDL Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    242
    88
    10
    That is nonsense. None of the chipset manufacturers ever has released an Option ROM update utility. They send the new Option ROM to the mainboard manufacturers and it is up to them, if or when they put it into the BIOS of the related boards.
    If the RAID ROM version would not matter, why do you think, that the chipset manufacturers are still developing new ones and write into their Release Notes for brandnew AHCI/RAID drivers, that an updated OROM version is required to get benefit of the new driver features?
    If you think, that the use of actual drivers, firmware and PCI ROM modules is absolutely useless, why do join and post into this thread?


    If the OROM version doesn't affect the way the related driver works, please explain, why the TRIM command is active within an Intel Z77 chipset SSD RAID array by using an Intel RST driver and RAID ROM version 11.x.x.xxxx, but doesn't work, if either the driver or the OROM has a lower version?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. EthosX

    EthosX MDL Junior Member

    Aug 15, 2012
    79
    2
    0
    1.I DIDNT say that any manuf released update utility - Read it AGAIN !
    2.Yeah they release it cos they must ask them for change log and there will be no change .. minor bugs ..
    3.Come oon man you starting be upsetting .. ( why do join and post into this thread?)
    I have join to unlock things in BIOS and experiment with south bridge and replacing reflowing on motherboard ..
    And I WILL try to update Option ROM to SEE if any changes WILL happen!
     
  8. szjon

    szjon MDL Novice

    Oct 19, 2012
    1
    0
    0
    Hello.
    Wondering if you guys can help. I have an old vostro 400 that I got for free, I am using it as a htpc and went to put a cheap vertex 2 ssd in it as a boot drive. The bios has only raid and ide so I have to select raid to activate achi. It is using ICH9R ROM V7.5.0.1017. I get no cold boot and it is a real faff.
    I have read that version 'Intel RST 10.1.0.1008 option rom' will work but have no idea how to go about this. I have the 'latest' 1.0.15 bios. Can anyone point me to some resources for this, to be honest my eyes are rolling with the stuff I've had to learn the last few days.

    Willing to learn more but the wife thinks I'm watching porn, been up all night the last few nights trying to resolve this.

    Thanks in advance for any assistance and apologies if I have posted in the wrong place, this site is something else. I have a lot to learn!!
     
  9. gpvecchi

    gpvecchi MDL Junior Member

    Apr 21, 2008
    63
    0
    0
    I'd like to replace the boot image in my bios, does it have a paricular resolution or may I use anyone?
     
  10. ~Judge

    ~Judge MDL Novice

    Oct 23, 2012
    1
    0
    0
    Alright guys so I've run into a new issue and registered here to post this. I just recently purchased an Asmedia 106x based PCI-E add in card made by Vantec and it's working great but I have an issue with it's option ROM prompt causing me to be unable to access the option ROM for my Intel based onboard RAID. I think I need to mod my SATA card to disable it's option ROM, how would I go about doing that? I've read a bit about using a hex editor to do it but I have no idea where to start.
     
  11. Fernando 1

    Fernando 1 MDL Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    242
    88
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. btseek

    btseek MDL Novice

    Apr 21, 2008
    16
    2
    0
    Hi genuineintel,
    would please send me a copy of your Custom DELL SLIC BIOS for Asus P5Q Deluxe 2301, ROMs including:
    1. Marvell_88se61xx 1.1.0.L73
    2. Intel Rapid Storage Technology Option ROM v10.1.0.1008
    3. Memory Sizing EBB, taken from P5Q Premium latest BIOS 2406
    4. EZ FLASH 2 v3.46

    Thank you!
     
  13. genuineintel

    genuineintel MDL Member

    Apr 28, 2009
    231
    26
    10
  14. btseek

    btseek MDL Novice

    Apr 21, 2008
    16
    2
    0
    genuineintel, thank you very much! wish you have a nice day!
     
  15. CopyCat

    CopyCat MDL Novice

    Nov 3, 2012
    1
    0
    0
    Hello. I have an Asus P7P55D-E PRO motherboard (asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1156/P7P55DE_PRO/#specifications). I've encountered the following problems:
    1. The board uses a JMicron JMB363 storage controller; I use it because one of my hard drives IDE PATA. There are two problems associated with this controller: After turning on the computer, everything is OK; however, if I put it in sleep mode, upon resuming the hard drive that is attached to this controller disappears (from Device Manager, My Computer etc.). The only uncomfortable solution seems to be to remove the JMB363 controller from Device Manager and installing it again; then the hard drive reappears. Also, the drive works in UDMA mode 2 instead of UDMA mode 5. I'm using the same IDE cable as with my old motherboard; it worked OK there.
    2. The board uses a Marvell 9123 SATA 6G Controller, however, I'm not satisfied with the performance - i.e., my SSD is capable of 520 MB/s sequential reads, but I only get about 320 MB/s.

    So, my question is: would updating the ROMs of these two controllers improve my mobo's performance and get rid of the above mentioned problems?

    Here are some links:

    JMB363: station-drivers.com/page/jmicron.htm

    Marvell: station-drivers.com/page/marvell.htm

    Thanks.