Asus f8vr

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by night.fox, Sep 22, 2009.

  1. night.fox

    night.fox MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2009
    121
    10
    10
    Good day gurus:

    I have a question.
    I have modded my bios using andy's AMItool. thanks to andy by the way.
    The way I understand, if i have modded bios and flash with it, it should
    activate already. But it appears it did not. Using Dell certificate and key.

    However, i have used 7Loader by Daz, thanks Daz and Wah La! it activates.
    again using Dell certificate and Key.

    As we all know, ASUS have no bios update yet for SLIC 2.1.

    the question is, should I expect any problem in the future? If ASUS will release
    a new bios update for SLIC 2.1, should i flash again my bios?

    pardon my english and ignorance about it.

    Specs of my laptop and OS

    ASUS F8VR
    Windows 7 Ultimate RTM x64

    many thanks
     
  2. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #2 NoJuan999, Sep 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    Did you try this:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/11973417

    Many ASUS notebooks won't flash properly unless done with AFLASH2 using the directions in that thread.

    You will need to uninstall that loader first so you can tell if this Flash actually works.
    After flashing use R/W everything to check for SLIC 2.1 in BIOS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. night.fox

    night.fox MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2009
    121
    10
    10
    Thanks mate.

    Actually, I flashed my bios from the Bios setup cause it has this laptop
    has built in flashing utility inside bios setup.

    The way i read on the net, I should have SLIC 1.2 already. I have
    just uninstall the loader i used and went back again to trial version.

    anyway, here's a copy of my SLIC table extract from R/W utility.

    Could you please check what i have done wrong?

    Thanks



    Software Licensing Description Table: 0x000FF200

    53 4C 49 43 76 01 00 00 01 52 44 45 4C 4C 20 20SLICv....RDELL
    51 41 30 39 20 20 20 00 31 2E 30 42 4E 56 44 41QA09 .1.0BNVDA
    0E 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 9C 00 00 00 06 02 00 00................
    00 24 00 00 52 53 41 31 00 04 00 00 01 00 01 00.$..RSA1........
    7F F6 C1 05 BE 5C 57 63 A5 8A 68 F3 6E 8F 06 FA.....\Wc..h.n...
    AF B4 9F 68 82 23 EC 50 40 5A 73 7F EC E4 07 CB...h.#.P@Zs.....
    DC 25 1A 9C E3 E3 66 11 E0 A5 98 06 C5 80 0A FA.%....f.........
    42 93 86 98 E7 D5 1B D4 D7 3A A4 0B EE E2 7D BEB........:....}.
    5F 5B 15 0C AB D0 21 DE BF E9 B5 6E A4 57 B9 8C_[....!....n.W..
    0C D2 BA 3A 69 30 76 94 71 A2 64 D7 4C D8 85 BF...:i0v.q.d.L...
    DF A5 6A C8 DC 45 D5 4D 8C B8 8C 05 2F FC 2E 23..j..E.M..../..#
    C4 29 C5 6F 3F 29 6C 6D 57 79 0E B6 75 ED 21 95.).o?)lmWy..u.!.
    01 00 00 00 B6 00 00 00 00 00 02 00 44 45 4C 4C............DELL
    20 20 51 41 30 39 20 20 20 00 57 49 4E 44 4F 57 QA09 .WINDOW
    53 20 01 00 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00S ..............
    00 00 00 00 00 00 33 B8 A7 56 40 AF 02 B9 42 A8......3..V@...B.
    07 7A D1 57 85 0F 88 E7 04 11 FB 35 34 14 60 B7.z.W.......54.`.
    78 82 53 7B 67 3B 40 3F 40 C1 01 84 CB 05 C5 30x.S{g;@?@......0
    7D 36 82 60 F1 24 2E 46 15 9F CE 5A 24 44 5F 7F}6.`.$.F...Z$D_.
    CF 5D B8 63 10 82 74 80 F7 7A F0 93 E2 21 2A AF.].c..t..z...!*.
    6A 00 E3 1E 1A 36 DC 1E BD 2B 11 08 35 CF 24 52j....6...+..5.$R
    22 D9 03 53 F2 6B 4B 13 EF 79 63 D9 5F A1 37 DA"..S.kK..yc._.7.
    61 87 6F DD C5 07 B4 3E 48 7D 61 48 49 FB 25 D3a.o....>H}aHI.%.
    FC 2E E4 44 EF 38 ...D.8
     
  4. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #4 NoJuan999, Sep 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    You do have Slic 2.1 in that BIOS.
    I would just make sure that you don't have any loader installed and then manually insert DELL.XRM-MS Certificate and Serial.
    Look at section 6 F here to see the commands for doing that:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/7126
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. night.fox

    night.fox MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2009
    121
    10
    10
    Thanks you again.

    Actually i did that already before... but i have done it again....

    manually inserted

    and using OPAtool...

    still no luck... still not activated :(:confused:
     
  6. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #6 NoJuan999, Sep 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. night.fox

    night.fox MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2009
    121
    10
    10
    @nojuan9999,

    i have done flashing using the utility AFLASH2 booted from USB and used
    modded bios using andy's AMITOOL.

    have booted to windows and check windows 7 still not activated. I used
    SLIC dump tool kit and found out that RXDT/SDT still not over written.

    what have i done wrong? :confused:
     
  8. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    I think you need to Request a Manual BIOS Mod.
    Just be sure to let the modders know that a BIOS modded with the AMI SLIC tool doen't work for your BIOS and that you are requesting that it be done Manually.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. night.fox

    night.fox MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2009
    121
    10
    10
    Thanks NoJuan.

    I will post a request in the request forum
     
  10. ciger

    ciger MDL Junior Member

    Jan 13, 2009
    60
    1
    0
    #10 ciger, Sep 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    You are a Great man @NoJuan999. I flashed my N20A Asus notebook bios 5 times with afudos not work. I Flashed again with AFLASH 2 it work like a charm :)
    Thanks for your greatest support.
     
  11. night.fox

    night.fox MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2009
    121
    10
    10
    I finally made what i have done wrong :)

    when flashing I have used "\all" instead of "/all"

    now my 7 is activated.. problem though appearing in bios.. it
    say's "no tpm detected"

    else it's working ok. Thanks to Nojuan for the support
     
  12. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    Trusted platform module may not be present in the machine. Either flash earlier version of the bios, if you upgraded (why we do not condone flashing just because it is newer). You may also have a place in the bios to disable the TPM.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. night.fox

    night.fox MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2009
    121
    10
    10
    TPM is present on the machine sir according to asus and also i have used it
    when vista is still installed. Bios i have modded is same as what is present on the machine. But I will try flashing to earlier version to see if TPM will be detected or not..
     
  14. spacednow

    spacednow MDL Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    229
    3
    10
    Ok, I'm still a newbie on this bios stuff, but from what I've read why would anyone want tpm, seems like it provides an excellent backdoor to computer disablement from MS or anyone that determines software or ? are copyright or DRM violations. I'm sure I must be missing some aspect of it. :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. HSChronic

    HSChronic MDL Expert

    Aug 25, 2007
    1,213
    57
    60
    a TPM is used for encryption purposes, it is built into the BIOS. It is not really designed to be used as a preventative for DRM or anything. Could it be? I don't know enough about the inner workings of TPMs to say yay or nay.
     
  16. spacednow

    spacednow MDL Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    229
    3
    10
    Well, donno either...from Wiki- if you trust it " The extent of the summary of the software is decided by the program encrypting the data. This allows a third party to verify that the software has not been changed. "Sealing" encrypts data in such a way that it may be decrypted only if the TPM releases the associated decryption key, which it only does for software that can provide the same password that was supplied when software "ownership" of the TPM was initially configured.[4] "Binding" encrypts data using the TPM endorsement key, a unique RSA key burned into the chip during its production, or another trusted key descended from it.

    A Trusted Platform Module can be used to authenticate hardware devices. Since each TPM chip has a unique and secret RSA key burned in as it is produced, it is capable of performing platform authentication. For example, it can be used to verify that a system seeking access is the expected system." and further down "Other uses

    Almost any encryption-enabled application can in theory make use of a TPM, including:

    * Digital Rights Management
    * Software license protection & enforcement
    * Password protection " Thats why I was wondering if there is anything good about it. Thanks for replying:)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Mustang Sally

    Mustang Sally MDL Junior Member

    May 9, 2007
    79
    0
    0
    i had the same message after updating my bios for my asus m50vm. Typical flash procedure, dos, load defaults. no tpm on my machine, this happens when you load bios defaults.

    there are 2 options in the bios load bios defaults and load user defaults, i forget which one of those cleared the error message. but one of those options worked for me.
     
  18. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    #19 911medic, Sep 24, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. night.fox

    night.fox MDL Member

    Sep 21, 2009
    121
    10
    10
    #20 night.fox, Sep 24, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    (OP)