Aunty Mel's Cheap And Nasty SxS File Expander (Updated 2013/09/29)

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by SuperBubble, Sep 25, 2013.

  1. SuperBubble

    SuperBubble MDL Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    148
    259
    10
    #21 SuperBubble, Sep 27, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Code:
    SXSEXPAND /?
    Type that in, and it'll tell you how to use it.

    Bonus finger-wagging: As mentioned in the very first post. :nono:

    Huh? I don't remember coding that limitation in - and I was always calling it from D: drive during testing. :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    9,788
    37,065
    300
    Well, for me, when i call the file from its source at win 8.1 drive (F:\windows\winsxs\manifests), it always fails.. "Can't open input file"
    when i copy the file and call from my present system drive, it works

    I'm using Win8 pro as my main system
     
  3. SuperBubble

    SuperBubble MDL Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    148
    259
    10
    What does the /DEBUG output say? :hug2:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    9,788
    37,065
    300
    #24 abbodi1406, Sep 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Code:
    sxsexpand /debug F:\Windows\WinSxS\Manifests\x86_microsoft-windows-store-service_31bf3856ad364e35_6.3.9600.16384_none_54857a21d2b20c09.manifest c:\vm
    Aunty Mel's Cheap And Nasty SxS File Expander, 2013/09/26.14
    Copyright (C) 2013 "SuperBubble". All rights reserved.
    
    [DEBUG] Input file name: F:\Windows\WinSxS\Manifests\x86_microsoft-windows-store-service_31bf3856ad364e35_6.3.9600.16384_none_54857a21d2b20c09.manifest
    [DEBUG] Output file name/path: c:\vm\x86_microsoft-windows-store-service_31bf3856ad364e35_6.3.9600.16384_none_54857a21d2b20c09.manifest
    Can't open input file: F:\Windows\WinSxS\Manifests\x86_microsoft-windows-store-service_31bf3856ad364e35_6.3.9600.16384_none_54857a21d2b20c09.manifest
    [DEBUG] Deleting temporary files.
    Edit:
    when i run the cmd windows as System account, the operation goes well :eek:
    strange.. my account is admin and UAC is turned off :rolleyes:
     
  5. SuperBubble

    SuperBubble MDL Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    148
    259
    10
    :confused: :confused: :confused: When it fails that early in execution, pretty much the only explanation is file not found. Are you sure there isn't some sort of super-restrictive ACL on the file?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    9,788
    37,065
    300
    Do'nt know :rolleyes:
    maybe because it's a virtual drive (.vhd)?
     
  7. SuperBubble

    SuperBubble MDL Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    148
    259
    10
    OP updated with a new version, with much more informative debug output on I/O errors - should help people figure out why their files won't open. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. koawmfot

    koawmfot MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    5
    3
    0
    awesome stuff.

    i had created a custom PE4 using win8 embedded components. totatlly manual, but it worked and i was able to get the tools i needed into PE and keep it small.

    was looking to do same with PE5 and just noticed the 'compression'... now i just need embedded standard to come out.

    thanks for a fantastic tool.
     
  9. SuperBubble

    SuperBubble MDL Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    148
    259
    10
    You're welcome. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,091
    60
    Did anyone ever upload the WinPE-SRT.cab, I know a few people over at MSFN who have been waiting for it to leak since WinPE 4.0 days.
     
  11. SuperBubble

    SuperBubble MDL Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    148
    259
    10
    #31 SuperBubble, Nov 5, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,091
    60
    I must have done it wrong, 41kb, 7kb and 7kb with only cat and mum files.
     
  13. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    9,788
    37,065
    300
    #33 abbodi1406, Nov 5, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  14. Stannieman

    Stannieman MDL Guru

    Sep 4, 2009
    2,233
    1,810
    90
    Try starting the script in a different thread, it won't hang then. But make sure to disable all controls if you do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. SuperBubble

    SuperBubble MDL Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    148
    259
    10
    #36 SuperBubble, Nov 7, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,091
    60
    #37 Mr Jinje, Nov 7, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  17. SuperBubble

    SuperBubble MDL Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    148
    259
    10
    Hmm... since my script (remind me why are we discussing it on this thread? :D) is so 'stateless', is there any particular reason you're running the script synchronously? Do you really need to capture the output?

    I don't know about PowerShell, but in CMD.EXE land, we have a command called START, which can start a program asynchronously. In VBScript, we can similarly start other programs asynchronously with extra parameters on a Shell.Run call. I'd be very surprised if PS doesn't offer something similar.

    Might be worth looking into, unless you absolutely must monitor the script execution for some reason.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. pepernicka

    pepernicka MDL Novice

    Dec 1, 2013
    2
    0
    0
    Please i am read you Message. I need neutral language file for ADK (Windows 8, 8.1). This file
    not exists (only language pack). I need x86_winpe-srt-package and amd64_winpe-srt-package.
    Please help me.

    Thank you very much
    Petr
     
  19. Stannieman

    Stannieman MDL Guru

    Sep 4, 2009
    2,233
    1,810
    90
    Mount winpe and run the script against the mounted winpe to extract the packages.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...