balubeto's Mega Query Thread

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by balubeto, Dec 26, 2015.

  1. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    #21 balubeto, Jan 10, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I tried these commands

    Code:
    takeown /F "<Apply_Directory_Path>\*" /R /A /D Y
    icacls "<Apply_Directory_Path>\*.*" /T /grant administrators:F
    pushd "<Apply_Directory_Path>" && ( rd /S /Q "<Apply_Directory_Path>\" 2>nul & popd )
    
    but some subdirectories with their files are not deleted. Why?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. SPDIF

    SPDIF MDL Junior Member

    Mar 30, 2014
    90
    47
    0
    #22 SPDIF, Jan 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016
    Just tested: Unlocker 1.9.2 still works in Windows 10, to take rights, delete or rename folders.
    If some files it can not remove, then it will reboot and erase them at boot time before windows is loading.

    Just do not forget use common sense in what you are destroying...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    12,527
    13,518
    340
    #23 xinso, Jan 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016
    Good morning.
     
  4. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    #24 balubeto, Jan 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    takeown problem

    Hi

    I have Windows 10 v1511 Enterprise 64 bit with two Microsoft account.

    From the Command Prompt (run as administrator), I tried to write

    Code:
    takeown /S localhost /U "<Microsoft_account_(E-Mail_Address)>" /P <User_password>" /F "<Directory_path>" /R /A /D Y
    
    but I get the "Access Denied" error. Why?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. genenioo

    genenioo MDL Addicted

    Oct 9, 2007
    654
    113
    30
    Did you run the command prompt as administrator?
     
  6. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    Yes.

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Evides

    Evides MDL Member

    Apr 6, 2014
    114
    24
    10
  8. Evides

    Evides MDL Member

    Apr 6, 2014
    114
    24
    10
  9. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    #30 balubeto, Jan 17, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    If I write the net user command, the profile names of the Microsoft accounts are displayed.

    If, however, I write

    Code:
    takeown /S localhost /U "<Account_profile_name>" /P "<Password>" /F "<Directory_path>" /R /A /D Y
    
    Windows indicates that this user does not exist.

    Also, if I try to activate the hidden administrator

    Code:
    net user Administrator /Active:yes
    net user Administrator "<Password>"
    
    and then I try to write

    Code:
    takeown /S localhost /U Administrator /P "<Password>" /F "<Directory_path>" /R /A /D Y
    
    Windows always indicates that this user does not exist.

    So, how should I use the /U option of takeown?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. LiteOS

    LiteOS Windowizer

    Mar 7, 2014
    2,198
    974
    90
    #31 LiteOS, Jan 17, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  11. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    #32 balubeto, Jan 17, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. LiteOS

    LiteOS Windowizer

    Mar 7, 2014
    2,198
    974
    90
    it is different media like cdrom / flash drive?
     
  13. ashish.k

    ashish.k MDL Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2014
    299
    134
    10
    Here's a registry addition which adds both "Open Command Prompt (admin) here" to right click context menu and "Take Ownership" for files/folders.

    Just change the extension from ".txt" to ".reg".

    View attachment CommandPrompt_TakeOwnership.txt
     
  14. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    #35 balubeto, Jan 17, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    If, from the command prompt (run as administrator), I had to write

    Code:
     takeown /F "<Directory_path>" /R /A /D Y
     icacls "<Directory_path>\*" /setowner Administrators /t
     icacls "<Directory_path>\*" /grant:r Administrators:F /t
     del /s /q "<Directory_path>\*.*"
     pushd "<Directory_Path>" && ( rd /S /Q "<Directory_Path>\" 2>nul & popd )
     
    I could delete the entire content of the directory structure even if its owner does not have read rights? If not, how do I remove this content?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    I always get the "Access Denied" error when I run the commands icacls. Why?

    It is possible to delete all the DACLs of this subdirectory, its files and its subdirectories and then give them those of its home directory? If so, how do I do this?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    #37 balubeto, Jan 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2016
    (OP)
    icacls problem

    Hi

    I have Windows 10 v1511 Enterprise 64 bit.

    I noticed that the icacls "Home_directory" /inheritance:e /Q /T /C /L command, applied to the home directory of a directory structure, is run only the first level of the structure. Why?

    How do I run it automatically in all the levels below?

    I also noticed that if I write the icacls "<Home_directory_path>" /reset /Q /T /C /L command, it goes in a loop.
    Why? What should I write in order to avoid this?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    #38 balubeto, Jan 22, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Apparently, the commands

    Code:
    takeown /F "<Home_directory_path>" /A /R /D S /SKIPSL
    icacls "<Home_directory_path>" /reset
    icacls "<Home_directory_path>" /reset /Q /C /T /L
    pushd "<Home_directory_path>" && ( rd /S /Q "<Home_directory_path>" 2>nul & popd )
    
    reach my goal but the third command goes in loop and, to stop it, I have to press Ctrl+C. Why?

    How do I do that the third command does not go in loop?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    #39 balubeto, Jan 22, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Apparently, the commands

    Code:
    takeown /F "<Apply_Directory_Path>" /A /R /D S /SKIPSL
    icacls "<Apply_Directory_Path>" /reset
    icacls "<Apply_Directory_Path>" /reset /Q /C /T /L
    pushd "<Apply_Directory_Path>" && ( rd /S /Q "<Apply_Directory_Path>" 2>nul & popd )
    
    reach my goal but the third command goes in loop and, to stop it, I have to press Ctrl+C. Why?

    How do I do that the third command does not go in loop?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Addicted

    Dec 22, 2009
    580
    10
    30
    Remove the TrustedInstaller or Authenticated Users or System users from the ACLs

    Hi

    I have Windows 10 v1511 Enterprise 64 bit.

    From the Command Prompt, run as administrator, how should I do to remove any TrustedInstaller or Authenticated Users or System users from the ACLs of an entire directory structure also contains files and links (this must not involve the ACLs of their destination)?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...