Best flashing method?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by MerolaC, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. MerolaC

    MerolaC MDL Junior Member

    Feb 12, 2009
    62
    0
    0
    Hi guys!
    I'm wondering, which flashing method is the best.

    In my mobo I'm using EZ-Flash 2 to flash it.

    But, which other method works, either best or equal?

    Thanks in advance!

    Bye, MerolaC
     
  2. baskinghobo

    baskinghobo MDL Junior Member

    Dec 11, 2008
    54
    0
    0
    DOS if you know how to do it, or windows 7 loader if your a noob.
     
  3. shaumux

    shaumux MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    Well i used qflash on one PC with gigabyte mobo and and EZ flash(Asus equivalent of q-flash) on another with asus mobo and both are working great.
     
  4. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    EZFlash is fine, may complain about checksums, but it is a viable alternative to DOS. NEVER WINFLASH.......
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. shaumux

    shaumux MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    No didn't complain about checksum.
    Used dynamic method for the asus one and ssv3 for gigabyte to insert slic 2.1.
     
  6. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    The tool corrects most problems, I said MAY complain, but generally the EZFlash has been good. Dont get freaked if the EZFlash throws a checksum error, just flash from DOS then..If that doesnt work, then post :cool::p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. MerolaC

    MerolaC MDL Junior Member

    Feb 12, 2009
    62
    0
    0
    Thanks to everyone!

    I just tried AFudos and worked like charm.
    I liked it a lot.

    Other question.

    Is there any advantage modding the BIOS file with the Dynamic method?
    I know there are a risk.
    But, what is it advantage, if any.

    Thanks!

    Bye, MerolaC
     
  8. psreloaded

    psreloaded MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    in case of xfx, the bios is in the boot sector itself...I extracted it with universal extractor and modded it with SLIC 2.1. I want to know if there is any way to edit the original *.img boot file and replace the original bios with the modded one and make a boot CD with nero.

    Thanks
     
  9. shaumux

    shaumux MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    The dynamic method puts the slic table in the bios so its adress in the memory when loaded is allocated dynamically.
    Its how OEM bios makers would insert the table into the bios.

    The SSV method allocates a static memory address for the slic table.

    The dynamic method has the advantage that it can be distributed to other people also and if you ever do a memory upgrade then you won't have to remod the bios.

    With the ssv method you would have to remod the bios in that case.

    AFAIK Dynamic method is safe for asus atleast.
    Also i did the dybnamic method
     
  10. Hexter

    Hexter MDL Novice

    Jun 4, 2007
    13
    0
    0
    It's depends on the motherboard manufacture and operating system you're running whenever that 32 or 64 bit, I have GIGABYTE, running a 64-bit vista and in my case I use @BIOS and it works like a charm. :)
     
  11. shaumux

    shaumux MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2009
    62
    1
    0
    It shouldn't be showing Asus in the gigabyte bios.
    YOu need to mod a fresh bios which doesn't have a slic 2.0 modded already.
    I have modded my gigabyte ga-eg31mf-s2 with hp slic 2.1 ssv3 method and works like a charm.
     
  12. cobu

    cobu MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    4
    0
    0
    Hello,

    It worked for me at first using Lenono SLIC. But somehow I decied to go with HP LSLIC and reflashed.

    After that no matter what I did, it stuck with asus thing you seen on the screenshot.

    I even tried the original bios from gigabyte, even the older version.