Block W10(1607 RS1) installing sound drivers from OS itself, natively, not from WU?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by mitsos, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,576
    5,283
    210
    Did you try Left click on speaker in system tray, make sure you have realtek driver selected
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. mitsos

    mitsos MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    56
    10
    0
    At the moment says only "high definition audio device", no realtek device... I think windows just do not let install the realtek device,
    even if on control panel/software and tools there is a realtek driver installed, at least the logo of realtek is visible...
     
  3. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,576
    5,283
    210
    Try disabling High Def audio in Device manger, see if it uses Realtek :D

    May have to left click on speaker icon in system and select driver
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,576
    5,283
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mitsos

    mitsos MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    56
    10
    0
    I disable realtek digital output, now with asus drivers, i see realtek high definition audio, the same cracking sound, in every quality (cd-dvd or studio)
     
  6. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,576
    5,283
    210
    Look for different audio driver in link above, may have to disable High Def driver to install :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mitsos

    mitsos MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    56
    10
    0
    Would you like to hear the "funny" news? With Windows 7, exactly the same crackling sound, no matter which drivers i use....:wallbash:
     
  8. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,576
    5,283
    210
    I think it's time for you to buy yourself X-mas present, new computer :tasty::tasty:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. mitsos

    mitsos MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    56
    10
    0
    This is given to me for repair. Spend a lot of time to service it, (overheating, no boot, screen hinges etc,) and now this...
     
  10. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,576
    5,283
    210
    #30 lobo11, Dec 26, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2016
    I'd just put windows 7 back on it:D

    Or maybe someone else in here knows how:confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. ElDiabl0

    ElDiabl0 MDL Junior Member

    May 31, 2011
    68
    274
    0
  12. ElDiabl0

    ElDiabl0 MDL Junior Member

    May 31, 2011
    68
    274
    0
    BTW if I were you I'd put Windows 7 on it unless you want to deal with wifi problems and other problems related to sleep/hibernate/resume and fast startup (hybrid shutdown)

    Windows 10 doesn't always work well on old laptops.
     
  13. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,576
    5,283
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    430
    85
    10
    If it worked fine with W7 return to it, it is became an old laptop, you wont gain very much with W10

    There's no official drivers past vista ??? i had one area51 and had the same troubles, disable this and that, tried many things, it was with an ac97, but sometimes the device management thinked it was Realtek high definition audio .... maybe conflicting drivers with hdmi port or digital in the list can be long.

    You have surely searched with the hardware pid's and vid's ?
     
  15. mitsos

    mitsos MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    56
    10
    0
    With windows 7 has the same problems. Of course searched with hardware id's, difficult to find though for legacy hardware.
    I am almost sure that it is driver issue, but a conflict with other hardware is of course not excluded.
    I will try with first chance the driver which ELDiabl0 shared and will report here.
    For the further rest, latest W10 works smooth, fast and stable, with no issues on this laptop. Would say faster then W7.
    Just had big maintenance, al hardware works ok and quite, with a properly installed W10, laptop can be used for a lot of years more...