Can Acer Aspire One's (AOA150) bios be modded to disable Onboard RAM

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Muzafsh, Jan 23, 2010.

1. Muzafsh

Muzafsh MDL Novice

Jan 23, 2010
    Newbie here, apologies.......if i am away from protocol.

Can Acer Aspire One's (AOA150) bios be modded to disable Onboard RAM ???
    ==============================================

In MSI wind...netbooks the bios allows to disable the onboard RAM so that one can max out his RAM to 2GB.

Acer Aspire One (AOA150) - aka ZG5 has an onboard memory of 512 mb soldered to the MB. This lets one max the RAM only to a 1.5GB.

A 2gb RAM MODD TO THIS MACHINE WOULD BE like a GREAT DREAM FULFILLED !!!

Whether this is possible or not i do not know, JUST BEING POSITIVE and hoping on the lines of MSI Wind's bios!!!

Need help from this forum to explore the possiblity of achieving a 2GB modd to a AOA150. Which has long eluded folks at the aspireoneuser forums, people have bricked their MB's trying to achieve a physical mod by removing the onboard RAM chips !!!

How can we even proceed on this !!!

well i don't know the technical intricacies !!! as i am not a tech wizard as quite a few of you folks here may be !!!

To start with, Just hoping that somebody could try to unhide all hidden menus of this machines bios and check to see if they can find a way to disable the onboard 512 MB RAM.

To test the modded bios(EXPERTS FROM HERE MAY PROVIDE), a friend at the aspireone forum had the equipment to do so. I have just messaged him to re-confirm the same.

Will get him to post in this forum to test the modded bios's in an attempt to achieve this long eluded MODD !!!

Looking forward to some help from you guys.

thanks in advance.
    Muzafsh.

2. Orbiting234

Orbiting234 MDL Member

Jul 20, 2008