Can't create Win 10 bootable USB.... Grrr

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by brad1138, Mar 22, 2019.

  1. brad1138

    brad1138 MDL Novice

    Jun 25, 2011
    24
    2
    0
  2. Kevin Rosas

    Kevin Rosas MDL Member

    Nov 27, 2016
    138
    96
    10
    the usb this must be the cause, try also the tool of Microsoft, yumi, otea different version of Rufus.
     
  3. brad1138

    brad1138 MDL Novice

    Jun 25, 2011
    24
    2
    0
    I also tried multiple USB sticks. One of them had been working fine with a version of 10 from 2015 on it. I just wanted a more up to date USB, now I seem to be screwed...
     
  4. brad1138

    brad1138 MDL Novice

    Jun 25, 2011
    24
    2
    0
    I did a full format on one of the USBs and then Windows Media Creator worked. I'll see if it works on the laptop in the morning.
     
  5. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 MDL Senior Member

    Dec 9, 2011
    409
    161
    10
    Also check that secure boot is off.Latest RS5 win 10 x64 iso has wim file larger than 4gb so no more simple extraction of iso content to fat32 formatted usb drive without disabling secure boot.Now have to use ntfs formatted usb drive with rufus & need to turn off secure boot to make it work correctly.
     
  6. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2012
    1,103
    371
    60
    It's not possible, You can't make bootable USB if You used ISO downloaded from Microsoft. They are all bootable.
    Another thing is, if it will boot automatically from USB or You must open boot menu and select manually USB.
    How to open Boot Menu
    Press <F12> when the Dell logo appears to initiate a one-time boot menu with a list of the valid boot devices for the computer.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. McLovin

    McLovin MDL Junior Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    71
    20
    0
    or just use the mediacreation tool, and after that replace just the new ISO files if needed

    or google: diskpart bootable usb drive
     
  8. laqk

    laqk MDL Junior Member

    Jan 22, 2011
    50
    35
    0
    Frankly I'm amazed to still see so often people still having trouble creating bootable USB drives. You don't need any third party applications; all you need is already included in Windows.

    1) Insert the USB drive you want to use;

    2) Open a command window with elevated privileges;

    3) Enter DISKPART command;

    4) In diskpart, enter LIST DISK command to show a list of available drives;

    5) Enter SELECT DISK <n> command, where <n> is the number of your USB drive obtained by the LIST DISK command;

    WARNING: Make absolutely sure that you select the right drive here; the next commands will completely wipe-out this disk.

    6) Enter CLEAN command; This command will completely wipe-out all drive and partition information on the currently selected drive.

    7) Enter CREATE PARTITION PRIMARY command;

    8) Enter ACTIVE command;

    9) Enter FORMAT QUICK FS=FAT32 LABEL=<whateveryouwant> command;

    10) Enter EXIT command to exit Diskpart.

    11) Use the program of your choice (I use 7-zip) to open your Windows ISO file and extract its content to your USB drive.

    12) Done.

    The above will create a bootable Windows installation USB disk that will boot both in BIOS and UEFI mode (if there is a EFI folder on the root of the drive). I've created littelaly hundreds of bootable USB drives this way, with 100% success rate on all imaginable BIOSes.
     
  9. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    20,012
    26,918
    390
  10. brad1138

    brad1138 MDL Novice

    Jun 25, 2011
    24
    2
    0
    I select USB every time, it says "non bootable device" or something like that...

    I am going to try the one that worked last night in a couple minutes, laptop is downstairs.
     
  11. ruuu7

    ruuu7 MDL Junior Member

    Mar 7, 2015
    92
    15
    0
    Just use your ring! Easy! ^^^

    Sorry for the offtopic, but that was a good one! (imo) :p

    I used the tool Enthousiast recommended in post #11. Pretty good thing! Thanks for that!
     
  12. brad1138

    brad1138 MDL Novice

    Jun 25, 2011
    24
    2
    0
    It did work. So I guess it was the USB stick in regards to WMC, not sure whats up with Rufus, but not going to worry about it.
     
  13. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2012
    1,103
    371
    60
    OK, maybe is needed to go BIOS settings (for Dell it should be F2) and turn off fast boot and UEFI if is enabled and try to boot in legacy mode. If so works, install what needed and then go back to BIOS and enable again what was disabled.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. MrG

    MrG MDL Addicted

    May 31, 2010
    928
    230
    30
    On my new server rig the Server OS was over 4.6 GB so I used a bootable flash drive I created using RUFUS & a Server .ISO, worked very good.

    WSEssentials 2016_ 1USB create w-RuFus_ 1.jpg
     
  15. rpo

    rpo MDL Addicted

    Jan 3, 2010
    739
    517
    30
  16. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,824
    3,173
    300
    @MrG The iso may have been 4.6 GB but the wim file would have been smaller than 4 GB.
     
  17. Krager

    Krager MDL Senior Member

    Jan 9, 2017
    373
    212
    10
    The whole idea with UEFI was to make booting a more streamline process. It does have an advantage over MBR not requiring a boot sector, but then it has the fat32 problem. Kind of like they only went half way with the solution.

    In any case that's a problem with Rufus and secure boot when selecting ntfs file system. You either have to use fat32 or use ntfs with secure boot turned off. Though from what I understand there is a new version of Rufus coming that can handle the nfts problem.

    There's other options though. If the wim image is over the limit (4GB), you can split it with dism and continue to use fat32. Optionally you can use ntfs by setting up a fat32 boot partition manually.

    My image is presently under under the limit so all I have to do is gpt partition a usb drive with fat32 and copy the files over. At some point my image will exceed limit just from integrated cumulative updates. I'll probably split the image with dism at that point and keep using fat32 for the whole lot. Would rather avoid going into the BIOS to shut off secure boot.
     
  18. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 MDL Senior Member

    Dec 9, 2011
    409
    161
    10
    First RS5 official release x64 iso has wim file just a couple of MBs larger than 4gb with total iso size still around 4.6gb.