Changing the name and description of a volume image

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by balubeto, Oct 4, 2014.

  1. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Senior Member

    Dec 22, 2009
    461
    9
    10
    Hi

    I am using Windows 8.1 Update and Windows ADK.

    How do I change the name and description of a volume image stored in a wim file?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,243
    1,157
    90
    imagex /flags, you have an example here for WMC
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    Interestingly there was no need to do this with the Preview WIM after setting it to ProfessionalWMC, the Edition flag was already set correctly :g:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Senior Member

    Dec 22, 2009
    461
    9
    10
    Apparently, the imageX command is been deprecated from Windows ADK. So, what command should I use to do this?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,243
    1,157
    90
    Really :confused: then try with GimageX . Google it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    #6 s1ave77, Oct 4, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Without knowing the exact command you tried how can you expect help ... :g:?

    Code:
    imagex /flags "ProfessionalWMC" /info "C:\win\install.wim" 1 "Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center " "Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center" /CHECK
    Adjust the path to WIM and index 1 to match your index
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Senior Member

    Dec 22, 2009
    461
    9
    10
    #7 balubeto, Oct 4, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    By using the Dism command, it is possible to do this?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,243
    1,157
    90
    #8 coleoptere2007, Oct 4, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
    simple , no ! (I think you're joking :confused: )
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,566
    12,993
    180
    LOL s1ave77 isn't joking. He's highlighting in red color what is needed to be changed or adjusted accordingly.
     
  10. coleoptere2007

    coleoptere2007 MDL Guru

    Apr 8, 2008
    2,243
    1,157
    90
    i wasn't speaking of s1ave77 :D sorry for confusion
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    Not sure here what OP is trying exactly ... he's short in explanations :cool2:. ImageX works perfectly when running from Deployment Tools CMD. Dism isn't able to set the Edition (ProfessionalWMC) flag.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    3,411
    4,939
    120
    #12 xinso, Oct 4, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I think I see what you are after:

    Example: I've got a d:\install.wim that has two images. Index 1 is Professional, and Index 2 is Enterprise.

    Code:
    dism /Get-WimInfo /WimFile:d:\install.wim
    Code:
    C:\Windows\system32>dism /Get-WimInfo /WimFile:d:\install.wim
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 6.3.9600.17031
    
    Details for image : d:\install.wim
    
    Index : 1
    Name : Windows 8.1 Pro
    Description : Windows 8.1 Pro
    Size : 12,818,023,335 bytes
    
    Index : 2
    Name : Windows 8.1 Enterprise
    Description : Windows 8.1 Enterprise
    Size : 12,814,146,425 bytes
    
    The operation completed successfully.
    Now I want to see what I can do to image 1 (Professional) about Name and Description.

    #Check info of Index 1 by Gimagex

    Code:
    WIM Information:
    ---------------------
    GUID:        {A36DA620-CBB4-4AE1-B390-D769E916FF50}
    Image Count:    2
    Compression:    LZX
    Part Number:    1/1
    Attributes:    0x8
            RP_FIX
    
    Image Index: 1
    -------------------
    Name:        Windows 8.1 Pro
    Description:    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Flags:        Professional
    Files:        92857
    Folders:        19527
    Expanded Size:    12224 MB
    
    Image Index: 2
    -------------------
    Name:        Windows 8.1 Enterprise
    Description:    Windows 8.1 Enterprise
    Flags:        Enterprise
    Files:        92133
    Folders:        18829
    Expanded Size:    12220 MB
    
    
    WIM XML Information:
    ---------------------------
    <WIM>
      <TOTALBYTES>3523513689</TOTALBYTES>
      <IMAGE INDEX="1">
        <DIRCOUNT>19527</DIRCOUNT>
        <FILECOUNT>92857</FILECOUNT>
        <TOTALBYTES>12818023335</TOTALBYTES>
        <HARDLINKBYTES>5333626974</HARDLINKBYTES>
        <CREATIONTIME>
          <HIGHPART>0x01CF429B</HIGHPART>
          <LOWPART>0x9D02855B</LOWPART>
        </CREATIONTIME>
        <LASTMODIFICATIONTIME>
          <HIGHPART>0x01CFE001</HIGHPART>
          <LOWPART>0x5C53E77F</LOWPART>
        </LASTMODIFICATIONTIME>
        <WIMBOOT>0</WIMBOOT>
        <WINDOWS>
          <ARCH>9</ARCH>
          <PRODUCTNAME>Microsoft® Windows® Operating System</PRODUCTNAME>
          <EDITIONID>Professional</EDITIONID>
          <INSTALLATIONTYPE>Client</INSTALLATIONTYPE>
          <SERVICINGDATA>
            <GDRDUREVISION>20140317</GDRDUREVISION>
            <PKEYCONFIGVERSION>6.3.9600.17031;2014-02-22T04:31:55Z</PKEYCONFIGVERSION>
          </SERVICINGDATA>
          <HAL>acpiapic</HAL>
          <PRODUCTTYPE>WinNT</PRODUCTTYPE>
          <PRODUCTSUITE>Terminal Server</PRODUCTSUITE>
          <LANGUAGES>
            <LANGUAGE>zh-TW</LANGUAGE>
            <FALLBACK LANGUAGE="zh-TW">en-US</FALLBACK>
            <DEFAULT>zh-TW</DEFAULT>
          </LANGUAGES>
          <VERSION>
            <MAJOR>6</MAJOR>
            <MINOR>3</MINOR>
            <BUILD>9600</BUILD>
            <SPBUILD>17031</SPBUILD>
            <SPLEVEL>0</SPLEVEL>
          </VERSION>
          <SYSTEMROOT>WINDOWS</SYSTEMROOT>
        </WINDOWS>
        <NAME>Windows 8.1 Pro</NAME>
        <DESCRIPTION>Windows 8.1 Pro</DESCRIPTION>
        <FLAGS>Professional</FLAGS>
        <DISPLAYNAME>Windows 8.1 專業版</DISPLAYNAME>
        <DISPLAYDESCRIPTION>Windows 8.1 專業版</DISPLAYDESCRIPTION>
      </IMAGE>
      <IMAGE INDEX="2">
        <DIRCOUNT>18829</DIRCOUNT>
        <FILECOUNT>92133</FILECOUNT>
        <TOTALBYTES>12814146425</TOTALBYTES>
        <HARDLINKBYTES>5314391589</HARDLINKBYTES>
        <CREATIONTIME>
          <HIGHPART>0x01CF429B</HIGHPART>
          <LOWPART>0x94BFAFEE</LOWPART>
        </CREATIONTIME>
        <LASTMODIFICATIONTIME>
          <HIGHPART>0x01CFE001</HIGHPART>
          <LOWPART>0x7B0FBC51</LOWPART>
        </LASTMODIFICATIONTIME>
        <WIMBOOT>0</WIMBOOT>
        <WINDOWS>
          <ARCH>9</ARCH>
          <PRODUCTNAME>Microsoft® Windows® Operating System</PRODUCTNAME>
          <EDITIONID>Enterprise</EDITIONID>
          <INSTALLATIONTYPE>Client</INSTALLATIONTYPE>
          <SERVICINGDATA>
            <GDRDUREVISION>20140317</GDRDUREVISION>
            <PKEYCONFIGVERSION>6.3.9600.17031;2014-02-22T04:31:22Z</PKEYCONFIGVERSION>
          </SERVICINGDATA>
          <HAL>acpiapic</HAL>
          <PRODUCTTYPE>WinNT</PRODUCTTYPE>
          <PRODUCTSUITE>Terminal Server</PRODUCTSUITE>
          <LANGUAGES>
            <LANGUAGE>zh-TW</LANGUAGE>
            <FALLBACK LANGUAGE="zh-TW">en-US</FALLBACK>
            <DEFAULT>zh-TW</DEFAULT>
          </LANGUAGES>
          <VERSION>
            <MAJOR>6</MAJOR>
            <MINOR>3</MINOR>
            <BUILD>9600</BUILD>
            <SPBUILD>17031</SPBUILD>
            <SPLEVEL>0</SPLEVEL>
          </VERSION>
          <SYSTEMROOT>WINDOWS</SYSTEMROOT>
        </WINDOWS>
        <NAME>Windows 8.1 Enterprise</NAME>
        <DESCRIPTION>Windows 8.1 Enterprise</DESCRIPTION>
        <FLAGS>Enterprise</FLAGS>
        <DISPLAYNAME>Windows 8.1 企業版</DISPLAYNAME>
        <DISPLAYDESCRIPTION>Windows 8.1 企業版</DISPLAYDESCRIPTION>
      </IMAGE>
    </WIM>
    So I wish it to be

    Code:
    <NAME>Windows 8.1 Pro x64</NAME>
    <DESCRIPTION>Windows 8.1 Professional for balubeto</DESCRIPTION>
    <FLAGS>Professional</FLAGS>
    <DISPLAYNAME>Windows 8.1 Pro Volume edition</DISPLAYNAME>
    <DISPLAYDESCRIPTION>Windows 8.1 Pro Volume edition owned by balubeto</DISPLAYDESCRIPTION>


    Step 1: Extract ISO\sources\install.wim to X:\

    To be continued when balubeto feels need it. (And if I was available.)
     
  13. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    @ xinso

    Not sure what problem OP has, can be easily done with imagex directly inside the WIM, no need to mount :cool2:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    3,411
    4,939
    120
    Slave77, it's OK. I have nothing to do now.
     
  15. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    Unfortunately OP refuses to give explicite answers or shows what errors actually aprear :cool2:. Can remember several attempts to help him to no avail so far.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,078
    60
    You guys realize he cross-posts on every major forum, sometimes even his generic replies. He's like an x-rumer bot, but for IT related questions.
     
  17. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    3,411
    4,939
    120
    #17 xinso, Oct 4, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
    Oh ... OK. But I won't let him down when he really needs it. See you.
     
  18. balubeto

    balubeto MDL Senior Member

    Dec 22, 2009
    461
    9
    10
    #18 balubeto, Oct 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    If I run the command

    Code:
    Dism /Capture-Image /ImageFile:"<Wim_Path>\<Wim_Name>.wim" /CaptureDir:"<Mount_Directory_Path>" /Name:"<Image_Name>" /Description:"Description_Image>" /Compress:max /CheckIntegrity /Verify
    
    I rename the name and description of a volume image offline creating a new wim file. That's right?

    Thanks

    Bye
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,286
    18,096
    340
    Correct ... but in case of ProfessionalWMC it won't set the correct Edition flag, so it still needs to be done with imagex :cool2:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...