cmdlines.txt + .reg files - installed into OEm folder..New to this,need help..

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by tnx, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    heyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy...Brilliant.....I will have them,thank you very much...:cool:
     
  2. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    #22 tnx, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  3. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    @ alphawaves...

    Sorry to keep bothering you mate but,
    I am a little bit confused about the run all .reg files from the same location.
    The text you put does not mention any specific .reg file name. Should it or will it just execute all .reg files.

    I have not tested it as yet but i have amended the setupcomplete.cmd to this

    Does this look right ?

    I am off to test it now.....

    Cant remember doing so many fresh install in the same day. Might be some sort of new world record....:)
     
  4. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    Hi...

    Well i just did my final install of the day. Work time is looming. Any how...

    I set this up
    The shortcut arrow was gone but windows animations was still active.
    i checked the registry and there was a "1" next to the MinAnimate. I ran the .reg file to test and the 1 turned to a zero.
    I am taking this that my .reg file works,it looks like this
    I must be getting the script wrong somehow.

    Any ideas....
     
  5. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60

    I have just tested these....Works like a charm.
    i just had a thought i could make a nice little app with AMS to do both these actions. This would look good and let total novices use it...Says the me "The Expert" LOL...
     
  6. Alphawaves

    Alphawaves Super Moderator/Developer
    Staff Member

    Aug 11, 2008
    6,222
    22,280
    210
    #26 Alphawaves, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    tnx, better idea create a new folder in scripts, name it Tweaks, put the reg files and blank.ico inside Tweaks folder.
    Now use this code instead:

    Code:
    @echo off
    
    IF NOT EXIST "%systemroot%\Blank.ico" (
        COPY /Y "%~dp0Tweaks\Blank.ico" "%systemroot%\Blank.ico"
    )
    IF EXIST "%~dp0Tweaks\*.reg" (
        FOR /F "tokens=*" %%A IN ('DIR /B  "%~dp0Tweaks\*.reg"') DO (
            regedit /s "%~dp0Tweaks\%%A"
        )
    )
    
    exit 
     
  7. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    #27 tnx, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Ok mate. Will do....Well tomorrow now.

    Catch ya later..
     
  8. Alphawaves

    Alphawaves Super Moderator/Developer
    Staff Member

    Aug 11, 2008
    6,222
    22,280
    210
  9. Trinket

    Trinket MDL Senior Member

    Feb 20, 2010
    487
    169
    10
    #29 Trinket, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2011
    Good... I also made ppApps out of them, and they create shortcuts to your start menu as well :)

    BTW, there are several ways to accomplish the 'no arrow overlay' but not all of them are as good. For example people would get black overlays if an improper .ico was used, etc. The ReadMe file I included explains some of this, so the way I'm doing it *should* be fail-proof.
     
  10. searchengine

    searchengine Guest

    #30 searchengine, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER reg entries cannot be applied from OOBE.cmd or SetupComplete.cmd during windows installation, as as both cmd's auto run before that particular registry hive is loaded, ... a runonce cmd is alternative to apply reg entries HKEY_CURRENT_USER
     
  11. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60

    Righttttttttt...I see,no wonder it wasn't working. Thanks for that.

    You say a runonce cmd would be better....

    By reading this thread you will have worked out i am a total novice with all this .cmd stuff. So can you elaberate on this runounce.cmd. How would i write one and how would i intergrate one into a w7 DVD and have it run to disable the windows animation..

    Would this runonce run after all the windows installing has finished ?

    i better get googling..

    Cheers mate.
     
  12. searchengine

    searchengine Guest

    #32 searchengine, Feb 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    yeah, that is correct ... you could set up runonce for your needs like this:-

    1. OOBE.cmd ... add this line of code to this .cmd

    Code:
    reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce" /v Animate /t REG_SZ /d "%windir%\Animate.vbs" /f >nul
    
    2. Animate.vbs ... save the following code as this .vbs

    Code:
    CreateObject("Wscript.Shell").Run "Animate.cmd",0,True
    3. Animate.cmd ... save the following code as this .cmd

    Code:
    @echo off
    
    start /w regedit /s %windir%\Animate.reg >nul
    del /F /Q %windir%\Animate.reg >nul
    del /F /Q %windir%\Animate.vbs >nul
    del /F /Q %0% >nul
    4. Animate.reg ... save the following code as this .cmd

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\WindowMetrics]
    "MinAnimate"="0"
    now you have created 3xfiles Animate.vbs...Animate.cmd...Animate.reg

    5. ...copy those 3xfiles to the $$ folder contained inside your $oem$ folder

    done.

    During install those 3xfiles will be auto copied to Windows directory, and the edited OOBE.cmd will add entry to registry for Animate.vbs to run at runonce .... Animate.vbs will make Animate.cmd run without any black pop-up box ... Animate.cmd will apply Animate.reg.... and delete those files, and itself upon completion.
     
  13. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    #33 tnx, Feb 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Wow....Thanks for that.

    Cant wait to try it. :biggrin:
     
  14. Alphawaves

    Alphawaves Super Moderator/Developer
    Staff Member

    Aug 11, 2008
    6,222
    22,280
    210
    Thats great searchengine ;) you should post that in scripting section - its very useful for others..:)
     
  15. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    @searchengine.....

    urrrrrrrrrr...welllllllllllllllllll..urrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...

    I did as you said. But it did not work.....Where i am going wrong i dont know....Does the fact i am trying to do this on Windows 7 x64 alter anything ?

    I have the remove shortcut arrow down to the T now. Thanks Alphawaves :cool: ......

    I just did a fresh install with all the codes in all the right places, just checked...

    This is how i made my oobe.cmd look. Maybe i have the code in the wrong place ??
    Just thought of summet. I just looked in C:\Windows and the Animate.cmd,Animate.vbs and Animate.reg are not there.Should these files have been copied into C:\Windows . If so no wonder it did not work.

    I put these files in SOURCES\$OEM$\$$

    I am still doing something wrong....

    Then again i am looking at the Animate.cmd and it says
    Do i take it that this deletes the files...


    ______________________________________

    I can not admit to knowing what any of the scripts mean.
    I do not even know what a .vbs file is.
    ">nul" exactly why is that there ?

    If the
    Was not there would the files still be in C:\Windows ?

    I am sorry to ask so many questions all the time.....
    To be honest I want to be ale to understand the scripts so I can learn to write my own. I am very very grateful for every body's help on this matter. But I just don't want to rely on other folks work. It's not enough for me...Know what I mean ?
    But don't stop though..;)
     
  16. searchengine

    searchengine Guest

    #36 searchengine, Feb 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    yeah, maybe, :)

    Cur rentVersion ....I hope no blank space

    please zip or rar your $oem$ folder with its contents, and upload, as I would like to see the actual folder layout and file contents
     
  17. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    I will .rar my $OEM$ folder up and put up for yo...( running a blank machine at hte mo..NO apps in to do owt with...Gimme a bit..OK...)

    I just coppied that bit of code
    No gaps....
     
  18. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,695
    267
    60
    @searchengine

    Here is my OEM Folder...

    :biggrin:
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Kouryu

    Kouryu MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2011
    423
    132
    10
    #39 Kouryu, Feb 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    you're missing commands to copy those necessary files to %SystemRoot%, that's why.... the scripts are trying to run something nonexistent!
    you need commands such as:
    Code:
    if not exist %systemroot%\animate.reg copy %systemroot%\setup\scripts\animate.reg %systemroot%
    
    and so forth

    if you really want to learn how to make simple batch files (this is very basic stuff actually), a good starting point is knowing how to use DOS.... you probably figured out by now, DOS isn't as dead as you think!
     
  20. searchengine

    searchengine Guest

    #40 searchengine, Feb 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2011
    If the cmd ran successfully, then those files should not be there (as they would be deleted after job done)...

    looking at the $oem$ folder you uploaded, I suspect it actually worked and changed the entry reg from 1 to 0 for "MinAnimate"; but needs to reboot to apply.... did you look in the registry to see if setting was "0"?

    I am gonna test in vmware soon.