Computer needs multiple presses of power button to start

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by amanda, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    My friends family have a self built PC:

    i5-2500K not overclocked
    16GB Corsair 1600Mhz RAM,
    Corsair 850TX power supply
    2 by 2Terabyte & 1Tbyte Seagate hard drive - all 80% empty & fully
    defragged
    Win 7 64 ultimate fully updated
    Office 2007 fully updated
    Asus Nvida 550 GTX graphics
    Fractal design R3 case USB 3.0
    Pioneer bdr 207 ebk & times 22 Samsung DVD writer
    Thermaltake Frio cpu cooler
    Asus sabertooth P67 motherboard

    It is running through a Belkin power surge protector.

    They have done a chkdsk & memory test via memcheck - no errors.

    The problem they are having is that when they press the power button the blue
    light around said button normally gets bright blue. But since
    last week the fans come on the power button flickers a light blue &
    the PC need switching on at least twice.
    They have checked CPU temperatures via core temp. It says 27-32 Celcius
    on all four cores. In the BIOS the computer is set to normal. They have
    done a virus scan via Norton, malwarebytes, superantispyware, spybot &
    emsisoft - all clear. The PC currently runs fine in Windows.

    What is causing my problem please? I have changed the power supply to a Corsair CX 750M.The
    same thing is happening. What else can I do?
    thanks to all the advice in advance.

    Thanks to all
     
  2. Leslie_Coffelt

    Leslie_Coffelt MDL Member

    Feb 6, 2014
    135
    37
    10
    Go to "Control Panel" > "Hardware and Sound" > "Power Options" > "Change what the Power button does" and see if the settings need to be changed.
     
  3. leebo_28

    leebo_28 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 12, 2011
    460
    170
    10
    #3 leebo_28, Feb 9, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2014
    agreed..sounds like it's going into sleep mode instead of powering off. The bios should have a setting for this
     
  4. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    I am extremely grateful for your replies. I looked on the computer & it says : Power Options" > "Change what the Power button does" - it says "shut down" when I press the power button.
     
  5. OldMX

    OldMX MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    426
    143
    10
    Seems you have a power supply o rmotherboard issue, nothing to do with windows power management.
     
  6. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0

    I have replaced the power supply. So what can be done about the motherboard?
    Will a bios flash to a newer version help? Since they have not flashed the motherboard bios (rev B3) since I built the machine.
     
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,722
    3,087
    300
    That will depend on what the bios update is for may have nothing to do with your problem.
     
  8. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0

    Hello all,

    thanks for persisting. I really need to solve this.
     
  9. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,722
    3,087
    300
    Probably do no harm updating the bios and see if it does make a difference also check power plan (also advanced settings) not just what the power button does.
     
  10. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
  11. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,673
    270
    it could also be something as simple as a USB device holding up the system. Try unplugging all peripherals like external hard drives, printers etc. Just something to check before spending more on other parts
     
  12. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    #12 amanda, Feb 9, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2014
    (OP)
    Hello all,
    I did what redroad asked of me. The computer at boot up needed a repair, this did not work & then a system restore. I could luckily still get into safe mode & back up all my documents to a physically separate internal hard drive. The computer & for now it is behaving. Also all I have plugged in is a usb 3.0 hub & my Samsung laser printer as well as a Microsoft mouse.
     
  13. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    So power switch is suspect ?
     
  14. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    No, I do not think so.
    I left the machine off for a few hours as to see if it boots fine when starting from cold. It works now.
     
  15. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0

    I am still posting from work - so I will be brief.

    I opened up the front of the case, lookes at the wirs & saw nothing broken. I re-inserted the wires at the motherborad & then tried again. No problem booting. That was last night & I will try again tonight.
     
  16. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    Hello all,

    I have this that came with my motherboard:
    ASUS Q-Connector MAXIMUS IV EXTREME GENE-Z/GEN3 SABERTOOTH 55i 990FX P67 X58

    I re inserted all the wires from the case & so far so good.

    Thanks for your help.