Convert ESD to WIM

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by luky, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,610
    1,408
    60
    There is no known way to decrypt Payload & esd file...
     
  2. parapher

    parapher MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2012
    323
    248
    10
    You just need to make a VM (if you use VirtualBox you can me a VM in the VHD format directly). Install Win8 via Upgrade ISO. If you need/want to install some updates, do that. When you're done, run sysprep: OOBE->Generalize->Shutdown. OK, you've sysprep'd your install. There will be a .vhd file (it'll be anywhere from 7gb to 11gb depending on the updates you've installed, and whether or not you've installed features like .NET 3.5) in the VirtualBox VM's folder (in your user account folder). You then open Disk Management, select Action->Attach VHD. Navigate to the .vhd file, attach it. You will then find that 2 partitions are attached/mounted. The large one will be your sysprep'd install. So when using imagex (or Gimagex if you need GUI) capture the larger partition. So if it's drive "H" then capture drive letter H, etc. So, for example: imagex /compress maximum /capture h: c:\install.wim "Windows 8 Pro" What that will do is capture drive "H" and save it to C:\ as "install.wim" and the image description is "Windows 8 Pro". You will then have your install.esd coverted to install.wim.
     
  3. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    #23 murphy78, Feb 19, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    You might be able to save the activation from the capture method also. I believe data.dat is just a hidden file and tokens.dat is just in a system directory, so they might capture just fine.
    If they don't you can go back and re-mount with dism and drop them in the store directory.
    Example:
    Code:
    dism /mount-wim /wimfile:c:\win8\sources\install.wim /index:1 /mountdir:c:\mnt
    (then swap the files from windows\system32\spp\store) (data.dat and tokens.dat)
    then dism /unmount-wim /mountdir:c:\mnt /commit
     
  4. NiFu

    NiFu MDL Member

    Jun 29, 2013
    129
    134
    10
    #24 NiFu, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  5. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    #26 Mr Jinje, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  6. ace2

    ace2 Guest

    #27 ace2, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    wim TO esd:
    Code:
    DISM /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:C:\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:C:\install.esd /DestinationName:"Windows 8.1" /Compress:max
    esd BACK TO wim:
    Code:
    DISM /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:C:\install.esd /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:C:\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 8.1" /Compress:max
    Will this not work on downloaded install.esd ?
    What is the difference between install.wim converted to install.esd and existing ESD file.... ? :confused:
     
  7. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,610
    1,408
    60
    ESD is highly compressed image file...
     
  8. ace2

    ace2 Guest

    rrohela

    /Compress:max works fine and is fast :D

    Use /Compress:recovery work and is very slow :confused:

    Not possible....
    I have converted install.wim to install.esd and install.esd BACK TO install.wim again
     
  9. NiFu

    NiFu MDL Member

    Jun 29, 2013
    129
    134
    10
    #30 NiFu, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  10. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    #32 Mr Jinje, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2013
    Compress:None FTW

    The downside is higher CPU usage and takes longer for re-installation. Not at all impressive once you figure in a 4TB hdd.
     
  11. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,610
    1,408
    60
    its not that high & good when you need AIO on DVD-5......
     
  12. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    Other than the DVD-5, is there any upper size limit for .wim's. Couldn't someone go nuts and create a master MSDN.wim with every OS ever and throw it on a single 64GB chip.
     
  13. chinobino

    chinobino MDL Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    182
    71
    10
    I'd like to see a Pre-Vista wim, how do you get around the HAL limitation?
     
  14. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    You would boot a winPE session, but it would be customized with a script that would call setup.exe and perform a normal XP or 2000 unattended installation encapsulated inside a bootable .wim.
     
  15. elzna

    elzna MDL Senior Member

    Aug 28, 2013
    434
    54
    10
    #38 elzna, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2013
    Are you saying that a installed windows 8.1 with install.esd will use more cpu than a installed windows 8.1 with install.wim?
    Or were you just refering to the high cpu usage when converting the .wim to .esd?

    I also noticed that install.esd is causing slower windows installation, almost 10 min slower than install.wim on my usb.
     
  16. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,610
    1,408
    60
    #39 rrohela, Sep 17, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
    How you boot that 64GB chip with file size of wim above 4GB, with fat formatted?

    above 4Gib file is not supported on FAT & windows setup booting is not supported from NTFS on uefi...
     
  17. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    Trick question, I would use NTFS.