Create Your Own MULTI-OEM Windows Server 2003 DVD...

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by sushil1576, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. sushil1576

    sushil1576 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 3, 2009
    336
    154
    10
    #1 sushil1576, Oct 22, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
  2. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,645
    15,571
    340
    Well, thanks sushil for this guide... I will try this out and tell u the results.... but two things should be mentioned:

    1. OEMBIOS.exe will work only in 32 bit os and it shows only CRC values of SLP strings corresponding to XP.. see here -> http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/6077-VLK-and-OEMBIOS-changer...?p=333274#post333274

    2. There are some typos in the part Multi OEM Addon for Windows Server 2003 DVD. You should type Server 2003 R2 instead of XP..

    Thats it......
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sushil1576

    sushil1576 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 3, 2009
    336
    154
    10
    The guide has been updated...Please report back the results as it will help others...
     
  4. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,645
    15,571
    340
    Surely I will........
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,934
    1,801
    180
  6. sushil1576

    sushil1576 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 3, 2009
    336
    154
    10
    Thanks sebus,..that will be a nice addition to the collection..But i think there is no need to update the MULTI-OEM addon as "HP / COMPAQ (OEMBIOS CRC=D05D250E)" already covers "HPQOEM" slp string..But then it is always nice to have multiple options... :)
     
  7. Tekman_1

    Tekman_1 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 26, 2010
    56
    6
    0
    I am trying to get this MultiOEM DVD to work with a old HP L2000 server I have, The OEMBIOS.EXE files returns the following info.

    Windows XP OEMBIOS Test v1.1/269/106 (C) 2007-2010 severach @ msfn forums
    F:HP & Compaq OEMBIOS.CAT CRC=CD4E1902
    These Royalty OEM install CD's should preactivate (SLP) on your system.
    Lines starting with E: are not reliably detected when running under Windows
    Press Enter!

    But the install fails to find any activation files for it. Wonder if anyone can shine some light on this.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  8. sushil1576

    sushil1576 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 3, 2009
    336
    154
    10
    So according to OEMBIOS.EXE you have "Compaq" and "Hewlett" SLP strings in your bios...So for activating your PC,you will have to use HP / COMPAQ (OEMBIOS CRC=C0023D89) oembios filesets...Ok,before anyone can help you,you must tell us the exact steps you have taken to make your multi-oem server DVD.?..Then only we can tell where you have gone wrong...Most probably it seems that you have not put the OEMBIOS filesets in the respective folders after integrating the MULTI-OEM addon...Remember i have not included oembios files in the addon so you have to download all the oembios filesets from HERE and then put them in their respective folder in the OEM folder.
     
  9. Tekman_1

    Tekman_1 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 26, 2010
    56
    6
    0
    Thank you for your response.

    I have built the DVD using the instructions above, including the updates and driver packs. All the oembios files were downloaded and copied to the appropriate folders before burning the DVD. They were downloaded from the link is provided in your instructions.

    The funny thing is that this same DVD that I used on the HP L2000 server machine worked flawlessly with a genuine HP d220MT workstation with SLP 1.0 in BIOS, and an old AMD machine that I tattooed with the DMI Boot CD.

    Hence my confusion.
     
  10. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,645
    15,571
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. sushil1576

    sushil1576 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 3, 2009
    336
    154
    10
    OK,I think you should check your bios with SLIC DUMP ToolKit x86/x64 (Includes PKey&Cert. Backup)...It will show us the exact SLP String in your BIOS..and that will help us in finding the solution..Just click on the SLP1 option on the screen...
     
  12. sushil1576

    sushil1576 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 3, 2009
    336
    154
    10
  13. Tekman_1

    Tekman_1 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 26, 2010
    56
    6
    0
    #13 Tekman_1, Oct 29, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
    Ok, here is the output.

    Offset Valid Address Range SLP OEM String

    000EF71D 000E0000 - 000EFFFE Hewlett
    000EF756 000E0000 - 000EFFFE Hewlett
    000EF788 000E0000 - 000EFFFE Hewlett
    000F3C65 000F0000 - 000FFFFE Hewlett
    000F3CE6 000F0000 - 000FFFFE Hewlett
    000F3D1E 000F0000 - 000FFFFE Hewlett

    Here is a link to the complete image.

    www (dot) advantagepc-tech (dot) com/screen1 (dot) jpg
     
  14. sushil1576

    sushil1576 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 3, 2009
    336
    154
    10
    For activating Server 2003 on a PC via OEM Method,you must have the full Hewlett-Packard SLP String in the Bios.I guess you have just Hewlett in your bios which is enough for activating XP but not Windows Server 2003...So you have to first tatoo your bios with Hewlett-Packard or any other valid SLP String for Server 2003
     
  15. Tekman_1

    Tekman_1 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 26, 2010
    56
    6
    0
    Bummer. Then I'm gonna be crap out of luck. From what I understand from my reading. It is not a simple task to tattoo a Phoenix BIOS. Which is the BIOS type the HP server has.

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  16. sushil1576

    sushil1576 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 3, 2009
    336
    154
    10
    In fact it is not very difficult to tatoo your bios with SLP String,You can get more info about adding SLP String HERE......OR With Tool to Insert/Replace SLIC in Phoenix / Insyde / Dell / EFI BIOSes you can even add SLIC 2.1 along with SLP Strings...
     
  17. tcntad

    tcntad MDL Guru

    Oct 26, 2009
    4,104
    1,303
    150
    Think Ill add mirror to this as well hehe..
     
  18. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,504
    3,619
    120
    #18 FreeStyler, Jan 31, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    @sushil1576
    You are wrong here, the D05D250E set will not preactivate Windows Server 2003 when the SLP string is outside it's specified memory address, eg: start address 0x000FE049 with maximum length of 6 bytes
    (and visa versa with FBE12C4B set)

    As these 2 sets require the SLP string to be placed in a specific location wouldn't it be possible/better to edit oemscan.ini like shown in example below?

    Code:
    [HPQOEM]
    PATH=".\oemfiles\HPQOEM\D05D250E\"
    RANGE="0x000FE049:6"
    
    [HPQOEM]
    PATH=".\oemfiles\HPQOEM\FBE12C4B\"
    RANGE="0x000FE840:6"
    
     
  19. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,504
    3,619
    120
    #19 FreeStyler, Feb 1, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I have tested what i claimed above... basically this introduces a bug in OEMSCAN as it seem it ignores the second set if the first set entry is not found, i would have guessed the proper way for OEMSCAN to work would be try testing for a SLP string in specified range, if not found skip to next SLP entry in oemscan.ini and try again.

    A workaround for this bug would be listing it as below:

    Code:
    [HPQOE]
    PATH=".\oemfiles\HPQOEM\FBE12C4B\"
    RANGE="0x000FE840:6"
    
    [HPQOEM]
    PATH=".\oemfiles\HPQOEM\D05D250E\"
    RANGE="0x000FE049:6"
    
     
  20. peter_58_ha

    peter_58_ha MDL Senior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    301
    34
    10
    Hello from Germany!

    Is there a guide to make an SBS 2003 Standard Server ISO/DVD in the same way? Can I use the same OEMBIOS-Files?

    Whats about an DELL SBS2003 R2 key, any1 aroubnd to help me out in this case?

    Best regards

    Peter