Creating a Windows 8.1 AIO with Media Center manually

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by ambidav, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,104
    24,378
    340
    #1421 s1ave77, May 15, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    should be like this:
    Code:
    C:\Programme (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\Assessment and Deployment Kit\Deployment Tools\amd64\DISM
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Whiznot

    Whiznot MDL Member

    Nov 5, 2009
    201
    38
    10
    Yes. That is the path to the Windows 8 version of dism.exe which is version 6.3.9600.17029 but when I try to run the program a cmd windows flashes but doesn't stay open. I might need to install Win 8.1 on a spare drive and give up on creating the image on Win7.
     
  3. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,104
    24,378
    340
    In start menu should be a link to the ADK Command Prompt, start it as admin :cool2:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Whiznot

    Whiznot MDL Member

    Nov 5, 2009
    201
    38
    10
    Thank you very much. Got it.
     
  5. ashish1989

    ashish1989 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 20, 2013
    357
    30
    10
    I have a windows 8.1 aio
    can anybody tell me how to remove other versions from it
    I want to keep only pro vl
    can anybody tell me hoe to do that?
     
  6. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    #1426 murphy78, May 30, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Just export the version you want to keep to a new install.wim or install.esd:
    For install.wim use:
    Code:
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:install.wim /sourceindex:1 /destinationimagefile:install2.wim
    del install.wim
    ren install2.wim install.wim
    for install.esd use:
    Code:
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:install.esd /sourceindex:1 /destinationimagefile:install2.esd /compress:recovery
    del install.esd
    ren install2.esd install.esd
    You need to run the commands from the same directory as the file or the ren command won't work.
    Remember to change the index number to the index corresponding with your desired provl index.
    You can do a dism get-wiminfo for that...
    example:
    Code:
    dism /get-wiminfo /wimfile:install.wim
     
  7. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,575
    15,646
    270
    #1427 Mr.X, Jun 1, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    OSCDIMG for iso creation and Rufus for USB stick creation for UEFI boot

    I'm officially lost in this Win8.1 AIO project. Using OSCDIMG for iso creation and Rufus for USB stick creation for UEFI boot as in the following alternatives, it just doesn't work:
    For BIOS
    Code:
    oscdimg -bW:\win81aio\win81\boot\etfsboot.com -u2 -lwin81aio W:\win81aio\win81\ W:\win81aio.iso
    

    For UEFI
    Code:
    oscdimg -bootdata:1pEF,e,bW:\win81aio\win81\efi\microsoft\boot\efisys.bin -u2 -o -udfver120 -lwin81aio W:\win81aio\win81\ W:\win81aio.iso
    

    For BIOS & UEFI
    Code:
    oscdimg -bootdata:2#p0,e,bW:\win81aio\win81\boot\etfsboot.com#pEF,e,bW:\win81aio\win81\efi\microsoft\boot\efisys.bin -u2 -o -udfver200 -lwin81aio W:\win81aio\win81\ W:\win81aio.iso
    
    I'm using 20 indexes, 10 are x86 and 10 are x64, obviously the boot files are from a x86 iso file. I guess this is the problem, because when I finish making my USB stick using Rufus it simply won't boot.
    If I trick it by creating the USB drive using x64 files for booting, the computer boots in UEFI scheme but when I swap the NTFS formatted pendrive with 32bit files it says there's a missing CD-ROM driver or so...
     
  8. ultimate_live

    ultimate_live MDL Expert

    Mar 15, 2011
    1,022
    671
    60
    #1428 ultimate_live, Jun 1, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    HiMr.X.
    I don´t know how you could make a USB Stick using Rufus having an AIO with 20 indexes. Here I have one with 12 indexes and with Rufus didn´t work. Than I used Ultraiso and booted fine in Bios mode. I didn´t try with UEFI mode, because I don´t have a machine to test. I´m starting to create an Aio now with more than 20 indexes, and will try the Bios/Uefi mode.
    But Rufus didn´t work. Only Ultraiso. I don´t remember, but it looks that I sent you a PM some time ago or am I wrong ?
     
  9. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,575
    15,646
    270
    No you are not, but I don't have any issues using Rufus either BIOS or UEFI scheme. My sole issue is Windows 8.1 x86/x64 AIO where the boot files are 32bit. Actually I've created my AIO manually using this guide so you'll know what I'm talking about (32 bit files).
    Now about Rufus and UltraISO, I prefer Rufus because it's noob proof. My AIO is targeted for a broad audience so this is the easiest way.
     
  10. benasistemas

    benasistemas MDL Novice

    Mar 6, 2014
    10
    1
    0
    hi Mr X the problem is UEFI boot only work in 64os systems if you try in aio installation i think not boot

    hola Mr X creo que el detalle seria el bootear con UEFI en imágenes AIO ya que solo jala en 64 según he leído en este foro , yo trate también de hacerlo mas no me jala se queda buscando , saludos y estamos en lo mismo !!!
     
  11. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    #1431 murphy78, Jun 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Use udfver102 and the bootmgr.efi and bootx64.efi from an x64 disc
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,575
    15,646
    270
    #1432 Mr.X, Jun 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    OK, then:
    1. I overwrite x86 bootmgr.efi with x64 bootmgr.efi.
    2. Copy bootx64.efi and leave it along with bootia32.efi.
    3. Use this code for BIOS and UEFI boot:
    Code:
    oscdimg -bootdata:2#p0,e,bW:\win81aio\win81\boot\etfsboot.com#pEF,e,bW:\win81aio\win81\efi\microsoft\boot\efisys.bin -h -u2 -m -o -udfver102 -lwin81aio W:\win81aio\win81\ W:\win81aio.iso
    
    Is this absolutely correct?
     
  13. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    #1433 murphy78, Jun 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Yep, tho you'll never use the bootia32.efi
    You don't need the -h or -m options either.
    -h adds hidden or system files to the disc, which are never present except maybe bcd log files when you modify the bcd entries
    -m is not used in the udf because it doesn't have the cd size limit to overwrite.
     
  14. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,575
    15,646
    270
    #1434 Mr.X, Jun 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Followed to the letter just like this:

    1. Overwritten x86 bootmgr.efi with x64 bootmgr.efi.
    2. Copied bootx64.efi and left along with bootia32.efi.
    3. Used this code for BIOS and UEFI boot:
    Code:
    oscdimg -bootdata:2#p0,e,bW:\win81aio\win81\boot\etfsboot.com#pEF,e,bW:\win81aio\win81\efi\microsoft\boot\efisys.bin -u2 -o -udfver102 -lwin81aio W:\win81aio\win81\ W:\win81aio.iso
    
    Then I rufus it and a sort of BSOD pops up:
     
  15. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    #1435 murphy78, Jun 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    rufus likes to use the efi files from within the index for the efi fixup.
    You could probably list an x64 version as the first index and it'd probably go away.
     
  16. utils

    utils MDL Novice

    Jun 1, 2011
    6
    1
    0
    Have tried adksetup 8.59.25584.0 an 8.100.26629.0. Neither appears to have imagex. dism /Capture-Image does not have the same arguments. So...how to execute these steps?:

    imagex /flags "ProfessionalWMC" /info C:\win81aio\win81\sources\install.wim 3 "Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center" "Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center"

    imagex /flags "ProfessionalWMC" /info C:\win81aio\win81\sources\install.wim 7 "Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center " "Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center"

    edit: BAH!!! Please ignore. OP says to open tools as Admin. I thought command prompt as admin would work. It doesn't. Perhaps OP should be modified to be more explicit.
     
  17. Jazz

    Jazz MDL Senior Member

    Jun 7, 2014
    341
    89
    10
    ImageX.exe/Oscdimg.exe Not Reconized if Running in commad prompt, only use Tool from ADK (Included ImageX.exe)The tool can be run without Environment ADK, if only downloaded Imagex.exe and Oscdimg.exe But I do not know where there File can be downloaded :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    18,681
    18,588
    340
  19. Jazz

    Jazz MDL Senior Member

    Jun 7, 2014
    341
    89
    10
    @Mabaega
    Why did you told it Before :p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...