Creating AIO DVD

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Animal99, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. Animal99

    Animal99 MDL Novice

    Jul 14, 2009
    49
    5
    0
    Hey guys...anyone know anything about how to edit the install.wim file...what I've done is made me an AIO install CD, but...I want to change the names of what displays when selecting the version of the OS you are choosing.
    I am using a command like this: Imagex /export "D:\AIO\WIMs\WINDOWS.VISTA.ULT.SP2.X86.RTM.ENGLISH .wim" 4 "D:\AIO\DVD\sources\install.wim" "Windows Vista Ultimate RTM x86"
    But when I select the OS, it just shows Vista Ultimate...It doesn't show the RTM x86 part

    Thanks!!
    Animal99
     
  2. Siliwangi

    Siliwangi MDL Member

    Aug 11, 2009
    106
    20
    10
  3. racky29

    racky29 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 2, 2007
    285
    91
    10
    vista dont have an ei.cfg does it, i assume this is a vista project
     
  4. thethingy

    thethingy MDL Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2010
    301
    40
    10
    it does..........
     
  5. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    No it doesn't have ei.cfg.
     
  6. thethingy

    thethingy MDL Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2010
    301
    40
    10
    #6 thethingy, Jan 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
    it has something similar then, I have a all editions DVD and just a Basic one........................

    hmmm, the basic has a oem key in it to force only basic.........................
     
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
  8. thethingy

    thethingy MDL Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2010
    301
    40
    10
  9. Animal99

    Animal99 MDL Novice

    Jul 14, 2009
    49
    5
    0
    #9 Animal99, Jan 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
    (OP)
    Thanks guys...I already have made my install.wim file the way I wanted it but the Description name, I couldn't change...I knew about gImageX proggy, but I didn't know how to use it to change the Description. After fooling around with that proggy, I figured out how to change the Desc. Name. Thanks again for everyones responses...BTW, what I'm doing is creating and AIO of Vista, Win 7, Server 2008, and Server 2008 R2 with all flavors. I'm not completely done with the .wim file, so I don't know how many indexes I'll end up having, but it is around 65 or so! I repair computers all of the time and figured this would be one easy way of reinstalling whichever OS the customer has and use it from a bootable USB flash drive. I believe it will need at least a 16 gig stick. Because with just all of Vista and all of 7 (no servers yet) the install.wim file is 8 gigs!
    Thanks ya'll!!
     
  10. tcntad

    tcntad MDL Guru

    Oct 26, 2009
    4,081
    1,298
    150
    I read on msfn board that you have to rename vista seutp.exe to setup2.exe or whatever and edit some more..
    Vista and 7 doesnt use the same setup.

    if you already figured this out and know how to, please tell :p
     
  11. Animal99

    Animal99 MDL Novice

    Jul 14, 2009
    49
    5
    0
    #11 Animal99, Jan 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
    (OP)
    tcntad

    Read here

    technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc766385(WS.10).aspx

    and here

    msfn.org/board/topic/131887-more-than-one-winpe-distribution-on-one-dvd/