Delete ei.cfg?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Simpuhl, Jun 18, 2013.

  1. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    Does deleting the ei.cfg under sources folder on windows 8 Installation allow you to choose any version during install?

    It worked for Windows 7.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,458
    982
    60
    #3 Humphrey, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    There is not a EI.CFG on Windows 8 ISO (except for VL editions.)

    You will need to add the EI.CFG to get the editions selection your looking for.

    Windows 8 example EI.CFG

    Code:
    [EditionID]
    
    [Channel]
    Retail
    [VL]
    0
    
    You add this and your good to go. If you want to change a ISO to VL then add VOLUME to channel and 1 to VL.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,667
    270
    adding to a non-VL gives you the choice of Pro or Core, nothing more. If you are using a Win8 core system adding the ei.cfg and pid.txt is nice, that way you can install Win8 PRo without the system bothering with the Core key inside the bios. You wont find a multitude of different editions like Windows 7 had.
     
  4. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    #5 Simpuhl, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013
    (OP)
    I have an ISO I downloaded from mdr, How do i convert to VL and how do I make it so I can install the pro version exactly?

    an How can I add a cdkey for it not to ask me for it during install?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,066
    20,294
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    #7 Simpuhl, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    So I make a EI.CFG file with:
    Code:
    [EditionID]
    
    
    [Channel]
    Retail
    [VL]
    0
    
    Inside so I can then choose to install PRO (or any other version).

    But how exactly do I skip the key? or I'll just have the option to click "Skip" during install?

    If I do "skip" I can then activate it with Microsoft Toolkit correct?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. NABAKUMAR

    NABAKUMAR MDL Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    199
    145
    10
    The trick worked well in Windows 7 but it wouldn't work here with Windows 8. You can edit the ei.cfg in Windows 8 Professional ISOs to change it from Retail to VL or VL to Retail. But if you want Windows 8 Enterprise, then you've to download separate ISOs. You can't install Enterprise from Professional ISOs. At the most you can download Deltas or Smart Version Patch file to convert Windows 8 Pro ISO(x32/x64)to Windows 8 Enterprise ISO(x32/x64). You can get Deltas or patches from here- http://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...TA-conversions?p=694181&viewfull=1#post694181
     
  8. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    I just want to be able to install PRO and it not ask me for a cdkey
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. NABAKUMAR

    NABAKUMAR MDL Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    199
    145
    10
    Hey inserting CD-Key is not a tough task...if you don't know the key...chk your PM!!!
     
  10. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    Member already mentioned how to add key you can use PID.txt file look here this is for vista but the method is still the same.
     
  11. Simpuhl

    Simpuhl MDL Senior Member

    Aug 8, 2012
    392
    41
    10
    #12 Simpuhl, Jun 20, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Okay Cool.

    So just made PID.txt with the following Value
    Code:
    [PID]
    Value=XXXXX-XXX_X_X_X-X-X-
    
    and stick that file where though on the cd
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Superfly

    Superfly MDL Expert

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,133
    542
    60
    #13 Superfly, Jun 20, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    OMG...In the time it took to post that Google would have told you :doh:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    #14 urie, Jun 20, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Obviously you didn't read the info in the link it tells you to add PID.txt file into SOURCES folder.
     
  14. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,730
    6,667
    270
    Just for safe messure... dont forget that your value above is wrong if you use X's. replace the X's with your key.

    BTW, do not post your key here if you plan to double check your pid.txt, X's are fine though ;)
     
  15. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,674
    10,073
    210
    Not using an ei.cfg correctly displays either retail or vl license.rtf files during setup.

    If anyone figures out how to display both the retail and volume license files while still giving people a choice on which index to install and not requiring a key, please PM me how to do it.
    I make AIO versions of win8 every month, and the pre-release eulas on the enterprise versions annoy me.

    I'm sure I could probably copy over an rtf from one folder to another or something, but if anyone knows exactly which folder it reads from during setup, please let me know...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,458
    982
    60
    #17 Humphrey, Jun 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    That is what I did, copy the file over. :p

    And for how to show both of them, only thing I can think of iis to add a key to the editions inside the install.wim.
    So if you provide retail/vl editions you've created, place a slip in a retail/vl key using dism. Could try a EI.CFG without the [channel] option as well.

    Like so.
    Code:
    [EditionID]
    
    [Channel]
    
    [VL]
    0
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,574
    15,383
    340
    @murphy78

    See this hint to display proper VL license of Enterprise in a AIO.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...