Dell bios, how to decompose / mod.

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by wolf69, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. kizwan

    kizwan MDL Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    189
    31
    10
    #641 kizwan, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2011
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
    Oh s**t! I copied the text before, instead of the hex data thinking it was the same. That would explain all those "20"s! Lucky I didn't flash that huh? My bad. :eek:
     
  3. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
    In my BIOS there's NO 48 byte HEADERS...

    BTW TYVM for spotting that error!
     
  4. kizwan

    kizwan MDL Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    189
    31
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. en4rab

    en4rab MDL Novice

    Oct 27, 2009
    44
    7
    0
    #648 en4rab, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    aascut i think the other changed bytes are the processor type string, I havent been able to find any code that references it and it appears to always be 4 bytes of ascii characters, this is the start of the microcode module in my dell 470:
    Code:
    Offset      0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7   8  9  A  B  C  D  E  F
    00000000   07 00 34 0F 3A 00 30 44  43 4E 41 0F 0A 1C 30 45   ..4.:.0DCNA...0E
    00000010   43 4E 42 0F DA 2F 30 47  43 4E 49 0F AA 3B 31 47   CNB.Ú/0GCNI.ª;1G
    00000020   43 4E 48 0F 7A 43 30 41  58 50 43 0F 4A 4F 30 4E   CNH.zC0AXPC.JO0N
    00000030   52 49 4A 0F 1A 57 30 52  52 49 7A 32 BF 9F 51 B4   RIJ..W0RRIz2¿ŸQ´
    The first entry you can see the CPUID, offset to start of microcode for this cpu, and 4 bytes of ascii "DCNA" which somehow relates to the type of cpu, i have a feelin this is somehow derived from nocona the name of the intel core.
     
  6. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
    Excuse me?
     
  7. aascut

    aascut MDL Junior Member

    Feb 10, 2011
    53
    15
    0
    #651 aascut, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Code:
    Original D4700A10.hdr
    Offset      0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7   8  9  A  B  C  D  E  F
    
    000379C0                                     12 00 24 0F 92                $ ’
    
    New D4700A10.hdr
    Offset      0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7   8  9  A  B  C  D  E  F
    
    000378E0            12 00 24 0F 92                                 $ ’
    Why?
    Why did you put the header into update? It should not be inserted.
     
  8. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
    #652 WIND0WS 7, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Where u got Original D4700A10.hdr from?
     
  9. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
    Why in mine is earlier?
     
  10. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
    kizwan that's copied from other Dell BIOS
     
  11. aascut

    aascut MDL Junior Member

    Feb 10, 2011
    53
    15
    0
    You're right. But there are nuances ...
    The length of the microcode update modules in your example is different, you can calculate it yourself.
     
  12. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
    I'm confused. :weep:
     
  13. aascut

    aascut MDL Junior Member

    Feb 10, 2011
    53
    15
    0
    #657 aascut, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    About microcode update header:
    Look to Wind0ws7 new D4700A10.hdr:
    Code:
    Offset      0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7   8  9  A  B  C  D  E  F
    
    00042E40                  00 00 00  00 A1 00 00 00 01 00 02            Ў      
    00042E50   00 08 00 00 00 0B 00 00  00 50 00 02 00 24 04 06            P   $  
    00042E60   20 21 01 00 00 01 00 00  00 65 0F 00 00 00 00 00    !       e      
    00042E70   00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00                   
    00042E80   00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00                   
    00042E90   00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00                   
    00042EA0   00 00 00 00 00         
    Where        Red is date YYYY/ MM/DD  
                    Blue is CPUID                      
    Open manual ia32 software developer and read:
    header1.JPG
    Does anyone have any ideas about it? I think that is unnecessary zeros too much.
     
  14. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
  15. kizwan

    kizwan MDL Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    189
    31
    10
    #659 kizwan, Jul 7, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. WIND0WS 7

    WIND0WS 7 MDL Member

    Sep 28, 2009
    145
    0
    10
    I need an answer for these please:
    1. Have I modded my BIOS correctly?
    2. Why is aascut's offset (for my .hdr) at a different place in my .hdr? In mine it's 232 bytes behind.
    3. If BOTH CRC32 checksums are correct, yet I only patched one (at second last 4 bytes), why are people saying I must fix two?