[DISCUSSION] Disabling Microsoft Defender Antivirus (formerly Windows Defender)

Discussion in 'Windows 11' started by Espionage724, Oct 29, 2021.

  1. BetaTesta

    BetaTesta MDL Senior Member

    Aug 6, 2022
    280
    92
    10
  2. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami MDL Expert

    Mar 15, 2014
    1,261
    1,162
    60
    No, since smartscreen is a separate component, it can be used with 3rd party AV. I just remove the executable.
    Code:
    rem Off - Disable Windows SmartScreen / On - Enable Windows SmartScreen
    reg add "HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer" /v "SmartScreenEnabled" /t REG_SZ /d "Off" /f
    
    rem 0 - Disable SmartScreen Filter in Microsoft Edge / 1 - Enable
    reg add "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Edge\SmartScreenEnabled" /ve /t REG_DWORD /d "0" /f
    
    rem 0 - Disable SmartScreen PUA in Microsoft Edge / 1 - Enable
    reg add "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Edge\SmartScreenPuaEnabled" /ve /t REG_DWORD /d "0" /f
    
    rem 0 - Disable Windows SmartScreen for Windows Store Apps / 1 - Enable
    reg add "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\AppHost" /v "EnableWebContentEvaluation" /t "REG_DWORD" /d "0" /f
    
    rem ________________________________________________________________________________________
    reg add "HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\System" /v "EnableSmartScreen" /t "REG_DWORD" /d "0" /f
    reg add "HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender\SmartScreen" /v "ConfigureAppInstallControl" /t REG_SZ /d "Anywhere" /f
    reg add "HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender\SmartScreen" /v "ConfigureAppInstallControlEnabled" /t "REG_DWORD" /d "0" /f
    
    rem 1 - Enable Microsoft Defender SmartScreen DNS requests
    reg add "HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Edge" /v "SmartScreenDnsRequestsEnabled" /t REG_DWORD /d "0" /f
    
    rem Remove Smartscreen (to restore run "sfc /scannow")
    takeown /s %computername% /u %username% /f "%WinDir%\System32\smartscreen.exe"
    icacls "%WinDir%\System32\smartscreen.exe" /grant:r %username%:F
    taskkill /im smartscreen.exe /f
    del "%WinDir%\System32\smartscreen.exe" /s /f /q
     
  3. °ツ

    °ツ MDL Addicted

    Jun 8, 2014
    905
    1,181
    30
    When I tested the script Smartscreen was showing as disabled in settings.
    What does it show in settings on your system? Maybe it shows as disabled but is enabled :g:
    Did you run the script from safe mode?
     
  4. BetaTesta

    BetaTesta MDL Senior Member

    Aug 6, 2022
    280
    92
    10
    Thank you. So this script removes the executable. Do you have a script to revert ?
     
  5. BetaTesta

    BetaTesta MDL Senior Member

    Aug 6, 2022
    280
    92
    10
    Yes I did.
    smartscrreen settings.png
     
  6. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami MDL Expert

    Mar 15, 2014
    1,261
    1,162
    60
    Just run SFC scan.
     
  7. retest

    retest MDL Member

    Nov 2, 2010
    116
    63
    10
    Might be worth disabling Activity History too along with Defender.

    Code:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\System]
    "PublishUserActivities"=dword:00000000
    Capture_2024-06-13_103342.jpg
     
  8. amajmon

    amajmon MDL Senior Member

    Sep 21, 2012
    300
    130
    10
    Defender remover does not work on Windows 24H2 IoT for Enterprise. I can't find a way to turn it off Defender. Nothing works. Ideas?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Jingzin

    Jingzin MDL Addicted

    Nov 10, 2021
    666
    532
    30
  10. Dark Dinosaur

    Dark Dinosaur X Æ A-12

    Feb 2, 2011
    4,188
    6,014
    150
    Try my script.. in signature
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. amajmon

    amajmon MDL Senior Member

    Sep 21, 2012
    300
    130
    10
    Problem is I can't manually disable Tamper protection it will not open - ‘You’ll Need a New App to Open This Windowsdefender Link’
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Jingzin

    Jingzin MDL Addicted

    Nov 10, 2021
    666
    532
    30
    Look in my earlier post just disable it using regedit, you need to take ownership of the key before changing to 0
     
  13. alzcoew397

    alzcoew397 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 6, 2018
    445
    204
    10
    it seems that theres a bug in the Iot version...

    as for the windows defender...
     
  14. amajmon

    amajmon MDL Senior Member

    Sep 21, 2012
    300
    130
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. mictlan

    mictlan MDL Member

    Nov 9, 2009
    241
    123
    10
    Disable in Group Policy Settings (gpedit)?
     
  16. amajmon

    amajmon MDL Senior Member

    Sep 21, 2012
    300
    130
    10
    No that is not working, no regedit script working, Defender Remover script not working. You must disable it BEFOR you install OS. Only than working. ;););):D:D:D:D:oops::oops::oops::oops:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami MDL Expert

    Mar 15, 2014
    1,261
    1,162
    60
    There are dozens of ways to disable Defender, so you must be doing something wrong. I can enable it, update it and disable it just fine afterwards. Latest Windows and latest platform update.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. user469

    user469 MDL Member

    Oct 23, 2015
    128
    14
    10
    So if you are using malwarebytes on win 10 defender wil not delete any files if in malwarebytes you have said to ignore it ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. cta62

    cta62 MDL Member

    Jul 9, 2015
    153
    67
    10
    What is the best way you have found to disable defender? I know there are many ways to disable it. I want to know which way you did it so I can try it.